We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the Line” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahahual
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
231 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Top of the Line”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have stayed at Nacional Beach Club before. This trip we had contacted Evan and Ana to let them know we would be arriving and needed a place to spend one night before we got the key to our casita which we purchased in Mahahual. They are such nice people. Honest and hardworking. They of course accommodated us very nicely and greeted us with a "Evan Margarita". Watch out.......they are potent.
When they are not around (which is not very often). Their trusted staff are just that. Bella makes a good margarita too - I am sure she gets the recipe from Evan.
Evan speaks english and the accommodations are american standards. He has good water pressure, A/C, working electrical outlet, comfy beds, a pool, little restaurant and a great beach with nice chairs. What he doesn't have is a TV. Just forget about it, you are on vacation and if you want to watch something, check out the ocean. That show is always on demand and offers great programming.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acmeflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
60
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We entered Majahual without reservations. We shopped around and landed at the Nacional. A great choice. Reasonable for the qaulity...absolutely. Preston, Evan, Ana....exceptional hosts. They take great care of the beach, the food and drink was great. We got great recommendations for food and best of all for snorkeling. Abel was our snorkeling guide and was exceptional. He is located right next to the Nacional.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top of the 4 room building, I would have enjoyed a bungalow, but they were taken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
211 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We were here during the slower season, so it was mostly Mexican tourists (which I find refreshing). They showed us a couple of rooms, one w/o AC and one with. Both rooms were quite lovely. They gave us 250 MXN a night off of the rack price. They are right across from the beach and chaise lounges with umbrellas on the beach for your use. The A/C worked VERY well. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable with a small patio with chairs. They also have a very tiny fresh water pool which was very enjoyable. Staff were all quite friendly and helpful. Our bus wasn't leaving until much later, so they offered to hold onto our bags and allowed us to use the other facilities until we were ready to go. WiFi was down while we were there so can't comment on that.

One irritating things was the plethora of small ants that were in our bathroom and on our bed, but they weren't a major issue.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Dad1Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My husband and I drove to Mahahual from Cancun chasing more affordable prices. Nacional Beach Club fit the bill perfectly: right on the water and very affordable. My husband and I actually stayed in the little teal cabana out front, right behind the bar with a direct view of the Malecon.

Evan was a great host, very flexible and hospitable. He gave us the wifi code before we had even paid for our room, and during a power outage one night he brought a bunch of candles around and even opened up the bar for us. Jose the bartender (not sure if he'll still be there!) was a good sport made just about anything we asked him.

The room itself was immaculate, with a comfortable bed, hot water, big ceiling fans, and screens on the windows. We had zero issues with bugs, one of my first times anywhere in Mexico where I could say that!

Also good to note that we went during Carnival, which was fantastic!

Room Tip: The cabanas were cheaper, and we thought they were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erawka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

It's green awning and umbrellas stood out like a beacon amid the tourist trap row. My wife was giving me dirty looks as I insisted we leave the cruise ship dock area and go downtown. Hey, no Senor Frogs for me! When the van dropped us off I was beginning to doubt myself until we walked upon the Nacional Beach Club. Great people, fun laid back vibe. $10 gets you a chair and umbrella on the beach with bar service. Inside was full of laid back 20-30 somethings chilly on the free wifi. Food was excellent, tacos and guac with a view of the beach, all good. HIghly recommend. Escape the cruise ship dock with its cheesy tourist traps and get to the Nacional, you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColonelTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

It took me longer to review Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows than I wanted it to, because it was difficult to find the listing on TripAdvisor. While Nactional Beach Club and Bungalows is undoubtedly "special", they also offer every amenity if not more than other hotels in Mahahual. As such, I think they should be listed under "hotels" where they would quickly become #1 - but perhaps re-allocation is not necessary, their reputation clearly precedes them as they certainly do not lack a multitude of happy customers.

In fact, as a regular visitor to Mahahual (having been 8 times in the past 18 months alone), now that I have discovered this gem, I would not stay anywhere else. Evan and Anna provide a warm, caring environment, Perla, and the other staff offer professional, attentive and kind service, and Kevin and Stumpie provide authenticity and entertainment.

The suites are comfortable and well appointed and are integrated into their natural surroundings with Evan and Anna taking great care to preserve and nurture their property from recycling to composting to growing their own garden to more plans in the works.

I truly feel I have not only discovered my new favorite accommodations in Mahahual - beachfront, walking distance to all my other faves - but have made new friends. Having 22 years of international hospitality management experience, I would not hesitate in recommending Nacional Beach Club and Bungalows. Tell them Stacey from Belize sent you, and have a great time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalibuStace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I think the title sums it up succinctly. For the money spent, this is probably the best place you can stay in the town of Majahual. If there is availability.

Let's start with the rooms. The rooms are big, the electricity works, the a/c works, and the hot water is extremely reliable. The bathrooms are high quality - showers are well-designed, the toilets are high quality, the water pressure is fine, and there is actually room for two or even three people in the bathroom simultaneously. There is a nice porch outside each room, for private relaxing. The porch door has a well-crafted screen system, allowing full ventilation into the room, without insects making their way in. The two upper story rooms have nice views of the ocean from the porch.

Location is heart of Majahual, on the beach, and there is a nice off-street parking area. The dining and bar areas are outstanding - and the owners take great pride in making certain they are clean and well-maintained. There is a nice small infinity pool in the outdoor bar area, if that's your thing.

The owners come from the organic food side of the world, and while that might be tough to pull off completely in Costa Maya, they put a lot of effort into serving high-quality, natural food. Everything, except maybe the corn tortillas, was made from scratch in their kitchen. By a cook that actually cares and takes great pride in the food. The food is simple yet very good, their red and green salsas are fantastic, and after careful scientific survey we've concluded they serve the best ceviche on the Maldecon. They are also one of the few places that serves breakfast in the area, and open at 8am as well. Big plus, they serve french-press coffee. Most coffee in this area is instant, not here. They take coffee as seriously as you do.

I think the greatest thing about this place is some sort of serendipitous combination of personal service and ownership pride. The owners, Ana y Evan, really care about their operation, their customers, and their facility. They take great pride in providing high quality of service and operations. And it shows. This is the type of service and quality that you find rarely in Mexico.

We give this place our highest possible recommendation. We have visited twice, and plan to go back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chucker1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.5 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows

Property: Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows
Address: Mahahual Avenue SN Lote 4 | Manzana 14, Mahahual, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Boutique Bungalow Resort with Restaurant & Bar on the Beach & Malecon. We are located in the Center of Mahahual/Costa Maya. We have 4 Deluxe Bungalows with Private Balcony, Bathroom & A.C.; 2 Malecon Bungalows with Ceiling Fan & Private Bathroom; 3 Standard Bungalows with Ceiling Fan and Private Bathroom. Additional services include: Beach Chair with Umbrella & Table Service, Oceanside Massages, Wi-Fi, Daily Maid Service included in Bungalow Rate and Private On-Sight Parking. Our Restaurant serves Fresh Breakfast and Lunch Daily from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. We also offer Fresh Seafood and Steak Dinners by Reservation Only. We love our guests and truly appreciate their commentary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nacional Beach Club And Bungalows
Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows Hotel Mahahual
Nacional Beach Club & Bungalows Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing