We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the few places that is truly green!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 23 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the few places that is truly green!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Many hotels in the Maya riviera claim to be ecologically friendly but few actually rely on their renewable energy systems, collect rain water or reduce waste. Balamku is honestly doing it all! The low flush composting toilets are amazing innovative technology that should be a model for every other hotel from Cancun to Majahual, and their solar and wind system actually power the hotel. They collect and use primarily rain water for all the rooms and kitchen! Staying here means your impact on the fragile ecosystem is greatly reduced. All that and the rooms are wonderful, the food incredible and the whole atmosphere tranquil and relaxed. A true place to get away from it all. All the rooms have sea breezes and a great view. The reef is close and kayaks are available on site. The rooms are well kept and have many little touches to make your stay perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyna2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
We are delighted that you consider ecological practices when chosing a hotel. thank you for sharing you experience, knowledge and interest on trip advisor. We hope others will consider this when travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    35
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
60
169
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband, 7 year old son and I left a place we were staying further up the peninsula in search of quiet, tranquility and a reef that was in good shape. We found all this and more at Balamku and the surrounding area. Alan, the owner, greeted us when we arrived and for the 5 days we were here was always available for a chat and so willing to provide advice on sites, flora, fauna and anything else we might be interested in. He is very knowledgeable.

Breakfast was wonderful - homemade granola and fresh papaya from the tree on the property followed by a large selection of hot food choices (the French toast is very good).

The houses are spacious, clean, airy and very cool with fresh ocean breezes, the view is expansive and the white sand beach lovely for snorkeling, swimming or just splashing about. It is the quiet location we were looking for!

Finally, it is inspiring to see how well such an environmentally friendly and off-grid place functions. It is nice to know that places like this contribute to protecting the amazing health and vitality of the reef, which is not in great shape further up the coast in places like Tulum.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

It's a pretty little inn really calm. The place it's very exotic and the owners work very hard to keep it clean and nice. We loved the landscape, especially a palm tree leaning over the sea. It makes great pictures and souvenirs. We sat on it to admire the endless expanse of the sea.
And the beach is just .. perfect!! with sweat sand and no algae ( they pick them up every morning) . The beach is not steep at all.
The hotel lends for free some small boats which are almost always diponible. You can use them to go in the large and do some snorkelling. The ocean is awesome and not deep. There are some fishes and mainly many starfishes!!!
The rooms are beautifully decorated with shells and are very joyful and comforting. They are distant from one another for more privacy. You feel like being right in the middle of a paradise in the jungle.
They are very welcoming because we arrive very late in the afternoon (at about 10 o'clock) and there was somebody there to guide us to our room. But it was very hard to get there because it’s very far and it’s situated in a poor area.
You cannot do so much noise and the hotel closes early the lights. I recommend to not bring child. However you can go around, you will find some little restaurants with an intimate and joyful atmosphere.

Room Tip: The room number 3 is the best one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruxi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed at Balamku for four nights in March 2012 as part of a small group with Island Expeditions. The rooms were A+ -- beautifully but simply decorated, airy, comfortable. Carol, who owns the place with her husband Alan, clearly loves what she is doing. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Most of the accommodations are duplex.....the top rooms have more air and light. The bottom room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjoriekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We loved having Island Expeditions here! Thank you for your kind comments. It was a lot of fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at Balamku for 4 nights in March 2012 and loved it. The rooms are very nice and so clean! The views from all the rooms are gorgeous and look right out to the ocean. We had an upstairs room that was so airy and roomy with the soaring palapa as your roof. The breakfasts were included in your room price. There was fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, and juice set out for you to help yourself and then you order your hot item off of the menu. We loved relaxing in the hammocks under the beach-front palapa. The resort was very quiet if you wanted to be alone to relax, or you could always find people to socialize with in the restaurant/bar/lobby area. Carol, the owner, makes you feel very welcome, knows alot about the area, and does everything she can to ensure that your vacation is everything you want it to be. We went tarpon fishing with Nick--he is a great guide and fly fishing teacher. We would definitely go back to Balamku.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view and right on the beach. Upper rooms have the beautiful, soaring palapa roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miniwheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Well our guests are awesome too! Thank you for the positive comments and including the fly fishing with Nick. Mahahual has a lot ot offer. Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here in November 2011 for eight wonderful days. It was absolutely perfect. My wife and I were looking for a place to kick back and relax for a few days and we found it. We like to travel with a loose itinerary and basically walked in the door. This type of traveling generally works quite well for us and we were glad Alan and Carol were as flexible as we were. We were planning on staying a couple of days tops and that turned into eight nights of peace and tranquility. If we had the time we would have stayed a month. Before I sign off I must comment on the amazing breakfast. Deeelicioso y muy sabroso! Gracious!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josegrandeole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ball Ground, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Balamku for a week in May 2011. The stay was wonderful on all ways: Maya ruins near at hand; beautiful coral reef; great service; first-class food; and engaging, friendly owner. We had easy access to a huge variety of interesting activities and locations.

Room Tip: All are great. Do you want upstairs or downstairs? That is the only issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
3.2 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balamku Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balamku Inn on the Beach

Property: Balamku Inn on the Beach
Address: 5.7 kms. south of Majahual, Mahahual, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamku is a small ecological hotel that offers beautiful rooms all facing the Sea and directly on the beach. We guarantee privacy, tranquility and excellent service. Since we are 6 kms south of Mahahual, our hotel is never noisy or crowded. We do not work with cruise ship folks so privacy is never compromised. The newly improved beach road makes access to town easy in less than 10 minutes. Kayaks are free to explore the reef just metres from our beach for great snorkeling. Large breakfasts are included as well as taxes.Enjoy the Caribbean Sea away from the crowds and relax in our natural environment.Please join us for private YOGA here or in town. Exceptional experience! Look for our YOGA retreats on FB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Balamku Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balamku Inn On The Beach Hotel Mahahual
Balamku Inn On The Beach Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing