We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spent 3 nights here in July 2011 and loved every minute.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahahual
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Rosarito, Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Spent 3 nights here in July 2011 and loved every minute.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Beautiful location, gracious hosts, good food ... We thoroughly enjoyed out time here and will be back.

This may not be the place for you if you seek heavy partying. It is more of a place to chill and enjoy romance. It looks super fun for kids who want a mellow beach to swim and play on.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
61
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mahahual, Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

When planning our vacation trip to Mahahual, we wanted to stay in a unique place on the beach. We were not disappointed in any way! Adorably cute casita with a balcony overlooking the beautiful beach. Evan and Ana were the best hosts ever! Great service, great food, GREAT cocktails, and COLD beer. Could not have asked for a better vacation experience. In fact, so perfect in every way we did not want to leave. We will be returning soon! We were concerned about the need for air conditioning in our room. We had it, but I can say we would have been fine without it. There is always a wonderful sea breeze. The beaches are soft white sand and the multi colored blue waters are magical. Most of our days were spent relaxing in the comfy lawn chairs under shaded umbrellas reading a good book and enjoying cold beverages. Our last evening there was made very special by Evan and Ana. It was our anniversary and they prepared us a private candlelit dinner on the patio. Commercially sold lobsters were not in season but Evan had some divers spearfish lobsters for our special dinner. The tails were HUGE and cooked to perfection! It was truly a memorable evening.

I want to mention how amazing the snorkeling is in Mahahual. Abel and Katherine own the dive shop next to Nacional. We got a personal snorkeling adventure to see some of the most amazing coral formation and sea life. It was such a treat. I must say - they way undercharge for their services!

Mahahual is a great unspoiled beach town. Including Nacional Beach Club, there are several great restaurants - Fernandos 100% Agave (Fernando will give you the tequila tour and good food), Nohoch Kay (best fish tacos ever), and the best pizza I have ever eaten at an Italian restaurant down the malecon toward the pier (can't remember the name, but it is a beautiful open palapa restaurant with brick fired oven). Lots of friendly people - the Mayans are so wonderfully hospitable and the transplanted "locals" from all around the globe give Mahahaul an interesting international flair.

If you are there and interested in learning about the real estate market - Kevin Graham at Costa Maya Living (his office is right behind Nacional) it THE man in the know.

If you stroll down the malecon, you will likely be accosted by Martin trying to get you to come have drinks or eats in his beachside establishment. Annoying at first, but once you join him he makes it fun and he becomes your new best friend. He always remembered my name. I found myself understanding - he is just trying to make a living. Just like all the other restaurant owners and workers - they try hard to get your attention. It's all good.

You won't go wrong if you choose to make a trip to Mahahual. You gotta want to get there, but when you do....it is well worth the effort. Rent a car in Cancun and drive. It is very safe. Or take ADO bus - nice and comfy but take a sweater because they freeze you out with the a/c.

The only thing I will add is that if you are an early riser wanting coffee...you will need to wait until "about" 9-ish or find one of the backstreet restaurants that opens early.

Peace Out!

Room Tip: If you want a/c and a balcony with beach view, they have it. If you want beachside and cozy, they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaMayaPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

My husband and I rented a condo in Playa del Carmen for the month of June just to get away, hang out and experience the area, and did a little "side trip" to the Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows in Mahahual. We do have one regret, though, and that is that we didn't spend the whole month in Mahahual. Our experience at the Nacional was exactly what we were craving: Small laid back village, small and beautiful hotel and restaurant, bungalow on the beach with the BEST ocean breezes, the absolute best food and service from the owners, Evan and Ana and totally reasonably priced. You must see and experience to believe.
We will be back!!! Thanks Nacional.... P & G from Texas

Room Tip: Hotel has A/C, bungalows do not. All beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awe_inspiring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

My wife and I own property in Costa Maya. We've stayed at different B&B's and hotels in the area. The National Beach Club is the best. Evan and Anna are great people. Keith, Evan's dad, is also great people. Their beach, their hotel rooms and their hospitality cannot be touched in the community of Majahaul or the outlying areas. What I will say is that finding information this is very difficult so please, good people, get your information on the web. You have a great thing going. Let people know about it.

Room Tip: 2nd story rooms have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodsstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

Totally lucked out stumbling up the Nacional Beach Club...we were on a day trip off the NCL Pearl...took a taxi to the beach without any plans and ended up spending the day at the beach in front of the Nacional.

For $10 per person you get a comfortable beach chair & umbrella right on the water...along with access to their pool and bathroom with a shower to clean off. They also have a small outdoor bar with $2 Coronas...you can get food or drinks brought to you on the beach. We had a delicious lunch next to the pool where we sat and people watched,

Evan the owner was super busy and way cool.

One of the highlights of our 7-day cruise.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MullD003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahahual, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

Best hosts on the planet! Great food, great rooms, great bungalows. Best Margaritas. Best beach.....Honestly the best of mahahual.

Evan and Ana make u feel right at home with homestyle food and comforts. Great snorkel and dive shop next door (gypsea divers)

I always come for a few days and stay for at least a week. Never want to go back home

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saritarosa6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

best place ever in Costa maya.....
we thought we will stay only one night in Majuhual, but we met Evan, his big smile, Ana, her great food, their lovely rooms....we stayed a week and could not leave! our kids loved the pool, the beach, and the two owners even if they could not speak in the same language to each other!
vibs were just amazing there.... would love to go back!

have a great time in Nacional Beach Club, you will not regret it!

gwen, fabrice, maceo and hannah

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwen2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.5 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows

Property: Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows
Address: Mahahual Avenue SN Lote 4 | Manzana 14, Mahahual, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Boutique Bungalow Resort with Restaurant & Bar on the Beach & Malecon. We are located in the Center of Mahahual/Costa Maya. We have 4 Deluxe Bungalows with Private Balcony, Bathroom & A.C.; 2 Malecon Bungalows with Ceiling Fan & Private Bathroom; 3 Standard Bungalows with Ceiling Fan and Private Bathroom. Additional services include: Beach Chair with Umbrella & Table Service, Oceanside Massages, Wi-Fi, Daily Maid Service included in Bungalow Rate and Private On-Sight Parking. Our Restaurant serves Fresh Breakfast and Lunch Daily from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. We also offer Fresh Seafood and Steak Dinners by Reservation Only. We love our guests and truly appreciate their commentary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nacional Beach Club And Bungalows
Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows Hotel Mahahual
Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing