We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Sublime!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a magical time at Almaplena. It is completely worth the effort to make it to this location, that is off the beaten path for sure. The stars at night are so amazing to watch, you can even see the Milky Way! The beach is beautiful and just a few strokes away from the seashore, you can go snorkeling among reefs and fish. The place is relaxing and untouched. No crowds, no noise, no stress. And to top it off, the owners Andrea and Monica (both Italians), are wonderful hosts and cooks! They have placed a lot of attention to detail in the room decor as well. A great place for an unforgettable getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonriver29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

A beautiful getaway. The beach is gorgeous, the nicely designed rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. This is the place to be for tranquility, good food, romance and stargazing. It has been a delight to visit this place for the second time. We are certainly coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank -0-Miranda-0-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for four days at Almaplena and we really wanted to do this review, not only because it is an excellent place to stay, but also because they owners, Monica and Andrea, are so warm and caring. The hotel is located in a large, calm beach with the best, green water to swim and very clean sands. In fact, it's almost the only hotel on the beach, which guarantees a calm and quiet holliday. It's a little far from Mahaual town (15 km, better if you go by car), but it's totally worth it. The rooms are great, quiet, with lots of space, and very well decorated. The wi-fi works, and the hot water too, although you don't really need it. The view of the caribbean from the rooms is incredible. Food is great too, and the staff is really nice. Finally, there's a nice surprise waiting for the curious swimmer: only 40 meters into the sea there's a beautiful, huge coral reef with every kind of fish,and it's very safe! We had never seen such a thing, we were really amazed. I definetely recommend it and I'm looking forward to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our Disney cruise extended their docking time at the last minute, so we suddenly had the whole day to spend in Costa Maya. We emailed this resort as soon as we docked and were able to hold spots for our family. It was the best beach day of our cruise. We didn't want a crowded public beach, or a cruise excursion with masses of people. Almaplena was the perfect getaway. The beach was large, clean and private. The staff kept our drinks coming, as we lounged while our kids played in the sand. There were no more than 20 people there for the day, all of them from our Disney cruise. Actually, we found out that the concierge level of the Disney Cruise suggests this resort to their guests, so most of the guests at the resort for the day were from the concierge level. We loved all the hammocks scattered around the property and the attentiveness of the staff. On our next Disney cruise we will be sure to book this place ahead of time, so we dont risk them being full. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alim497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We spoke to monica by email and she set us up with a taxi stop for snorkeling gear on the way to the resort. It was the best beach I was ever on. No one on either side, just forest and clean empty beach. The resort was spotless, the staff was very friendly ( Hugo was running drinks out to us all day) and monica treated us like family.
The beach is clean with white sand, no shells or rocks. The reef is just offshore for snorkeling and there are a lot of fish. The kids had fun on the beach and in the water. We had drinks in the shade of mini palapas. The food was excellent and nonstop.
This is the one place I would really like to return to for a week. I was sorry the day went by so quickly. We had the beach to ourselves. Our kids are still talking about it. It was better than our day at Little French Key In Roatan.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanddd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Really nice rooms and lovely italian hosts. We stayed there for 3 nights at the small resort. Perfect to relax on the beach, not much other things to do there besides snorkling. Blue water and white sand.
Bring some moscito protection for the evenings.
If there is no wind (not often) it's getting hot without an air condition, but fair enough for an eco resort.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We arranged a day at Almaplena Resort beach as a cruise stop but during our entire cruise we experienced a cold front and big waves that made our preferred activity of snorkeling difficult. Yet Monica and her husband made this day a great experience for a group of family and friends aged 20 to 70. If you are looking to escape the hoards from the ship and exit the town then this is your place. Very serene and almost fully alone by itself on the beach. It was a 20-25 minute drive over uncrowded roads, albeit with pot holes that often forced the driver slow down. Our made to order drinks and filling lunch of guacamole, tacos and quesadillas were delicious and filling. We were provided palapas as a couple, beach loungers and all the drinks you wanted. Great Fun.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank NittensP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
7.9 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
7.4 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mahahual
346 reviews
6.9 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
4.6 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
34 reviews
6.9 mi away
Las Cabanas del Doctor
Las Cabanas del Doctor
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club

Address: Carretera costera | Mahahual-Xcalak, Km 12.5, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mahahual
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
#1 Green Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range: £67 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almaplena is a small Ecological Beach Resort that strive to be low environmental impact. The Hotel sets directly on a private beach of the Mexican Caribbean Sea with powdery white sand and turquoise water. Almaplena is far away from the crowds and next the tropical jungle. All the 9 accommodations are beachfront. Right in front of the beach there is an excellent spot for snorkeling. Shaded palapas, lounge chairs, beach cushions and hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing