We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great outfit”

UnderToe Mexico SUP Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Adventure Beach Activity Stand Up Paddle (SUP) - best water adventure in Costa Maya. Stand Up Paddle Lessons. Don't pay the CRAZY prices for tours sold on the ship. Book direct with the professionals! The first to have SUP in Costa Maya and THE ONLY Certified SUP Instructor offering LESSONS. UnderToe Mexico Stand Up Paddle doesn't just rent cheap molded plastic boards and say "good luck" - we have the highest quality equipment designed for stability to make your experience more pleasurable and personal. Create your own SUP adventure and don't be part of a "herd". Enhance your eco excursion with a professional English speaking SUP Instructor. LEARN how to SUP yoga! AMERICAN OWNED AND OPERATED! Carnival Cruise, Norwegian Cruise, Royal Caribbean Cruise book with the locals.
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great outfit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

First time on SUP. Caroline had us up and on our way in no time. Yaya beach was a nice place to nest for the day also.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 5fdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnderToeMexico, Owner at UnderToe Mexico SUP Adventures, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Happy students make my day!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tequesta, Florida
2 reviews
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Having been to Costa Maya a few times in the past, I thought it was one of those cruise destinations that you were better off staying on the ship. But after paddleboarding in the crystal clear waters and hanging out on YaYa beach, we truly can't wait to go back. The water was very calm and clear the entire time. There are a ton of relatively inexpensive food options along the boardwalk and we had some great guacamole and ceviche. Massages on the beach are only $20 for 45 minutes to an hour. The taxi from the cruise port is only $2 per person. Carolyn is extremely helpful and really wants you to have a great time!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costamayatraveler, Owner at UnderToe Mexico SUP Adventures, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
So glad you had fun! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MUST DO!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

I took a cruise 2 weeks ago with my friends and it stopped in Costa Maya. We wanted to Paddleboard as an excursion and tried to boom it through the ship but it was all sold out. We were disappointed but I didn’t give up and searched to see if there were other outside opportunities and I clicked right on this page. The reviews were great and our experience was even better! It exceeded our every expectation! Even before we left UnderToe was so responsive. I received quick responses via email and payment was so easy. Before we left to go on the cruise Carolyn sent us a very detailed email of instructions of what to do when our shipped dock and that made our trip so much easier. The Paddleboard experience itself was AMAZING!!! Even though we were in a group I loved how Carolyn took us one by one and she taught us so well that we stood and was on our way in less than 5 minutes. She didn’t pressure us and let us go on our own once she saw we got it. If we needed help she was right there. She allowed us to stay out as long as we wanted and eventually we just got tired. If you are in Costa Maya and like to do new things UNDERTOE IS THE THING TO DO!! Carolyn is the best and is so nice! It will be an experience that will last for a lifetime!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costamayatraveler, Owner at UnderToe Mexico SUP Adventures, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Jasmine, you girls were so much fun to work with. All smiles and determination! YOU DID IT! Congratulations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Stand Up Paddle Boarding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

To add to our cruise adventure, we decided to try Stand Up Paddle Boarding (SUB) with Under Toe Mexico. It was priced well and worth the money. Carolyn, the proprietor, was sensitive to each participant’s ability. I am a weak swimmer, but Carolyn was EXTREMELY thorough with her instructions, making me feel very comfortable. She was vigilant, keeping an eye on all the participants during our time out in the water. We were not abandoned to fend for ourselves. We remained in the Yaya beach immediate area, leisurely enjoying SUB. Her paddle boarding instructions, tips on cab service and local food all added to make the experience stress-free. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. Be sure to take the adventure in Costa Maya/Mahahual, Mexico; it’s only a $2 cab ride away from the cruise ship.
Marisol G
New Orleans, Louisiana

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marisol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costamayatraveler, Owner at UnderToe Mexico SUP Adventures, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
It was a fun day teaching you both! Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unexpected fun in Costa Maya!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had booked several excursions on our recent cruise except one in Costa Maya. We bumped into Carolyn and next thing you know we were paddleboarding. She is an incredible teacher and guide. She really allows time for you to explore the lagoon and even tells you where to go to see interesting things. In my first few minutes, I saw a needlefish, a really cool black and white crab and school of clear fish. We really got a different view of the lagoon than if we had just stayed on the beach.

Thanks Carolyn! You made our visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costamayatraveler, Owner at UnderToe Mexico SUP Adventures, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
So glad you girls had a good time. You looked like old pros by the end of the paddle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed UnderToe Mexico SUP Adventures also viewed

Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to UnderToe Mexico SUP Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing