We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Friendly Service!”
Review of Chiquita

Chiquita
Ranked #11 of 75 Restaurants in Mahahual
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Food and Friendly Service!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My first dive trip to to Mahahaul. We ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner here every day for 5 days. Fernando and his family greeted us with a warm smile and great service!! Thanks bud, for cooking up our catch of the day!!

Helpful?
Thank double_b1537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    20
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
403 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“You have to love swinging away on a beach with a drink.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was just a quick little stop here as we were running short on time on our way back to the cruise ship. However, in just the little time we were here, we enjoyed ourselves. How can you beat being on a beautiful beach, at a beach bar, swinging away on a swing, with an ice cold drink in front of you? The man on the beach promoting the bar was very friendly and had us laughing on our way up to grab a swing. The bartender was also great! He was laughing at us trying to make a video of ourselves while we were singing the song "Swingin'." He finally took pity on us and asked if we would like him to just take a picture, which we did. LOL. We would definitely stop back!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawni_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Beach Bar with Friendly Owner/Operator”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Picture your ideal "Beach Bar" and this is it. Right on the beach with a full menu and bar. Great place to grab a drink and/or grab something to eat. I highly recommend the fish taco's - they were awesome. Fernando (owner) is extremely friendly and a great host.

This is on my short list of places I make sure I visit a few times during my trips to Mahuhaul.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Roberts, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great venue while in Costa Maya”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stopped in Costa Maya early in the morning while on a Carnival Cruise. We were admediately drawn to Chiquita 's . The outdoor covered bar has swings instead of bar stools to sit on. It was quite fun. It was early morning when we went there. Since we were on vacation and not driving we decided to have a bar. The owner / Bartender was informative and friendly. I had a local beer (Leon). This beer is from Mexico and is not exported.
We would go back to Chiquita 's again the next time we are in Costa Maya. Next time we will have a meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I4761TYsusanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best place on the boardwalk”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The food and drinks were excellent!! We had the conch with the best guacamole ever!! Fernando really hooked up the drinks with lots of tequila!! We really enjoyed the swings at the bar. Very nice. We had a nice time with the children as well. They were very cute!! We will be back Fernando so get the tequila and lobster ready!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snapette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiquita also viewed

 

Been to Chiquita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing