We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, fun, and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Ranked #5 of 22 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I had a wonderful experience at Balamku Inn. The staff were very personable and eager to help us plan our events for the day. I enjoyed being right on the beach, and feeling very isolated from everything. The units are beautiful and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathrynSD2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

Carol is a great hostess who obviously loves her job. The rooms are delightful and the breakfasts delicious! I was disappointed that it was very windy the whole time we were there ruining my plans for kayaking and snorkelling however we still had a wonderful time. Carol was very agreeable to move us away from the wind turbine which can be noisy in high winds. The road into town has 25 topes! (speed bumps) and lots of pot holes so don't plan on going out a lot. It's actually a good thing - you have to slow down in Mexico. Travel Inn and 100% Agave were very enjoyable food experiences.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

This is off the beaten path! (how wonderful!) Balamku is a small 10 cabana/cabin spacious eco resort right on beach. Snorkeling is straight off the beach to the reef and excellent new kayaks make exploring the bay a relaxing way to paddle the shallows.

Comfortable lounge chairs on the beach make reading the vacation novel a toss-up with just watching the pelicans on the bay fly-by.

Breakfasts had lots of options and were great after really great sleeps in comfortable beds.

I stayed a whole week on my own - the small resort makes it easy to meet folks but really - I was there to recharge and it was great. Will be part of many future vacations.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

In February my wife and I spent a great week at the Balumku Inn south of Mahahual. We highly recommend this spot and hope to enjoy more time there next year. The breakfast alone was good reason to return, but the hospitality is superb and we met a number of interesting guests as well.

The highlight for me was a full day fly fishing tarpon with Nick Denbow from the West Caribbean Fly Fishing School located in Mahahual. I shared the experience with a fellow guest who had done all the ground work before leaving Canada, and what an experience. Nick provides a fly fishing initiation for cruise ship passengers wishing to try their hand at fly tying, casting and fishing right in the town of Mahahual. Luckily we hit a three day period where there were no cruise ships in the port.

Nick picked us up at Balamku and drove us to a laguna north of the village. He provided boat, motor and top quality fly rods and reels. The fishing for tarpon was fast and furious. They are an amazing fish—acrobatic and very tough to land. Our success rate improved throughout the day with several caught in the 10 – 12 pound range. Nick’s professionalism and enthusiasm for the sport was infectious.

One of my best fishing days ever.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thenyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed here for 3 days/nights last week and it is sheer paradise. The owner Alan is very helpful and knows the area well. The rooms are fantastic set in round 'cottage' like buildings and there are only 10, all the same, beautiflly decorated and very clean. Wireless internet available near the Main building. All the power and water supplied is 'self supplied' using recycling and wind turbine. The days I spent on the beach I was alone with no noise apart from the birds and the odd small fishing boat passing by. $90 a night with a full hot breakfast included. We came down here on a break from the AI 3 week holiday in PDC for the fishing and went out with a guide from Xcalak in Chetumal Bay. The town of Mahahual suffered badly with Hurricane Dean in 2008 and they are slowly recovering. Dont come here if you want somewhere lively, DO come here if you want peace and tranquility, in a fantastic location. Highly recommended will certainly return. Mick & Louise Karmazyn - Wallsend England

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karmazyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My wife and I have travelled extensively and when winter approaches Mexico is our favourite destination. Discovering Balamku this year has to be the best find yet. Carol and Allan, a couple from Canada, have designed and built an inn on the beach several hours south of Tulum. It is a remote, peaceful paradise. Waves break offshore on a coral reef which is reachable for diving by kayak. Fishing both fly and deep sea is available. A short distance north is the small fishing village of Majahual with excellent seafood. Wildlife photography, sunrises, sunsets and pleasant breezes combine with Carol's great hospitality to make for an memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelsea766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

The hostess Carol and her assistant Fredricka are extremely helpful and charming. Best complimentary breakfast ever!!!
The round rooms are so well appointed--super comfortable beds, thick sheets, fluffy towels, big shower, writing/games desk.
Beautiful beach and beach foliage. Snorkeling close in. Selma is recommended for diving--she is fun and professional. Thanks for the lovely time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
2.7 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
335 reviews
3.2 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#9 of 12 in Mahahual
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
2.7 mi away
La Posada de los 40 Canones
15.7 mi away
Mayan Beach Garden
Mayan Beach Garden
#1 of 22 in Mahahual
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balamku Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balamku Inn on the Beach

Address: 5.7 kms. south of Majahual, Mahahual, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range: £62 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamku is a small ecological hotel that offers beautiful rooms all facing the Sea and directly on the beach. We guarantee privacy, tranquility and excellent service. Since we are 6 kms south of Mahahual, our hotel is never noisy or crowded. We do not work with cruise ship folks so privacy is never compromised. The newly improved beach road makes access to town easy in less than 10 minutes. Kayaks are free to explore the reef just metres from our beach for great snorkeling. Large breakfasts are included as well as taxes.Enjoy the Caribbean Sea away from the crowds and relax in our natural environment.Please join us for private YOGA here or in town. Exceptional experience! Look for our YOGA retreats on FB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Balamku Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balamku Inn On The Beach Hotel Mahahual
Balamku Inn On The Beach Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing