We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 January 2014

really enjoyed this beautiful hotel. everything was first class, the private unit, the beach, the water, and a spectacular breakfast. the Canadian hosts were very friendly and could not do enough to make our short stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

We appreciated your interest in our ecological practices. Thank you for sharing your experience at Balamku with other people who use Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

We (2 couples) stayed for a few days over New Year, should have booked for longer!. We had booked an upper and lower room in one unit, but when we arrived we were given 2 upper rooms in separate units. These are simple and comfortable with 2 beds, with adequate facilities. The views of the beach and Caribbean Sea are excellent. Carol was away but the friendly and helpful Canadian couple Shirley and Art manage very well. Cooked breakfast is great, but for other meals you need to look elsewhere. We were a little disappointed with the meal offered at Maya Luna for NY Eve. There are plenty of choices of restaurants in Mahahual, a trip of 6 km by car along a very bumpy pot-holed beach road. Considering the eco nature and conservation aspect of this Inn, the facilities are very good. Possibly due to the type of construction there were a few insects in the room. The upper floors have great views from a nice balcony, but tend to be windy. If a storm blows through the windows can leak a little. Cleaning is good. So great views, use of kayak and snorkeling equipment, sun beds, hammocks, nice walks on the sandy beach, and the reef a short distance away all add to the charm and attraction of Balamku. If you are up to the challenge of the beach road trip, this place is a gem. Lovely place. Relaxation and enjoyment a cert.

Room Tip: An upper floor room has great views from the balcony, if you don´t mind it being a little windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Balamku. The road was terrible this holiday season but is now being repaired ..in late January. We have all had to be patient with this. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and again, for your patience with the road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We booked this place based on Trip Advisor reviews and we're so happy we did! It's an amazing, little Inn with just 10 rooms located right ON a small strip of beach front about 5-6 Km south of Majahual. Majahual itself isn't much to write home about as it's a typical, small Mexican village with several bodegas and some (really over priced) restaurants and beach clubs adjacent to a "melacon" which is a bit more like a faux Mexican beach town built solely for the occasional cruise ship. Majahual is just okay, the Balamku, however, is fantastic.

The place is spotless, well kept, well run but a Canadian couple (Though, I understand this will be changing). The Inn is run off of solar and wind power, has okay wifi/Internet, no phone, no TV and stunning views. You can snorkel or Kayak along the small barrier reef (about 500 meters off the shore), comb the beaches or just hang out in a hammock.

Insofar as food goes, breakfast is included and is excellent. Lunch can be a challenge as there are two restaurants nearby (both excellent) but they seem to open and close based more on mood than on set hours. If you go to the Maya Luna Inns restaurant, try the Pineapple shrimp dish. The other restaurant is called the Travel-Inn and is also good, though not quite as remarkable.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean. We had Cabana 6 which, we liked as it was a bit more private, along th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PShankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us at Balamku. Soon there will be more lunch offerings and dinner as well which will make it even more relaxed to stay with us! Thank you for this review and your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had booked for three nights but arrived late the first day and our plans had us depart early on the last so in essence, we only enjoyed Balamku for two full days. Out of these two, one was rained out until late afternoon so all and all, we had very little time to really enjoy the site but to no fault other than ours....We still got to enjoy the great view, managed to snorkel to the reef at least once wich by the way was our first experience snorkeling over a reef and wow...the variety, the colors, the reef, the plants , the fishes...pretty amazing throughout....
We were treated extremely well, breakfast was awesome , the rooms were large, clean and the beds extremely comfortable, and I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to experience their own little part of the oceanside without being stuck in a place were tourism is more important than the personal feeling of experience something so serene and precious. Balamku is located a few miles from Mahahual and it is off the beaten path but well worth it . Like some say, it's not for everyone but the whole package of the Mahahual area is special, charming to say the least and makes you feel that you are part of something that may not stay that way forever. Maybe the remotness of it all will save it's identity but then again, It wouldn't phase me to see more and more development in that area in the decades to come...but until then, this is a gem of a place and will remember my passage there as a great moment and wish to anyone the chance to experience it on their own....
The people at Balamku take extra care to make you feel special and it shows...I would return there specifically for mostly that reason alone....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LucAlfred_Ont_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

thank you for this thoughtful review. The essence of Balamku is reflected here. Like to think of it as a charming gem....with special client care as a focus. Love to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My family and I just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at Balamku. I had originally questioned the wisdom of making the long drive down to Mahahual from the Cancun airport and played with booking some place more convenient. I am so glad I resisted! This place is perfect! We didn't meet Carol as she was back in Canada but Art and Shirley were the most gracious hosts one could wish for. We had three separate rooms and we can attest that there isn't a bad room in the bunch. Large, airy and filled with personality. So close to the ocean - you can't get much closer without being in it. Falling asleep to the sound of the surf was magical. The beach, while not big, was everything we needed. We spent most of our time either in or on the water. The reef off shore is accessible by either snorkeling or kayaking and we made that trip several times. The included breakfast was very good- only issue was trying to decide between the offerings on the menu! We have fond memories of our meals on the beach at Maya Luna or inside at Travel In. Both restaurants were fun and slightly quirky. Not everyone would be happy here. This place is definitely off the grid. The beach debris, once you leave Balamku property, is distressing at best. But that didn't stop us from long beach walks, combing for conch shells, sea fans or coral. Yes, there are dogs in the area that occasionally bark at night. You are in rural Mexico-not shuttered in an all-inclusive cocoon. To my mind, that's all part of it. And I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank K2TOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

We are so thrilled that your family loved balamku!
And we know why..you are exceptional folks who just know what we are doing here
thanks so much for being with us
please come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Balumku does it again. Our 3rd time back and what a fabulous stay we had. Carol, the owner was friendly and welcoming upon our arrival. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with attractive local Mayan decor. The rooms are palapa towers designed to have the sea breezes that cool the rooms. It's easy to fall asleep with the cool air flowing through the room. Carol offers a full Mexican style breakfast, with fresh fruit and coffee. The staff Art & Shirley were helpful, friendly and efficient making our stay very nice. Balumku has the beautiful ocean to look out onto, but the grounds are beautiful too. Gardens and flowers bordering the sandy pathways meander through shady palapas and comfy hammocks. This is a place to relax and rejuvenate. Carol offers a great lobby with a nice library offering books and information of the area.
She is very helpful in offering outings and activities to do .

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have great ocean breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lugregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Imagine how wonderful it is to have the same great people coming back year after year
Love you Ostrows...You are so very welcome here anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We had the fortune of spending a night here and loved every second of it. We knew already from all the reviews that it was going to be great but we didn't know it was going to be so wonderful.
We had a palapa just a few steps from the sea with a little private beach right in front of it. Lying in bed you could see the waves rolling in until it got dark, then you could just listen to the sea until you fall asleep.
The rooms are simple but tastefully furnished, comfortable and clean. Plus it's all eco-friendly.
Carol and her staff took the best care of us, they are so friendly and helpful. It is just the best place for a holiday, I wish we could have stayed longer.
Hopefully we get to come back one day.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Applefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Please come again. One night is a tease:))
thank you so much for your positive comments AEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
3.2 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
329 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
166 reviews
3.5 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
33 reviews
4.7 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balamku Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balamku Inn on the Beach

Address: 5.7 kms. south of Majahual, Mahahual, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range: £62 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamku is a small ecological hotel that offers beautiful rooms all facing the Sea and directly on the beach. We guarantee privacy, tranquility and excellent service. Since we are 6 kms south of Mahahual, our hotel is never noisy or crowded. We do not work with cruise ship folks so privacy is never compromised. The newly improved beach road makes access to town easy in less than 10 minutes. Kayaks are free to explore the reef just metres from our beach for great snorkeling. Large breakfasts are included as well as taxes.Enjoy the Caribbean Sea away from the crowds and relax in our natural environment.Please join us for private YOGA here or in town. Exceptional experience! Look for our YOGA retreats on FB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Balamku Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balamku Inn On The Beach Hotel Mahahual
Balamku Inn On The Beach Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing