We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun time for all.”

Dolphin Discovery Costa Maya
Ranked #7 of 32 things to do in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Discovery is the world's number one swim with dolphins company. We welcome cruise lovers to our facility in Costa Maya to live the experience of a lifetime swimming with dolphins in paradise.
Vineland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun time for all.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a group of six attend - two grandparents, two parents, and two kids - so we split in two and went the girls first and then the guys. We enjoyed watching almost as much as participating. The dolphins were well trained and friendly. The water was warm and the backdrop of the ocean was sensational. The staff was great - helping everyone get the full experience. Once woman was unable to do the dolphin swim - so they sent her two dolphins to swim with and she succeeded. It was clearly the highlight of our cruise. Pictures expensive - but we were able to take our own.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank DebbieA339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Dolphin Discovery Costa Maya, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Hello Traveller.
We want to thank you for your visit and for sharing your incredible experience. Also we are glad you enjoy the educative interaction of the dolphins and happy to know we are offering an excellent service.

Dolphin Discovery Group appreciate you visit and hope you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    42
    21
    8
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hazlehurst, GA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best shore excursions ever”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Really enjoyed the Dolphin Experience. It was one of the best shore excursions we have ever done. The dolphin trainer was great. The water level was about 6" too high for my wife. Her vest would not let her touch bottom. I had to hold her by the collar to keep her from floating off, but that just added to the fun. My only small complaint is that the pictures they try to sell at the end are priced a bit high. It was great fun & would do it again.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank HJDTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Dolphin Discovery Costa Maya, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Traveller.
We are really glad you had an incredible experience with us and want to thank you for your visit. We also want to thank you for sharing your coments about your experience and happy that you had lots of fun.

Dolphin Discovery Group appreciate your visit and hope you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis Center, Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We paid extra for the dolphin swim and it was worth it. The dolphins were well cared for and it was a very interactive experience for all ages. My boys ages 9, and 11 and my husband all enjoyed it.

The cost of the photos was very expensive, but we purchased anyway. The shop where you purchase the photos had some organizational and technical issues but everything worked out in the end. Make certain you check the cd before you leave.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Magnolia001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, Social Media Affiliate at Dolphin Discovery Costa Maya, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Hello Traveller.
We thank you for your visit and for taking a few minutes of your time to write about your incredible experience in our location. Also we are glad than you loved the dolphin swim and for making it an amazing day with your family.

Dolphin Discovery Group appreciate for your visit and we hope you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The dream of every child....young and old”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The problem is that I am 79 years old and swimming with dolphins was the accomplishment of this dream that acompanied me for a long time.Short but full of emotion the encounter was as expected with this creature as interested to me than I was to him-yes because in a few seconds we forget than it"s a dolphin.... and we play with HIM.Beautifuk souvenir

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank shimon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinDiscovery, at Dolphin Discovery Costa Maya, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear traveler.

Thanks for visiting Dolphin Discovery Mahahual.

Welcome to our family and we appreciate the minute you took to tell us and share your experience with us.

We are pleased to know that we were part of fulfilling a dream more in your life and have become experience is unforgettable.

We hope to visit again soon, we will be here to welcome you with open arms.

Dolphin Discovery Group appreciates your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Experience!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

From start to finish was wonderful experience - lockers for your belongings, instructor was great, pictures were so memorable. It was an absolute great activity, one I would recommend highly.

Visited March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank ember211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Discovery Costa Maya also viewed

 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Dolphin Discovery Costa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing