We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vibe on a pretty beach”
Review of Mahahual Beach

Mahahual Beach
Ranked #3 of 32 things to do in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
430 reviews
237 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“Excellent vibe on a pretty beach”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved this beach mostly because of the vibe. There are lots of peddlers and people trying to get you into their establishments, so if that bothers you, this may not be your thing. If you are not interested, just tell them so. They were all very nice though and were fine if you said no. Try a few different local places for drinks, food, and souvenirs. Don't forget to try a massage on the beach here. They are amazing and super cheap!!! There were colorful little bars, shops, and restaurants all up and down the walkway.

Once we started walking more towards the middle of the beach, the crowds started to become much more evident. It wasn't overly crowded for us, but it certainly was pretty busy. The sand was soft and pretty. The water was very clear and cool. There is some seaweed, but it really was not a big deal. In a few spots along the shore, you can see where some ocean trash floats in, but it was picked up often. This is just common for this area because of the location. It certainly wasn't bad enough to distract from a calming and enjoyable walk along the water's edge with a dip or two into the water when the sun was hot. The water was too choppy for snorkeling while we were here, so we mainly enjoyed the sand and walking the beach.

We started out our beach day at the furthest stop the shuttle went from the cruise port ($3/pp). We would recommend taking the shuttle all the way down to the end to of the bus line in order to see some of the smaller not as well-known places past the ones where the whole bus gets off midway.

We started out at a local bar called Machos Bar and spent most of our day there with $1 beers and a great staff. It was so relaxing and inviting here that we spent hours and hours more than we had planned. Had we gotten off the bus with everyone else, we would have missed this great spot and the great drink specials. We were, literally, the only two people left on the bus at the end.

We then ended up walking down the beach, getting a massage, having a drink or bite to eat here and there, and walked until we were getting short on time and finally had to catch a $2/pp cab the rest of the way back. We spent the whole day here and could have stayed much, much longer. We would definitely go back!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Shawni_and_Buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    227
    65
    31
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great beach, colorful village”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just a three dollar taxi ride per person from the port, this little beach town is quintessential Mexico - both good and not so good. Meaning lots of vendors peddling their wares, beautiful white sand, clear shallow water, and cold beverages for one dollar. Be watchful but not afraid. Bring a few extra one dollar bills for the Mexican kids and elderly. They look like they could use them. We really enjoyed our time there and will go back for the culture and beach. However, cautious folks will prefer staying at the port. It's the best I've ever seen. Super nice with a huge pool and swim up bar. Lots and lots of shops.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GrannyD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Isolated shallow gorgeous water”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Beautiful beach. Shallow and brilliant waters. Go in a little deeper and there's plenty of room to swim. Occasional boats are annoying, though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Style_Buff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreamtime Scuba guides”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I always wanted to try scuba diving and the cruise I was on had a session offered by Dreamtime Scuba in Mahahual (Costa Maya) Mexico. After being met by a pleasant, reassuring representative at the pier, we boarded a comfortable van for a 15 minute ride thru the tiny fishing village of Mahahual to the small, but adequate Dreamtime Scuba Shop. My beginning group of four people was introduced to our guide and instructor, Diego. He was a great representative for Dreamtime and for the sport of scuba diving. He was detailed with his explanations of scuba procedures and safety. That day, there were some choppy waves on the waters surface and an occasional strong current beneath the surface. Diego gave on going advice has to how best to overcome any difficulties.( Swim backwards on the surface to make better progress against the waves, etc.) If he thought anyone was having difficulty or saw a member slightly falling behind the group, he was right there to assist them. During the tour, he was always pointing out sights we might over look ourselves, sometimes tapping on his tank to get our attention. At regular intervals, he would directly signal each member to ask if they were ok, waiting for the proper reply before proceeding. Having a sometimes challenging ocean actually made completing the excursion more rewarding knowing that diving in calm waters will even be more enjoyable. I'll definitely scuba again. Well done, Diego and thanks again for your efforts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bagsarepacked2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I spent a few hours in Mahahual during a Carnival Cruise. I truly enjoyed the time I was able to spend there at the beach. It was clean with clear blue water. The beach area is lined with shops, and restaurants. I got a massage on the beach and it was wonderful....so relaxing. They have massage tables setup and you can get a hour massage for about $30. I would have loved to spend the entire day at the beach with good book and breaking to watch the waves with a Pina Colada in hand.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sherry622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mahahual Beach also viewed

Mahahual, Costa Maya
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 
Mahahual, Costa Maya
 

Been to Mahahual Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing