We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“changing plans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

we were staying at the little bungalows that are from the same hotel chain, but they had a little problem so we were nicely attended by the Spanish manager of the hotel (I don´t remember his name) it was very nice, we could use their towels and stuff,
thankfully we were rearranged to other little "posada", not oceanfront but it was quite good. a big adventure we had

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiepnk182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel is quaint in it's self. The staff very friendly and helpful. Room was good, tho hot water was intermitent. The hotel beach is great, nice area kept very clean. There is no pool although they advertise one. I certainly will rate only average. The stay in this beautiful town more than made up for issues if we had any.

We looked at a few hotels while there and were very impressed with the quality of rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Ko'ox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel. We appreciate your comments and we are happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel and our facilities.

Thanks a lot for chosen us and we look forward to welcome you very soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This is a very nice hotel in the middle of a cruise-line town. First of all, if you want to rest in Mahahual, this place is perfect, but avoid the Cruise day's.

1. Hotel.- Only 16 rooms, clean, cozy, no pool, but you have God's pool infront of you, one little hot tub that is warm, not hot, and one restaurant.

2.- Rooms.- Nice room space, with a little small bed for two persons, desk, LCD tv with satellite, safety box and bathroom. One issue, the toilet didn't flush as it must flush......... (room 204) urgent maintenance!!!!!

Please choose the ocean view one, it's amazing to wake up and see that picture of the ocean.

3.-Beach.- Amazing, breath taking, clear, warm, excellent.

4.- Service.- mmmmmmmmmmmmm, sometime good, sometimes not too good. They need more training. Take them to any Playa del Carmen hotel for 1 month, and they will be trained...

5.- Food.- Very good, but you will have to wait like 30 minutes after you order, they only have one small kitchen, one chef rolling from Quinto Sole to Matan Ka Han to Blue Bay (the other hotels of the Koox family) and two cooks. It's not a cheap restaurant, but the food taste very good, any plate, but taste the pizza!!

If you have a meal plan, be aware, because not everything it's included. One "EPIC FAILl" was that we had a meal plan, and when my wife ordered another coffee, they ask for $20 pesos (above 2 us dlls), because the breakfast only included one............... Come On! It's only a coffee!!. One guy who used to work there told us "in Quinto sole they make a charge even if you order a glass of water" and he was right...... BAD, BAD, BAD. Not everything it's money guys, it's all about costumer..........

6.- Front desk.- Always excellent.

7.- Drinks.- Nice, original bottles, but expensive drinks. I don't know how much they ask for the cruise lines "open bar", but for their clients, the guests who are paying for a room, it's expensive to drink there, at some point at the cruise day I felt discriminated. I would recommed you to go to Chiquitas Bar and say Hi to Fernando from me....

8.- Massages.- Please take a massage with Landy, pleeeeeeeeease...........

My and my wife spended a wonferful time at Quinto Sole, nice people, nice hotel, with some bad issues that they have to work on if they want my 5 stars..... but yes, I would recommend this place for everyone, knowing my advises.

Don't take any taxi, they are expeeeeeeeeeeensive in Mahahual, if you can, take a bus or a van... If the bar beside the hotel is open, use some ear-plugs for sleep, they finish the party at 5 am (in 5 nights they only opened once, saturday)

Please tip, please tip, please tip, the waiters don't make too much money, if you feel that you recived a good service, tip.............

Room Tip: Any infront the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieter_HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your long and excellent review of your stay at Ko'ox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel. It is a pleasure for us to receive such kind of good and bad issues. Specially the bad ones, that help us to improve our daily work. We will investigate them one by one, and thanks again for your time.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your days in Mahahual with us and we want to thank you for chosen us!
We look forward to welcome you again very soon!
Best regards!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My friend and I spent 2 nights in this wonderful hotel, located right in front of the sea. Our room was big and cosy, really nice sea view.
Breakfast and drinks at the bar were great, we even took part in a cocktail taste! Really friendly staff and amazing views. I'll come back for sure!

Room Tip: ocean view, for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldap79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear friend,

Thanks a lot for your review of your stay at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed all the facilities and services of the hotel.
We want to thank you for chosen us and we look forward to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Made our reservation a couple days before we were to arrive. We arrived by bus from Playa Del Carmen at 1130am. We knew our room was not ready till 3pm. So we had a bite to eat and I went to the reception desk to let them know had arrived and see if we could store our belongings. Was greeting very warmly and yes we could store our things in the office. We went for a walk to see the sites. We came back just after 3. And was told our room would not be ready for 20 minutes. So we had a drink while we waited. So after 20 minutes went to get the keys and was told just another 20 minutes. We got our keys finally at 430 an hour and a half late. Was told clients left late and that is why they were so far behind in cleaning. So I asked if we too could leave late the next day.. It didn't sound very promising. They did buy us a drink. Our room had just been cleaned as the floors were still wet. Found the last tenants shampoo on the shower. Our key card also did not work. The room was nice and bed comfortable. And the ocean view was breath taking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura2131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Ko'ox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel and really we are very sorry about the problem you had with front desk and your room.
We appreciate your words as they help us to improve our daily work and the hotel management.
We are taking into account all the details you had mentioned, and we will work on them with all the staff.

Thanks again for chosen us and we really look forward to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed at their other hotel Matan Kaan but spent most of the time Quinto Sole's premises and beach club. The hotel is pretty nice and small and the staff is helpful and professional. We explored other restaurants along the beach but the majority were poor or overprized, so we decided to eat at the hotel's restaurant during our 3 day visit because of the quality of the food and its fair price.

The lobster pizza is just really good!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Jorge,

Thanks a lot for your review about Quinto Sole Restaurant! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our dishes and the lobster pizza.. our Top Dish..mmmmmmm..delicious, you are right :)

Thanks again for all and see you soon in Mahahual!

Best regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is a hotel, and as such, Trip Advisor doesn't have a category to rate it as an activity or beach club. We did not use it as a hotel, but spent a lovely morning and afternoon away from our ship in their very plush lounge areas on the beach, covered by palapas. This is located right next to Senior Frogs, which also had very nice lounge areas on the beach. We had intended to spend our time closer into the village, but this was so nice, and we were greeted so warmly and respectfully by the staff, that we decided we wouldn't be able to improve on this by traveling further! There is no charge to use their beach lounge chairs, but you do need to compensate by ordering food and beverage. Their guacalmole and salsa were made on site, and placed in huge stone pots ..... soooooo delicious! We had massages on the beach, which are definitely recommended. We later walked into Mahahual, but found that we had made the right decision. In my opinion, we chose the nicest place ... good food, good people, good ambiance, no pressure to buy anything, uncrowded, and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank goodmigrations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooxHotels, E-Business Manager at Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your beautiful words about Quinto Sole Restaurant and Beach Club. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed all the services and facilities, and your holidays were perfect in Mahahual.
The cuisine in our restaurant is made by a proffesional chef who takes care every day of all the details to offer you the best quality and delicious dishes. All the staff want to thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you again very soon!

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.5 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
3.4 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#9 of 12 in Mahahual
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel

Address: Carretera Mahahual-xcalac km 0.350, Mahahual 77940, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Quinto Sole)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mahahual
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range: £55 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excellent standards of service and comfort in the Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel, right in front of the beach in the village of Mahahual. Located at the entrance to this paradise on the Costa Maya, Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel has 16 rooms luxuriously equipped with everything you need for the most pleasant of stays in Mexico. And as if that weren't enough, the hotel also has an exclusive beach club, restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing