We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable service and excellent atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My boyfriend and I were on our way back from a trip to Bacalar lagoon and decided to stop there before we made our way back to Tulum. We work from our computer so the fact that they have internet service was very important to us. They offer a nice breakfast and a nice area were you can sit, relax and read a book.

This a place were you can come as a nice stop while traveling through the southern part of Quintana Roo or even Belize, which is just south from there. We only stayed there for one night, but it is surely a perfect place to visit and distress from it all for even a week. The owner (Carol) is a wonderful lady from Canada that pays attention to all the details.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eschroeder82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Thank you for this review. Many folks stay here on their way through the Mayan route to recharge before returning home. Great to meet you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2011

Balamku, what can you say great, great and great. Considering the remoteness of this location 5 hours south of Cancun. They have done it right from the eco lodge,solar power,rain water and wetlands for waste. You get a beautifully built 2 story palapa. Each with a FANTASTIC view. All room have a balcony and are super clean. The breakfast is yummy, especially Carol's homemade granola. What a treat. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. You also have use of the kayaks and you can go snorkeling. What a outstanding place to stay and relax. See you next next winter.

Room Tip: If you want a place to relax, read a book or just enjoy the view. Balamku is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2011

Thank you for staying with us again and enjoying what we do here.
Look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This truly is a eco-resort. Carol and Alan have taken the time to research and do things right from the toilets, constructed wetlands, solar and wind power this is a lovely eco resort. Situated south of Mahahual on the beach road, close enough to town to enjoy it but far enough that even when the cruise ships arrive you are in a tranquil setting. Their breakfast is amazing!!! From fresh squeezed juice to Chiapan coffee, fruit, granola, eggs your way... what a way to start the day.

Room Tip: You can choose from ground level or top floor bungalows. All have great views and are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imagineakumal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

We appreciate your feedback about our ecological systems and service. Thanks and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Well i'll get the negative out of the way first. The welcome really wasnt great. I'll say no more. Thankfully first impressions arent always right.

Absolutely stunning location miles away from anywhere (at the end of a very potholed road). Fabulous rooms. Fabulous views. Hamocks on the beach. A reef out front (with manatee). Kayaks to borrow for free. Good breakfasts. But the order of the day is relaxing.

Within a fairly short drive there was great snorkelling (Xcalak) and a bit further afield to Banco Chinchorro. But we did have to find this pretty much out for ourselves and there could have been a bit more info etc. Would have been nice to have the bar open and food but its off season so that could be forgiven and there was a great little place up the road (travel in - excellent margaritas and food).

But what i think we discovered was that this is a very chilled place (and that includes the staff) and that rubs off. So ignore any of the negatives i started out with because this is a great place, a million miles away from the gated resorts of playa del carmen (and all the better for it). If it wasnt for the odd mosquito id say this was paradise (but it was as close as ive been)

For the greenies among you its also off-grid and has brilliant composting toilets, rainwater harvesting...

Room Tip: All good - we had an upstairs room which gives you a slightly better view. But its further to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munromartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

We apologize for anything that isn't great service and reception as that is extremely important to us. We appreciate this feedback so we can ensure it will never occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This hotel offers peace and tranquility, without the unnecessary gimmicks that other small beach front hotels force on you. If you are ever in the Mahahual area of Mexico this is a must stay. Friendly people and excellent service!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickhuff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We arrived near dusk after a long drive without a reservation looking for a room in Mahahual. Allan told us that there was only one room left that night, as the others were either occupied or shut down for maintenance. We said okay, and got the downstairs room, to the right of the main house (facing the ocean). After giving us the key, he said that we were welcome to change rooms the next day if we wanted to, as some more would become available.

The room was nice on first look, but we later found two trails of ants walking through and some big lone wolf ants (not a big deal for me, but my wife wasn't happy), there was no toilet paper in the room (good thing we'd brought some with us) and there was some rusty bits in the bathroom. When I got in the shower, the water pressure was not very good and I had to perform a calisthenic routine in order to get all the soap off properly. Also, the fan rotated at about 12 rpm on high speed, and even with all the windows open the air didn't circulate quite enough to keep us satisfactorily cool at night. I felt the sheets were slightly sandy. My wife said, "One really good thing about this place are the towels though"- they were very soft and comfy. With no notice, late in the evening, I can have some tolerance/understanding about some of the room issues- though lack of toilet paper, a weak fan and water pressure are things that should be there, late arrival or not; ants run on their own schedule and sand could have blown through the windows when we left them open- it's quite windy there.

Well after having a very nice cooked (included) breakfast the next morning on our way out to the dive trip, we arranged to change rooms, and then got the stand-alone cabana to the left of the main house (facing the sea). This room was much better than the first room. I think the high conical palapa roof does a lot to help circulation of air, as does being right on the beach to catch the full force of the wind. Somehow the construction allows for air to come in full force through one window, circulate throughout the room and leave full force through another window- very comfortable. No ants in this room, the fan worked just fine, water pressure was much greater, plenty of toilet paper, and comfortable, smooth sheets. Again, the towels were large, plush, and snuggly soft. Truly an excellent room.

Our complimentary breakfast the next day was better than the first day, and we stayed until noon relaxing in and around the room. Internet reached into both rooms we were in, something we hadn't yet experienced in Mexico. I wanted to take advantage of the free kayak use to go out to the reef, but didn't get around to it.

Additionally, we were really only in town looking to book a dive trip out to the Chinchorro Banks, and had talked with Dreamtime about booking a trip. He wanted $190/diver. Allan told us that DT is only a booker for that trip, and sent us to someone else who was only asking $165/diver - there are only two outfits in Mahahual with a license to go out to the Chinchorro and they don't usually go on the same day, so pretty much whoever you book with you'll go out on the same boat. So that was some good help from Allan.

Overall, I give four dots, due to the condition of the first room. If we had originally stayed in the second room, I could give a full five dots to the Balakmu. Cost value is very reasonable for the nice second room.

Room Tip: Book in advance? Request a Palapa roof?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walkingupstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Balamku was a wonderful experience. We felt as through we were sleeping among the trees being on the second floor of the Inn. The beaches were wonderful and we enjoyed using the kayaks every day to go out to the reef to snorkel. This was the nicest eco-vacation facilities we have been to. The Inn had all amenities but everything was very well planned by the owners with respect to minimizing the Inn's ecological foot print. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic and we met wonderful travelers in addition to spending time with the Inn's gracious hosts. I would recommend Balamku to any traveler who would like to relax and enjoy the comfort of a well planned facility with an ecological conscience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trussow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
3.2 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
329 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
166 reviews
3.5 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
33 reviews
4.7 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balamku Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balamku Inn on the Beach

Address: 5.7 kms. south of Majahual, Mahahual, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range: £62 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamku is a small ecological hotel that offers beautiful rooms all facing the Sea and directly on the beach. We guarantee privacy, tranquility and excellent service. Since we are 6 kms south of Mahahual, our hotel is never noisy or crowded. We do not work with cruise ship folks so privacy is never compromised. The newly improved beach road makes access to town easy in less than 10 minutes. Kayaks are free to explore the reef just metres from our beach for great snorkeling. Large breakfasts are included as well as taxes.Enjoy the Caribbean Sea away from the crowds and relax in our natural environment.Please join us for private YOGA here or in town. Exceptional experience! Look for our YOGA retreats on FB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Balamku Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balamku Inn On The Beach Hotel Mahahual
Balamku Inn On The Beach Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing