We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem of a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Quinta Del Sol

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Quinta Del Sol
Ranked #37 of 73 Restaurants in Mahahual
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Description: Newly Built Hotel and Restaurant with killer Pizza overlooking the water
Restaurant details
Description: Newly Built Hotel and Restaurant with killer Pizza overlooking the water
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An absolute gem of a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We were on a cruise ship & we paid 32 dollars per person, we found it fantastic value for money! We had had free wi fi a double shaded cabana & sun Lounger, as many cocktails and as much food as we wanted! Great value! Jorge was fantastic and really looked after us, refilling us up as soon as ! We had few too many margaritas and fell asleep but Jorge woke us , having corresponded with cruise ship & with a waiting taxi we taken swiftly back to the ship, if it wSnt for his hospitality we wud have missed the ship!! Well recommend as a port call, beautiful beach & facilities were second to none, clean and lovely staff, we will def return!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cathwhite08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dishonest Bartender and Management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed at this very nice hotel, but our first experience with the restaurant and bar was very disappointing. Our room was not ready when we arrived well after checkin time and so we decided to wait in the restaurant and ordered some food and drinks.The bartender tried to overcharge us 300 pesos (about $30US) for our drinks. When I pointed this out to the waiter, he corrected the bill but made no explanation or apology.

This is a cruise ship town and I guess they figure that passengers are an easy mark. We have never seen such behavior in four months of travel in Mexico. Most of the time, the waiters look out for the customers, often asking if we want change when leaving a big tip. I guess our waited at La Quinta figures that mistakes like this yield bigger tips.

Later, the manager saw our negative review about this on the hotel listing on trip advisor and asked to speak to me about "this misunderstanding". When we met, instead of apologizing, he made excuses that the employees had no previous restaurant experience and had simply made a mistake with the cash register, charging us for the more expensive tequila. I pointed out that there our margaritas did not even taste like any tequila was used in the first place and again he blamed the inexperience of the employees. In the end, the manager was simply trying to make himself feel better and made no attempt to rectify the ongoing problems. He was just wasting my time with his excuses. The problems at this hotel and restaurant clearly start at the top with the management's attitude of making excuses and lying.

The Wi-Fi in the hotel and restaurant/beach area was unusable for several days. When I asked about this, I was told it was because of the weather and that everyone in town was having problems. We went to several other restaurant and beach clubs in town and they all had great Wi-Fi. In the end, we ended up purchasing Wi-Fi from Mahahual-WiFi from one of the local pizza shops and it was great. Eventually the hotel admitted that the problem was with the routers and that they were going to fix them. Our last night there, they said everything was fixed, but I tried it and neither network was usable still.

The food at the restaurant was passable. I had a rib-eye that was edible, but my wife did not like the chicken cordon bleu, as it was too dry and had no ham or cheese in it. Also, even though the restaurant was very crowded, the waiters acted confused and had trouble remembering our orders and the service was far below Mexico standards).

Eventually, the manager offered us a free dinner to compensate for the many problems, but we never took them up on it since there are so many other better places to eat in town and along the malecon.

This place has a great view and a great location, but is just not worth dealing with the problems.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apperceive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ate lunch here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Loved the salsa, food, and hospitality. This is right on the beach and you can get a pass from them to use their facilities for the whole day with open bar. Food for purchase, and massages right on the beach. Was excellent service and facility.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great food, Service and amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Quinto Sole is a beautiful, modern, clean place to stay in Mahahual. The food,service and drinks in the Restaurant are great as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank md400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahahual, Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor seating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Great view of the beautiful water and the pastas are good. Clean, good service, and well priced.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CostaMayaPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Quinta Del Sol also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to La Quinta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing