We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almaplena Cruise ship excursion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
new jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Almaplena Cruise ship excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Our group of 15 had this beautiful resort all to ourselves.
We were picked up just outside the cruise terminal by representatives from the resort.
We were the only group here on this day, and everyone had palapa seating.
There were also hammocks, and patio seating that had WiFi.
The beach was lovely, and the water calm and welcoming. Although I didn't snorkel, several from our group did and enjoyed the variety of fish they were able to see.
The drinks were delicious--I highly recommend the Fruit Cocktail, a frozen delight, packed with a variety of fruit including pineapple, mango, banana and orange. You may want to order more than one drink at a time because the bartenders did not seem used to having a drinking crowd.
Lunch was served on the patio. Each course was delicious.
I highly recommend this lovely location for cruisers looking to get away from the crowds.
One caution there is a very friendly neighbor dog who visits. Our group welcomed him, since many of us were missing our own pets. He is well behaved and very friendly, but if you are allergic, or afraid, you should be aware.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrobynec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    67
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
78
177
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

we took a caribbean cruise and visited this resort when we stopped in costa maya on march 6, 2013. the resort is run by a husband and wife couple. they were more than accomodating and offered us free breakfast when we arrived, free drinks thruout the day, chips and guac, shrimp, beef, and chicken tacosfor lunch, and it was all delicious!! the resort was beautiful, very clean, peaceful and serene. there was even a reef for snorkling that had tons of fish if u swam far enough out. there were only 5 other people staying there so we felt like we were on or own private island. it was an amazing place and i would highly recommend it. we will be back again:-) someday!! :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goarfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We recently spent three nights, four days at this facility, a beautiful eco resort on one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Maya. Proprietors Andrea and Monica have made a significant investment by building a very nice resort with full menu, bar and beach service. We traveled with two teenage children that found the complementary wifi a great benefit. The menu included the traditional Mexican fare but also Italian, which was a very nice change. The owners are from Italy and have brought some of their homeland to the Almaplena. The rooms were well appointed, each with a ceiling fan which was very nice as there is no air conditioning. But given the rooms are literally yards from the ocean, a nice evening breeze is usually assured. I would have rated this a 5, however, we did experience communication challenges with the staff. Andrea and Monica were proficient in English but the wait staff spoke no English. The experience lacked the natural conversation with staff. The other thing that would have added quite a bit to the pleasure of the stay is if there would have been kayaks available. We did bring snorkel gear with us to explore the coral formations immediately in front of the facility, less than 50 meters out. This place has an amazing beach, pure white sand that extends 50+ meters into the ocean. Another benefit is that the location is located less than 100 yards off of paved roads. Travelers will appreciate that when coming to know the beach road in this area. Overall, a wonderful stay with wonderful hosts, Andrea and Monica. Would definitely recommend the Almaplena.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite nice. The upper rooms have a natural grass roof while the lower have a traditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike0660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

An absolutely fantastic day for anyone wishing to get out of cruise land!!! Absolutely charming place for a lovely beach day or week if you like. The drinks, food, and resort are fantastic, and the cost of taxi fare is include in day trips. Darvey our cab driver was fantastic as well, and we got a great back road drive to our ship on the return trip. We vow to return!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadensis PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My sisters and I spent a wonderful day at Almaplena Beach Resort last week. The resort is secluded,peaceful and beautiful.We were treated like Royalty, and enjoyed a fantastic lunch, more like a feast. The owners are warm and welcoming. I booked this privately,we were on a Carnival Cruise, and prefer to plan our own activities. We had no trouble finding the taxi service they asked us to use, and our driver returned promplty at the time we asked him to. I highly reccoment a visit to this beautiful paradise!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildwood20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

My family and I chose to do the all inclusive beach day that Almaplena offers during our cruise stop in Costa Maya. The taxi ride over was a little rough with no air conditioning, but we forgot all about it once we arrived at the resort. The grounds and the beach are gorgeous. Andrea and Monica were very nice and accommodating. The lunch provided was delicious. They only allow a maximum of 20 people on the resort per day, so it is very relaxing. It was exactly what we were looking for for our excursion. We were a group of 13 and there was another family of 4 there too. But we still felt like we had the place all to ourselves. The drinks and food were plentiful and the beach was spectacular. The waters are not rough at all and were fun to swim in. I basically spent the day sitting on the shore line letting the waves lap over me and enjoyed the sunshine. It was exactly how i wanted to spend my birthday included with food and drinks. It was definitely everyone's favorite day on the cruise.
We had a chance to see the rooms at the resort. They were clean and comfortable. Keep in mind that this isn't a 5 star all-inclusive. It is an eco resort. If you're looking for the all inclusive experience this isn't it. But if you are looking for a quiet retreat to relax on the beach for a few days with a good book, this is just right. My mother in law and I decided that we will definitely be planning a lady's long weekend to Almaplena some time in the near future. Thanks to Andrea and Monica for making my 32nd beautiful and memorable! I WILL be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsB1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

My husband and I recently visited Almaplena and were really amazed by the great beach and property. Near town, about 15 min, but removed enough to be isolated. We stayed there 6 days and truly loved the beach. The hotel is great, has great rooms with beautiful views. I also loved the music playing at the restaurant, great selection, at least to my taste. The owners are nice and attentive, yet something seemed missing, especially when it came to the food. Although we never had dinner, we did order breakfast once and several lunches, tried their appetizer and had several drinks. The food was fair, but I felt it was overpriced for what it was and the services, although some staff were really nice, others seemed to just be going through the motions. We were thinking of having dinner, but after trying different lunches we did not feel inspire to eat at the hotel, especially with great restaurants in town.

The rooms are good, but would've appreciated if they had lest dust, our room at least was very dusty, I don't know if it was due to some wood work being done right outside or the road. Regardless, if at least once every two days they would mop the floors, it would help with the dust. Aside from these small things, we did enjoy it very much and loved it, I guess we had higher expectations.

We do stay in many eco resorts and do beach camping in St. John USVI as well as PR, their beach is as beautiful as the island's. They do stay true to being eco and do clean their section of the beach each morning (tough job), since all surrounding beaches are filled with garbage. We asked many people in town why is there so much garbage in the Mexican caribbean coast, since we also saw the same problem on the beaches going from tulum to punta allen.

Please visit Laguna bacalar, it is beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
7.8 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
7.4 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
6.9 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#9 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
7.4 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club

Property: Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Address: Carretera costera | Mahahual-Xcalak, Km 12.5, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mahahual
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mahahual
#1 Green Hotel in Mahahual
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almaplena is a small Ecological Beach Resort that strive to be low environmental impact. The Hotel sets directly on a private beach of the Mexican Caribbean Sea with powdery white sand and turquoise water. Almaplena is far away from the crowds and next the tropical jungle.All the 8 accommodations are beachfront. Right in front of the beach there is an excellent spot for snorkeling. Shaded palapas, lounge chairs, water chairs, beach cushions and hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing