We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Estonia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We came here to stay a night and ended up staying two nights, because it was so lovely. It's a simple little hotel but clean, modern and relaxed. Matteo the owner (?) couldn't be more helpful, giving us directions to best places in and out of the town. You're close to the beach and can use the facilities of a couple of beach clubs too. Great place! If I ever come back to Mahahual, I'd be sure to stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Applefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    37
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
71
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Clean, air conditioned, right on the beach and very close to great restaurants. You can go snorkeling right across the street.
The staff is very helpful, breakfast is provided too as well as wifi available in your room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophieca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is our 2nd trip to Mahahual, and we decided to try one of the smaller hotels. El Hotelito is a beautiful little boutique hotel, just steps off the beach. The beds are comfy, the room is clean & tastefully decorated, they have A/C, a fan, satellite TV, there are huge windows & a small balcony with a view of the sea... What more can you ask for?? We arrived late in the evening (as we drove from Cancun), and we were greeted warmly by Ivan when we arrived. In the morning, there is coffee, tea, juice & toast in the hotel lobby, which was just enough to get my kids started for the day. A charming little place, such a nice break from the hustle of Cancun & Playa del Carmen! We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Mahahual!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared28m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithuania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were traveling from Cancun to Mahahual staying at hotels on the way with the similar budget like El Hotelito and could say honestly, this one was the best. We liked the location of the hotel plus they have car parking convenient to drive in. Comfortable nicely decorated clean rooms and bathroom (with hot shower whenever you need). Clean and fresh towels provided every day in different shapes (elephants, turtles, rabbits etc.)
Breakfast is simple: coffee and toast, but in a few steps from the hotel there are places you could get tasty food. As, for example, restaurant “Nohoch Kay” could be highly recommended.
Special thanks to Mateo, the owner of hotel. For us, not speaking Spanish, he was a rescue. We got all information we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelem, MXl
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I just came back from spending 4 night at El Hotelito in Mahahual. We were greeted by Hanna who was so nice! We also spent time with Ivan and Candy who were tremendous too. We had a room up the first flight of steps, room 3. It had a queen bed and a single, there was ac and a ceiling fan, very nice bathroom and a small terrace. While not luxurious by any means our room was spotlessly clean and tidy. There was daily maid service and lots of fresh clean towels. The owner Mateo gave us lots of local tips and told us where we could get discounts at local restaurants. Our favorite places to eat while there were Nohoch Kay, just a few steps from the hotel for the most delicious seafood along with fabulous service, Luna de Plata for pasta and Popi's Pizza for the best thin crust pizza ever.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at El Hotelito and will definitely be going back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

A group of friends stayed at this hotel in June 2013. My husband and I chose the top floor room facing the ocean and had an awesome 180* ocean view. Although it was June, there was enough breeze that it was not necessary to use the AC.
The bed was very comfortable and the shower was awesome. The water pressure was really good and water temp was hot! I'd have to say it was one of the best showers I've had in a long time (we live in Mexico).
The hotel is not directly beach front as another hotel has been built right in front of it, but the ocean view was still very nice.
Breakfast consisted of bread that you toast yourself, coffee and juice. That was fine with us, we enjoyed it and were glad we didn't have to go out to eat breakfast.
We received discounts at several restaurants and had the use of beach chairs, kayaks, etc at several restaurants just down the street.
The owner, Matthew, was around and was very friendly, speaks excellent English and offered great suggestions on where to go. He even helped arrange fishing for the guys two days at very reasonable rates.
We'd return to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Can_we_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Mahahual was the last stop on our Mexican trip. We got the best room on the last floor. although birds wake you up as well as construction site nearby, sun sets and the sea view compensates that fully. i definetely recommend that hotel to you.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amashumgalanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
0.3 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#9 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel

Property: Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Address: Av. Mahahual Lote 13, Manzana 22 | Col. centro, Mahahual 77940, Mexico (Formerly El Hotelito)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mahahual
#3 Family Hotel in Mahahual
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself fall in love with the clear waters of the Caribbean Sea and the sea breeze of Mahahual, the paradise of the Costa Maya. And for that, we invite you to Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel, located on the malecon of Mahahual and just few steps away from the beach. 4 floors high, Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel is characterized by its Mediterranean style and attention to detail, ensuring a relaxing stay and very pleasant. It has 9 bedrooms, doubles, triples and quadruples rooms, most of them with sea view and terrace. Undoubtedly, it is an ideal place to enjoy the natural beauty of Mahahual and live unforgettable days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ko'Ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing