We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Caballo Blanco

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahahual
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel El Caballo Blanco
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

This beautiful hotel has everything you need and more. All the rooms have queen size beds, beautiful sheets, flat screen tv's wifi, coffee maker, fridge, it was perfect. I spent most of the time up on the roof, the pool and view were fantastic. The food and service were excellent!
I highly recommend this beautiful 1st rate hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms with the private terrace are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    23
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
49
78
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel whist passing through Mexico.the rooms were clean,tastefully decorated and the beach right on the doorstep it's in the middle of the small village of Mahahual a kinda up and coming laidback resort off the beaten track except for some cruiseships which visit
the food served here is excellent and as a vegitarian I appreciated the extra effort making Tina the owner cook and bottlewasher made to make me feel at home...recommended 5*****

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and I had heard of this place from another couple and thought we would give it a shot. We were most pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and hospitality of this hotel. Mexico has always been a beautiful location to vacation but it has never been known for this level of hospitality. The owners really make you feel at home, they have a roof top pool that is amazing and give just the right amount of attention without feeling like you are being violated. Having a pharmacy and restaurant on location is definitely a plus. They sell lobster taco's there that are amazing. When they first offered them to me, I thought how could anyone desecrate a lobster by putting it in a taco? After having them I ate them three times over the next 5 days, I guess you can teach an old dog new tricks, I love those taco's! You can relax, eat when you are hungry, get a massage on the beach, and get hangover relief all within a few steps. I recommend avoiding the hangover if at all possible. I have stayed in many places in Mexico and never set my expectations too high, I think I can raise my expectations now, it is possible to have it all. If your looking for a great getaway this place is a must.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghumba2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have stayed at the Caballo Blanco many times. Would not stay anywhere else in Majahual. The owner makes everyone visiting there feel welcome and just like family. When I was there at Christmas she even invited me to share Christmas dinner with her family. The rooms are all beautiful and on par with the best hotels anywhere in North America. Great meals and snacks in her adjoining restaurant. Love, love, love it!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, Front hotel rooms face the beach so give you beautiful view and the ocean sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret_krowiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, IL
Level Contributor
222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is a nice, clean, quiet little place directly on the main street of Mahahual. Rooms are ample and clean, everything works and it is comfortable. The chicken nachos are a killer at the restaurant downstairs and my husband had a hamburger that was great. There is also a pharmacy attached downstairs run by the owners. Tina could not have been any more helpful or nice. If there is anything you need to know, she will help you with the particulars.

Room Tip: Beachside rooms are the best - in this case, the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moodymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel and owner were so nice that I planned another trip to visit. The rooms are spacious and very clean. All the amenities you want - great air conditioning, cable TV, and room service if you want it. There are views from all the rooms but request the beachfront view if you can - from your private lounge chairs all you will see is palm trees and the beautiful water. Great beach too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguascalientes, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I liked to much to stay in this hotel, I enjoyed too much the food, the atention, the politeness of the employees, me and my boyfriend had a great time staying there, I totally recommend that place

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.4 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Caballo Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Caballo Blanco

Property: Hotel El Caballo Blanco
Address: Ave Mahahual, Manzana 12 lote 1 | Entre Martillo y Coronado, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mahahual
#4 Family Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite includes 2 queen size beds, flat screen tv, ski, refrigerator, wifi, private Italian tiled bathroom with shower. Beach front suites also include coffee maker , safe and private balcony or private terrace with lounge chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel El Caballo Blanco Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing