We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but disappointed with service”
Review of Kabah na

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kabah na
Ranked #12 of 22 Mahahual B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our family of four recently spent two nights at Kabah Nah. We liked the solitude of the beach away from crowds. The idea of an Eco-friendly place is great;however, we would have liked to shower with enough water to rinse the shampoo out of our hair. It was also difficult to only have salt water in the shower or faucet. The bungalows were not well lighted. This made it very hard to find anything in our luggage. If you were to vacation here you would want to keep in mind that there is no fan or air conditioning in the rooms. They use solar power for their energy so that may be why you get limited light in the rooms. The power goes out about three times a day for as long as a half hour. The food was really good but we had to wait a long time for it to be ready. A crepe we ordered at 8:30 was not served to us until 10:00. The staff did not take the trash out of the bathroom which is a problem because you can't put toilet paper in the toilet. They did not change the 2 towels either. We should have had 4 towels since there were 4 of us.
During the snorkeling tour we felt that the guides (Luis and Luciana) were frustrated with our children's needs. They cut our tour short when our 11 year old daughter became seasick. The reef was about a 5 minute sailboat ride from our beach. We easily could have dropped off our daughter on the beach and returned to the reef to finish our snorkeling. Since we were his only customer for the day, he could have made a bit more effort to give the customer a sense of satisfaction. We still had to pay full price for the tour. The guides(who are associated with Kabah Na) instilled confidence in us and were pleasant to be around (until he realized we were unsatisfied with the tour). The coral reef was beautiful and we would have liked more than 30 minutes in the water to enjoy it. Luciana was great with our 6 year old son at the reef. All of the staff was nice and even fun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seligdude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardtr, Proprietario at Kabah na, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Kabah-na Eco Resort is an ecological resort situated in a wonderful natural place, were there are actually no Public Services (water, electricity). We produce energy trough solar panels and generator, to give to the cabanas 24 h light and water. Water is pumped from wells and is a little salty. Obviously water is filtered and disinfected. In this situation there may be some water and energy problems that we normally resolve in few minutes. Energy is limited so we do not have funs in the cabanas and obviously not air conditioning since the roofs are made with wood and straw (palapas). We do the cleaning daily and we are always at customer disposal for any needs, if they need extra towel and extra cleaning or anything else, just ask the reception ad it will be done.
About the restaurant, in this case the customer was warned that there was a time to wait for the Crepe he ordered, since there were others table waiting to be served first.
Luis and Luciana are among the best Snorkeling and Diving Guides of the area, and gave the tour at their best as always. Luciana manage to make snorkel one of the kids that had never entered water, so a big success. The tour ended a little before because one of the child get sick on the boat, but Luis gave them an extra tour in the catamaran to the rest of the family, and the tour timing was respected. There were 2 guides instead of 1, since the two children needed extra assistance for the snorkel.
We gave the customer the possibility of leaving the resort later, in fact they check-out later and leave the Eco Resort at 16:00 p.m.
For the reason mentioned above I really do not understand this commentary since we did and we are doing our best to make people enjoy their holiday, and the wonderful wild environment that surrounds Kabah-na Eco Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

Hey hey!

Well, I actually did not sleep in this place, but I did three dives with the local Dive masters Luis and Lucianna, including a small refresh training because I didn't do SCUBA diving a long time.

So, I only judge the location and the quality of the service provided for the diving.

The spot is located on a quiet strip of a super nice sandy beach, a dream to hang out and recover from all the working stress. Hammocks, beachvolleyball and many activites (snorkeling, diving, sailing) make this place a valueable choice. The bar offers very nice food ans marvellous cocktails well deserved after being excited by the underwater world during diving.

My dive masters, Luis and Lucianna are super super super nice and take care of all your needs before, during and after diving. Friendly, perfect english, professional equipment and attention make you feel very safe under water and enjoying the reefs flora and fauna.

The take a underwater camera with them, on request you can ask for a nice video of your dive adventure:-)

Definitely something to try if you have the time to.

All the best from Asutria
Fritz

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Fritz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

What i loved most about this place was the flashbacks I was having all the time. It really took me back 30 years in the old Mexican Caribbean, before all the All-Inclusive hotels ever turned up.
I have been living in Playa del Carmen for 23 years and I´m a native from Quintana Roo. I grew up vacationing around the peninsula all my life (I´m 45) and, when I walked into Kabah Na...it reminded me of my childhood! It reminded me of all those secluded empty beaches with beautiful cabañas where me and my family used to stay, back then before all the development took place here in the "Riviera Maya", before there was so many new hotels, so many over populated and exploited beaches, so much urbanization that hinders finding quaint getaways without having to drive five to six hours in bad roads.
Mahahual is a quite accesible location (about 4 hours in very good roads from Cancún airport), where life seems having stopped in time a long time ago, where you can still feel the smell of seaweed long before glimpsing the coast. Mahahual is one of those places where everyday is the same day.
Then, you drive about ten to fifteen minutes south on a gravel road to arrive to these beautiful bungalows site (Kabah Na). They have an authentic Italian restaurant where they cook also international dishes (a little bit of everything but if you love Italian food and expresso coffee on the beach...this is the place). All the cabins are a few feet from the water and their interior design it really renders a Caribbean flavor to your stay.
I wish they had on their website more pics of the cabins interior, I´m sure it will give you a far better idea of how cozy they are.
Also, it´s an ideal place to learn how to scuba dive or just to experience diving through their Discovery Scuba Diving course, where you learn the basics, practice on the beach and an experienced Instructor takes for a controlled descent dive. So, if you´re a certified diver and are looking for a very romantic getaway I strongly urge you to give this place a chance...provided you want to forget about the whole world for a few days (by the way, they have an extremely reliable WiFi service as well).
Anyway, I am really going back in a few months to off gas from the real world...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexvizzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The resort is located on the costera road, around 8km from the village which is fastly developing! When we left, 2 huge cruise ships were there.
The location is fabulous. The cabanas are quite big one had a mezzanine with ks bed and a queen bed downstairs. However the cabana was very humid, and the mosquitoes enjoyed our flesh even with the net! Not sure the sheets were clean, some sand was still in the bed. Towels were grey..... Some hotbwater was available in the bathroom, though itnwas rather smelly..
Not sure the term eco means something except that you really feel so far from home..
Food at the restaurbat was quite nice and people were very friendly.
Beach and garden needs some more work to be neat and clean... Surrounding beach disgusting.
Is that heaven? Not sure.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cd06160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We returned to Kabahna after a wonderful experience last year, and found the same. The location is on the beach, a swim or kayak ride to the reef, far enough (8 K) from town to avoid the Cruise Ship tango. The staff are terrific and the food is wondeful. If you enjoy diving, snorkeling, sailing, or an excursion into the Bacalar Lagoon and conntecting channels, Cenote Azul, the excursion staff are the best on Costa Maya. Luis and Luciana are experienced dive masters (you'll be completely safe and will see the best reef anywhere), knowledgible and concerned about the ecology of the region and the ecological concerns. Absolutely we'll return again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

A very nice place, nice staff. We have enjoyed our stay at Kabah-na because of the familiar atmosphere. The food, especially the fish, was very good at the restaurant. It is nice located directly at the private beach. The dive instructor and his girlfriend were very nice, too. We recommend doing a snorcheling tour with him. His name is Louis. He explainded everything very good and detailed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We drove all over Mahahual area looking for accommodations on the beach. Do not get dismayed by that awful road, keep going! After looking at them all, We REALLY wanted to stay in Kabah-na. And our cabana was the best! It was a bit away from the water line, which means a lot LESS windy, and we had a lovely porch with hammock and a couch. Wind blows on that coast all the time, so if you stay at, say Maya Luna, you going to be blown off. We like being a few feet away from the ocean. Ricardo is awesome and his partner Marco cooks really well. We ate in town a couple of times, not worth it. Might as well stay at Kaban-ha and enjoy your night. No hot water, though. One bed was reasonable, another was rock hard. No fans, so it may get hot at night. The cabanas have nice dark wood and well maintained. Many other places along the coast are double the price with a lot less style. Kabah-na also runs snorkeling trips right off their beach. I would not waste money on that reef again. Grey and kinda lifeless. Go down to Xcalak and have a SUPERB snorkeling. The connector road to Xcalak is just a few miles south. Would we stay there again? Definitely!

Room Tip: Ask for a cabana with the front porch, a bit away from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
4 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
174 reviews
4.1 mi away
Las Cabanas del Doctor
Las Cabanas del Doctor
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
73 reviews
4.6 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
1.8 mi away
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Balamku Inn on the Beach
#5 of 22 in Mahahual
288 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Maya Luna
Hotel Maya Luna
#3 of 22 in Mahahual
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kabah na? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabah na

Address: Kilometro 8,6 Camino Costero Mahahual-Xcalak, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range: £27 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kabah-na born as the project of making dreams come true, it is peaceful, friendly, bohemian, funny, intimate and comforting. We love people and animals. We respect and value the life. Kabah-na is a good accommodation for couples, adventurers, business travelers, families (with children or not), large groups and pets. is a small touristic complex, situated in the southern part of the Quintana Roo region, in the Mexican Caribbean Sea with restaurante&BeachBar We are at the sea, we have 5 bungalows (mini classic Mayan houses) where we hope to make them happy. We want to follow a different concept. We dont want the people feel that is another number or customer, we want they feel more, we want to know them and make them feel in family and make bigger the kabah-na family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kabah Na Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing