We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return next year.”
Review of Kabah na

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kabah na
Ranked #8 of 23 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
White Lake, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return next year.”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Kabah-na is beautifully situated on the beach south of Mahahual, close enough to be accessable, but far enough to avoid the cruise ship crowds. The reef is an easy kayak (provided) ride and the snorkeling is amazing! The excursion guides, Luis and Lucian, are capable, knowledgable, and thoughtful -- they took us to Bacalar Lagoon, the Hach Lagoon and River (near Xcalak), bird watching, snorkeling, days filled with amazing experiences and information. The food at Kabah-na's restaurant is wonderful and reasonably priced. We're already planning to return next year.

Room Tip: We were in Cabana 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    20
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
24
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
check, VA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This was a great eco resort which we really enjoyed. It is a ways out of town so not recommended without a car. The cabanas were right on the beach. Our room was clean and nicely decorated. It had very nice little restaurant on the property, with continental breakfast included. The Kitchenette was lacking, it only had a hot plate, no refrigerator, it was also lacking in pots & pans and dishes but we were told we could obtain these if we wanted from the kitchen of the restaurant . But the best part was the location, right on the beach with a great reef out front. You could use the kayak to paddle out right by where the snorkel boats went.

Room Tip: We were told we had the best room, #3. It was large and had a nice sleeping loft with king mattress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldhippysnorkelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed in this place by recommendation and it exceeded my expectations.

What it is NOT is a luxury beach camp. But it is also NOT a backpakers cabana hostel. It is however a set of very nice and appropriately appointed beach and near beach cabanas. They are clean and several have hot water. You need to understand the context: we occupied a beach front cabana from which I could lay in bed and see the waves crash on the beach some 40 feet away. It is also an ecologically conscious place and off the grid, so don't expect power guzzling airco and the likes, and go easy on the water consumption in these parts.

The owner operator is a fantastic woman full of energy and (watch out) fluent in many languages; I mean fluent! She makes every effort to help you be comfortable and take advantage of the region.

The coastal road (the costera) south of Mahahual was in bad shape up to about November 2011 (I was there) but when I returned in December 2011 it was perfectly fine. It seems they redo the road every so often, and at it's worse I have not had problems with a economy rental car.

Overall this place is a gem in it's category, and seasoned travelers will appreciate the quality of the cabanas given their proximity to the sea and their price.

Final note for divers: a new dive operator is working out of this location: Luis Fernando Amezcua. I used him on multiple occasions over two months to dive the Mahahual-Xcalak region and he is BY FAR one of the three best guides I've encountered in 18 months of dive exploration in the Cancun-Chetumal corridor of the Mesoamerican Reef (the other two also operate in the whole region and are a couple reviewed under "Divers UnderGround"). Mr. Amezcua is a former national park ranger, and also an eco-adventure guide, so he has incredible knowledge of the region's reefs and land sites. He has good equipment and is extremely serious and reliable (both extremely rare traits in operations on the Yucatan). Being a former park ranger he has fantastic contacts with the fishermen, rangers and the ever so important boat captains (required to dive the park). He thus works with the locals, and ensures their livelihoods are sustained by the park activities; this is also not common in the region. He can take you just about anyplace, including the elusive Chincorro, and does kayak and land excursions also. He is customer oriented, and works only with small groups. I asked a lot of him, sometimes last minute, and he always delivered with courteous professionalism and uncompromising safety. He is also a gem in a land of McDive operations, or fly-by-night "Amigo, Amigo, you want to do diving" operators...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mirtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Having stayed at a really nice cabana in Tulum, this place was not exactly what we were expecting, so thought it best to advise others as to what it is. I'll try to be as ballanced as possible. Biggest piece of advice is do not arrive in the dark; it is a scary 30 minute drive down a terrible road. Was much beter when we were driving back in the morning when we could see where we were going. Other than that, it is basically more of a backpacker standard of place, with a group of staff who are really trying to make it work. Without an improvement to the road though, I can't see this ever being a big tourist destination.

Positives: Very friendly staff, no other hotels around so totally isolated own stretch of beach (not quite as pretty as Tulum, but still very carribean), good snorkelling (with free use of snorkels and kayak for reaching the reef), cheap.

Negatives: The road to get there is a nightmare; we did it in a tiny little hire car, so it is doable, but would have been much less stressful in a 4x4 or during the day, rooms are clean but very rustic, there were a couple of field mice hiding from the rain in the first cabana we were shown; however the owner swapped us to another and also gave us a beer on the house to say sorry, which was very nice, the food was cheap but quite basic and there is nowhere else to eat because the place is so isolated

All in all it would be perfect if you were used to backpacking and looking for something off the tourist trail where you could relax on the beach for a while. I would definitely not recommend it if you like a good standard of hotel or do not have a good sense of adventure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

nice place, we spent 2 nights due to our travel plan but it is worth to stay longer. Really nice people, the cabaña was Ok, no need for A/C at nighttime. The Caribe is just gorgeous there. The town without tourist from the big cruisers is really quiet. We found this incredible little restaurant with great fresh food and unreal prices (a pint of beer for a buck). The only issue is the eco resort is 6 miles (or so) away from town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Right on the beach, Kabah-na is the best place if you want to be out of the crowd and relax. It's located 8 km from the centre on a road in very bad conditions (30 min. drive). We stayed there in September and the place looked scruffy. The room looked great but it was dirty. The bathroom was awful and very old. You are not allowed to throw the toilet paper in the toilet (normal thing in Mexico) but you need to put it in a proper bin. During our stay, they didn't clean our room and clear the "toilet bin". The mosquito nets on the windows were broken ans therefore a lot insects were coming in to visit us. Breakfast is poor and we found dirty cups. Maybe during the high season they are a bit more careful. Saying that, the staff is friendly and cheerful, especially the snorkel guide Luis.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveltheclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardtr, Proprietario at Kabah na, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
We are really sorry, you found some problems in your staying, and we take with pleasure your commentary to ameliorate our service. It’s true that in low season period, we have some more problems to give a perfect service, due to the tropical rains and hurricane season that damages the coastal road and makes very difficult to maintain everything clean, beach, garden, etc., and sometime to give a proper service.
We are looking forward to ameliorate and make your staying always better.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2011

really cool place ran by cool fellow marco. the best food in quintanaroo for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la-sancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahahual
5.0 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.5 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
26.0 mi away
Costa de Cocos
Costa de Cocos
#1 of 2 in Xcalak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kabah na? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabah na

Property: Kabah na
Address: Kilometro 8,6 Camino Costero Mahahual-Xcalak, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kabah-na born as the project of making dreams come true, it is peaceful, friendly, bohemian, funny, intimate and comforting. We love people and animals. We respect and value the life. Kabah-na is a good accommodation for couples, adventurers, business travelers, families (with children or not), large groups and pets. is a small touristic complex, situated in the southern part of the Quintana Roo region, in the Mexican Caribbean Sea with restaurante&BeachBar We are at the sea, we have 5 bungalows (mini classic Mayan houses) where we hope to make them happy. We want to follow a different concept. We dont want the people feel that is another number or customer, we want they feel more, we want to know them and make them feel in family and make bigger the kabah-na family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Kabah na reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabah Na Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing