We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balamku Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Balamku Inn is a wonderful destination if you want to get away for a week or two. It has a beautiful beach on the Carribbean with clean comfortable rooms, and a breakfast that is not only healthy but as good as one could hope to find. The owner is also very knowledgeable about the area and was always more than helpful with accurate directions.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenTerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Balamku Inn on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

I was browsing these reviews and they brought back great memories of our trip to Balamku in mid-2009 after three frustrating and expensive days in Tulum. Balamku has fantastic rooms (especially the ones upstairs), great food, friendly owners (Carol and Alan from Canada), great staff and is superbly relaxing. The beach is protected by a reef, so the water here is quite shallow, but always deep enough to cool down! We took a few road trips south along the coast to many other beaches and small bars and restaurants. One day we even saw a family of seven coatis (known in Mexico as tejon) crossing the dirt road ahead of us. Also enjoyed many great meals with a couple of cold beers at the nearby Travel Inn run by a friendly Dutch couple. Would happily return to Balamku any day.

NB We actually travelled in July 2009 but Tripadvisor system only allows a selection in the past 12 months.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We were not planning to stay in Mahahual but we definitely don't regret our last minute decision to stay at Balamku! Carol and her staff made us feel welcome, safe and comfortable. A very friendly and peaceful atmosphere. The beach area with the palapas and hammocks is a very nice place to hang out reading a book (big selection of books and magazines to read in the lounge area). The rooms are tastefully decorated, clean and spacious. Anything but "rough" ! The breakfast is tasty and substantial, enough to keep you full until late in the day. Also my husband was not planning to go flyfishing around Mahahual because the area is not exactly known for that. But Nick, the local British experienced flyfishing guide brought him to one of the local lagoons and got him into more tarpon than he ever had hoped for. We would definitely stay again in Balamku!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Upon arrival, we were greeted by our gracious host, Leeann, who showed us around the great house. This is where breakfast, lunch and cocktails are served. Here you can also checkout the numerous maps and books about the area, in addition to the numerous board games available. Our room was located on the second floor of the Palapa behind a single story Palapa that sat just a few meters from the beautifully clear Caribbean sea. The room was very nice with windows all facing the water. The decor was very pleasing.

Since this is an eco-resort, Leeann showed us how to use the toilet and expalined the water situation to us. The toilets they use are the composting type but we didn't even really notice anything different from the ones at home except they were very quiet. As far as the water goes, all of the water that the resort uses is collected rain water so conservation is a high priority. The water pressure was ok and the hot water was hot. If you are looking for a place where you can take long, hot showers, this is not the place for you! My wife and I were able to take very moderate showers without feeling rushed.

The room had two beds, a full and a single. The neat thing about this room was the ceiling. Since we were on the top floor, our view at night was of the thatched palapa.

Breakfast is AWESOME! Upon entering the great house, you are immediately greeted by a huge tray of fresh-cut fruit; bananas, melon, papaya, mango. The coffee is crisp and bold, the yogurt is tasty and the homemade granola is out of this world! I am not a real big fan of eating fruit for breakfast but a bowl full of this fruit topped with homemade granola was wonderful. Now that is just the beginning of breakfast. The kitchen staff then will make you any one of the dozen items on the menu. I really liked the Ranchero, which is a flour tortilla topped with black refried beans, two eggs, fresh salsa and I added chorizo. The chorizo is not like anything I have ever eaten. It wasn't spicy and was cut into small chunks. Yummy!

The rest of the resort was very peaceful. You could use the kayaks, sit in one of the many hammocks under an outdoor palapa, or lay in the sun on the small beach. If you like to snorkel, you could put your gear on, walk out into the ocean and see all kinds of reef-life.

I would definitely recommend Balamku to anyone. It is very safe, quiet and a great place to go to sleep and wake up every day.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcrowe1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here in March 2010 and had a very nice stay. Balamku is very clean and the grounds are beautiful. However, be warned that there is a reef here, so the beaches are not as nice as they are further up on the coast -- it's very shallow for many yards and there is a LOT of seaweed (though Balamku does it's best to rake its beach). It was also very windy while we were there. It's a little "rough," but that's the nature of these kinds of solar-powered, thatched roof places. The owners were friendly enough. Breakfast was quite lovely with fresh fruits, yogurt and decent coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Unfortunate comment about being "rough" as our guests and we as owners, know we are supplying quality accommodations that are tastefully decorated and clean while respecting the environment. Our rooms and property are generally viewed as "beautiful" but perhaps don't hit the mark with everyone. The photos on the web are true to our place and reflect our style.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Beautiful place to stay, so quiet and peaceful. The beach is gorgeous and Mahahual is a great little town especially when the cruise boats aren't there. The breakfasts were excellent, the cereal, bread and eggs were the best we had in Mexico.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My boyfriend and I were on our way back from a trip to Bacalar lagoon and decided to stop there before we made our way back to Tulum. We work from our computer so the fact that they have internet service was very important to us. They offer a nice breakfast and a nice area were you can sit, relax and read a book.

This a place were you can come as a nice stop while traveling through the southern part of Quintana Roo or even Belize, which is just south from there. We only stayed there for one night, but it is surely a perfect place to visit and distress from it all for even a week. The owner (Carol) is a wonderful lady from Canada that pays attention to all the details.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eschroeder82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Thank you for this review. Many folks stay here on their way through the Mayan route to recharge before returning home. Great to meet you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
3.2 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
325 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
202 reviews
4.7 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balamku Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balamku Inn on the Beach

Address: 5.7 kms. south of Majahual, Mahahual, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range: £61 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamku is a small ecological hotel that offers beautiful rooms all facing the Sea and directly on the beach. We guarantee privacy, tranquility and excellent service. Since we are 6 kms south of Mahahual, our hotel is never noisy or crowded. We do not work with cruise ship folks so privacy is never compromised. The newly improved beach road makes access to town easy in less than 10 minutes. Kayaks are free to explore the reef just metres from our beach for great snorkeling. Large breakfasts are included as well as taxes.Enjoy the Caribbean Sea away from the crowds and relax in our natural environment.Please join us for private YOGA here or in town. Exceptional experience! Look for our YOGA retreats on FB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Balamku Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balamku Inn On The Beach Hotel Mahahual
Balamku Inn On The Beach Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing