We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
K'ay Kook(Mahahual)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Beke(Mahahual)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto Coral(Mahahual)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
285
79
26
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
79
26
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshrimp tacoscosta mayaday passopen bar all daywanted lunchgreat cruiseamazing lunchthe ownerwhite sandfood and drinkscruise shipblack beansminute taxi rideguacamoleport areacoral reefthis wonderful place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed in Almaplena for 3 nights. The place is amazing for alternative holidays, but don't expect high quality of attention as a large resort. It is more like a friend's house where guests needs to adapt to the eco-friendly environment.
The food is good and drinks also at good price in a very nice terrace.
This is a place with a huge potential to become an small luxury hotel and double the prices just with an extra services.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juju_mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a magical time at Almaplena. It is completely worth the effort to make it to this location, that is off the beaten path for sure. The stars at night are so amazing to watch, you can even see the Milky Way! The beach is beautiful and just a few strokes away from the seashore, you can go snorkeling among reefs and fish. The place is relaxing and untouched. No crowds, no noise, no stress. And to top it off, the owners Andrea and Monica (both Italians), are wonderful hosts and cooks! They have placed a lot of attention to detail in the room decor as well. A great place for an unforgettable getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonriver29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A beautiful getaway. The beach is gorgeous, the nicely designed rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. This is the place to be for tranquility, good food, romance and stargazing. It has been a delight to visit this place for the second time. We are certainly coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank -0-Miranda-0-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for four days at Almaplena and we really wanted to do this review, not only because it is an excellent place to stay, but also because they owners, Monica and Andrea, are so warm and caring. The hotel is located in a large, calm beach with the best, green water to swim and very clean sands. In fact, it's almost the only hotel on the beach, which guarantees a calm and quiet holliday. It's a little far from Mahaual town (15 km, better if you go by car), but it's totally worth it. The rooms are great, quiet, with lots of space, and very well decorated. The wi-fi works, and the hot water too, although you don't really need it. The view of the caribbean from the rooms is incredible. Food is great too, and the staff is really nice. Finally, there's a nice surprise waiting for the curious swimmer: only 40 meters into the sea there's a beautiful, huge coral reef with every kind of fish,and it's very safe! We had never seen such a thing, we were really amazed. I definetely recommend it and I'm looking forward to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our Disney cruise extended their docking time at the last minute, so we suddenly had the whole day to spend in Costa Maya. We emailed this resort as soon as we docked and were able to hold spots for our family. It was the best beach day of our cruise. We didn't want a crowded public beach, or a cruise excursion with masses of people. Almaplena was the perfect getaway. The beach was large, clean and private. The staff kept our drinks coming, as we lounged while our kids played in the sand. There were no more than 20 people there for the day, all of them from our Disney cruise. Actually, we found out that the concierge level of the Disney Cruise suggests this resort to their guests, so most of the guests at the resort for the day were from the concierge level. We loved all the hammocks scattered around the property and the attentiveness of the staff. On our next Disney cruise we will be sure to book this place ahead of time, so we dont risk them being full. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alim497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews