We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Nearby Hotels
Posada Pachamama(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
US$43
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto Coral(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
US$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margarita del Sol(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna de Plata . Hotel(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
245
37
6
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
37
6
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolawind powerin townthe ownerpeaceful retreatbreakfast was deliciouspeace and tranquilitycharming placenew managerssea grasseco lodgefresh fruitoff the beaten pathmain buildingstayed two nightspalm treesocean front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My boyfriend and I were on our way back from a trip to Bacalar lagoon and decided to stop there before we made our way back to Tulum. We work from our computer so the fact that they have internet service was very important to us. They offer a nice breakfast and a nice area were you can sit, relax and read a book.

This a place were you can come as a nice stop while traveling through the southern part of Quintana Roo or even Belize, which is just south from there. We only stayed there for one night, but it is surely a perfect place to visit and distress from it all for even a week. The owner (Carol) is a wonderful lady from Canada that pays attention to all the details.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eschroeder82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Thank you for this review. Many folks stay here on their way through the Mayan route to recharge before returning home. Great to meet you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Balamku, what can you say great, great and great. Considering the remoteness of this location 5 hours south of Cancun. They have done it right from the eco lodge,solar power,rain water and wetlands for waste. You get a beautifully built 2 story palapa. Each with a FANTASTIC view. All room have a balcony and are super clean. The breakfast is yummy, especially Carol's homemade granola. What a treat. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. You also have use of the kayaks and you can go snorkeling. What a outstanding place to stay and relax. See you next next winter.

Room Tip: If you want a place to relax, read a book or just enjoy the view. Balamku is the place to stay.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2011

Thank you for staying with us again and enjoying what we do here.
Look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This truly is a eco-resort. Carol and Alan have taken the time to research and do things right from the toilets, constructed wetlands, solar and wind power this is a lovely eco resort. Situated south of Mahahual on the beach road, close enough to town to enjoy it but far enough that even when the cruise ships arrive you are in a tranquil setting. Their breakfast is amazing!!! From fresh squeezed juice to Chiapan coffee, fruit, granola, eggs your way... what a way to start the day.

Room Tip: You can choose from ground level or top floor bungalows. All have great views and are very private.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imagineakumal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

We appreciate your feedback about our ecological systems and service. Thanks and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Well i'll get the negative out of the way first. The welcome really wasnt great. I'll say no more. Thankfully first impressions arent always right.

Absolutely stunning location miles away from anywhere (at the end of a very potholed road). Fabulous rooms. Fabulous views. Hamocks on the beach. A reef out front (with manatee). Kayaks to borrow for free. Good breakfasts. But the order of the day is relaxing.

Within a fairly short drive there was great snorkelling (Xcalak) and a bit further afield to Banco Chinchorro. But we did have to find this pretty much out for ourselves and there could have been a bit more info etc. Would have been nice to have the bar open and food but its off season so that could be forgiven and there was a great little place up the road (travel in - excellent margaritas and food).

But what i think we discovered was that this is a very chilled place (and that includes the staff) and that rubs off. So ignore any of the negatives i started out with because this is a great place, a million miles away from the gated resorts of playa del carmen (and all the better for it). If it wasnt for the odd mosquito id say this was paradise (but it was as close as ive been)

For the greenies among you its also off-grid and has brilliant composting toilets, rainwater harvesting...

Room Tip: All good - we had an upstairs room which gives you a slightly better view. But its further to walk to the beach (about 5m further!)
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Munromartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

We apologize for anything that isn't great service and reception as that is extremely important to us. We appreciate this feedback so we can ensure it will never occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This hotel offers peace and tranquility, without the unnecessary gimmicks that other small beach front hotels force on you. If you are ever in the Mahahual area of Mexico this is a must stay. Friendly people and excellent service!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickhuff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews