We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Mahahual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Place in Mahahual”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We spent here one week at this beautiful beach-hotel an had a great time.

Especially the food and Cocktails were great.

We would like to say thank you to Jorge, Mildred and especially Ada for the very pleasant service.

Kirsten + Andi from Germany

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Kirsten and Andi,

Thank you so much for your review of your stay in our hotel and for your lovely words of your holidays. We are very happy to know that you enjoy our facilities, services and your visit to Mahahual was excellent.
Jorge, Mildred and Ada want to thank you for everything and we hope to welcome you again very soon!!

Our warmest regards,

Koox Hotel Quinto Sole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    132
    41
    17
    13
See reviews for
100
226
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This relatively new hotel ticks almost all the boxes, but the intransigence of the receptionists leaves a sour taste.
The swimming pool-esque stretch of turquoise caribbean directly opposite the open front restaurant soothes the soul as the idoneous choice of music calms your nerves while you tuck into the exquisite homemade cakes and bread at breakfast. The modern rooms with minimalist design are faultless: big comfy bed, powerful hot shower, iphone dock (that works!) and a big TV. The Spanish family that run the place are courteous and welcoming and really contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this home away from home.
The only negative element is the couple who man the reception who hide behind "company policy" as justification for not being at all flexible to any guest request. The owners assured us that they are aware of this and are investing a lot of effort in educating the staff.
All in all, a wonderful place to spend a few nights or a whole holiday and at the time we visited, good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0phiesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I recently went with my family, (wife and two small kids), just by Trip Advisor reviews stayed at the Hotel Quinto Sole. There is few information about Mahahual and the hotels around, so we were very fortunate, Without a doubt it´s the best option in Mahahual. The hotel its part of a small chain and its managed by an Andorra/Spaniard family, they were very friendly and always made an extra effort. The hotel has several great points. 1) Location its the second hotel on the Mahahual beach, right next to the Sr. Frogs, and steps away from the lighthouse, ten minute walk room other hotels and restaurants. 2) Beach, this hotel has the best beach, next to a small pier, they have big beds on the beach with all the shadow you need, others hotels may have a rocky part of the beach 3) Rooms. We stayed on an Ocean View room, with a Queen Bed and Sofa bed perfect for the kids(at no extra charge), the rooms are modern, with a big flat screen and small balcony. 4) Restaurant The food was great, at the level of any big and fancy hotel, our compliments to the kitchen people! We have breakfast, lunch and dinner several times, and don't want to go to other place, they also have a stone oven for Pizzas, and made us several dishes that where not included on the menu. 5) Staff All the people that work in this hotel, are nice friendly and make you fell like home 6) Jacuzzi and Upper Terrace Bar, the hotel on the top floor has a Jacuzzi a small bar an great views, this is great because there are no pools in other Hotels. 7) Quality rest, its important to decide and to know if they are Cruise ships the days you are staying, because Mahahual its almost empty without cruises Final Two Tips his is the only hotel that accepts American Express, a must go its the tour to Banco Chinchorro, its one of the best places to snorkel or dive, its a bumpy 2 hr boat ride, but its worth it!

Room Tip: The Ocean View room its cheaper, you have a small balcony and sofa bed, two adults and two kids with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivetoTravel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel has a great location and nice rooms, but the internet access in the rooms is terrible, often dropping the connection and poor reception.

Worse than that, the bartender during the afternoon that we arrived tried to overcharge us by $300 pesos (about $30) for our drinks during our first meal. We told the waiter it was incorrect and he came back with a corrected bill, but offered no explanation or apology.

This is a town where cruise ships stop and so perhaps it is common for these clowns to try and rip off unsuspecting passengers. This was the first time this sort of thing happened in our four months of travel in Mexico and was very surprising and disappointing considering how well we have been treated everywhere else we have stayed.

Also, the room was not ready when we arrived, even though it was well after the posted 3pm check in time.

Otherwise, the hotel is in a great location and has a very nice beach. The restaurant has a rather limited menu and the food was ok, but nothing special. Dinner service was slow and the waiters seemed confused even though there were only a few quests. The rooms are nice, but have no fridge or microwave. TV reception was good if you care about that. Hotel prices are good as long as you don't get ripped off. The water pipes in the building are a bit noisy at night and there is no elevator for the upper floors.

Room Tip: get one facing the beach. 2nd floor may be quieter than the 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apperceive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Mr, Apperceive,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Hotel Quinto Sole and we are very sorry to know that you had a bad internet connection during your holidays and the other problems you had told us.
All your comments helps our daily work and they are an opportunity to improve our guest service and facilities.
In spite of these bad moments in our hotel, we would like to welcome you during your next visit to Mahahual and offer you our best services and offers.

Thanks again and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passau
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We booked this place for 6 nights and when we arrived, the room and the views were as awesome as advertised. However- if you look for a quiet place in a peacefull surrounding- this is not it.
The village seems to be designed as a Disneyland to cruiseship passengers. The beach club next door to the Quinto Sole supplies house and techno beats from 10 am till 5pm (thats when the cruiseships are in town about 4 times a week). The hotel itself has a nice outdoor bar and restaurant place, which also cranks up the lounge music as early as 7:30 am till late- so no peace on the balcony or the beach either, even without cruiseships. We were told: no cruiseships on weekends. But on the 3rd (friday) night, there was a Mexican wedding in the location down the road- they know how to party- till 5 am in the morning.
After 3 nights, we decided to leave. At first, the manager gave us trouble and asked us to pay for the entire 6 nights. In the end, with the help of another hotel guest and a more understanding, maybe also more senior manager, we could just leave and find a quiet place.
So, the facilities (rooms are superb!), the beach and the seaview is great- if you don´t mind constant noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank possum_1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooxHotels, Director General at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Possum:

Thanks for your feedback, although the place is idyllic paradise, unfortunately you had bad luck with the noise, I can assure you it's not a usual thing. Mahahaual is characterized by quiet and tranquil fishing village, I guess I had a series of negative developments in the dates you were that made ​​everything nasty.
We hope to serve you as you deserve at a future time

Jordi Gonzalez
Atencionacliente@kooxhotels.com

Welcome Home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyville, Belize
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Really lovely 3story gem, right on the ocean! We bought our room online, and were assigned a room with a view of the parking lot automatically. Upon check-in, we requested an upgrade. There was a fee, but it was worth it. Very clean and spacious rooms with minimal decor, flatscreen t.v., a/c, balcony looking over the ocean. Would have appriciated a coffee pot, but running down to the main floor cafe was simple enough, coffee was brought up to us quickly everyday. Also would have loved a small fridge, but we had a little cooler with us (from our drive up from Belize where we live) and they didn't seem to mind keeping us stocked with ice. Whether or not you stay here, stop in for brick oven lobster pizza!!!

Room Tip: Don't forget to check out the rooftop amenities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooxHotels, General Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Mrs Lyons

Thank you very much for your input, we are very happy to know that you spent a good days in Mahahual and in Hotel Quinto Sole.

We will consider your comments, we are always open mind to improve.

thank you very much

Jordi Gonzalez
Atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We spent 7 nights in the corner room on the third floor ocean side. Beautiful clean updated room including a room safe and deck. Would have been nice to have a bar fridge but we managed with the restaurant on the first floor. Giselle made sure we had ice and whatever else we required. She and others were so friendly each day that it made our stay very enjoyable. We enjoyed sitting on our deck watching the locals get ready for the cruise guests strolling by on the days the cruise ships were in port. The beach in front of the hotel was beautiful. We went for several scuba dives with Sam from Doctor Dive Shop and he and his boat man pulled right into the beach in front of the hotel to pick us up and drop us off. It was very convenient. We loved our stay at this hotel and would return.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TradewindBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooxHotels, General Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Tradewind BC:

Many thanks for your input. The Quinto Sole team appreciates your trust in us and look forward to seeing him again in our / your home.

WELCOME HOME!

Jordi Gonzalez
atencionalcliente@kooxhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.5 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
31 reviews
0.8 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#8 of 12 in Mahahual
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel

Property: Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Mahahual-xcalac km 0.350, Mahahual 77940, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Quinto Sole)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mahahual
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excellent standards of service and comfort in the Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, right in front of the beach in the village of Mahahual. Located at the entrance to this paradise on the Costa Maya, Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel has 16 rooms luxuriously equipped with everything you need for the most pleasant of stays in Mexico. And as if that weren't enough, the hotel also has an exclusive beach club, restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing