We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My daughter and I came here for a quiet getaway and really loved our time at Balamku Inn. Manny and T are as wonderful and hospitable as everyone else has said and both the breakfasts and special order dinners are fantastic. The Inn is clean and beautiful, with a constant breeze that keeps it cool. We left our door open at night so that it could wash over us. Views from our balcony were stunning. We felt very much out-of-the-way here, which is exactly what we were looking for. For a special day, drive 45 minutes to Xcalak and go snorkeling or fly fishing with Victor Castro. What a nice guy. Amazing turquoise water and beautiful snorkeling. Manny or T can put you in touch and will also make suggestions about the best fish restaurant in town. My only concern about the location of the Inn, as others have mentioned, is the sea grass. Manny plans to place a float out in the water for swimming in deeper water. Might be good to have a dock leading out to the deep water, as well.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the second floor for the breeze and views, but all the buildings are really love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We appreciate your comments about our hotel and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
The sea grass is cleaned daily and sometimes, with big winds, can take time to clear. As sea grass is an essential part of the ecosystem, we know it's value but understand the desire for a big white beach which is very often, the norm at Balamku and what we work at achieving every day
Again, many thanks for being with us and loving Balamku

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We just returned from an incredible 7 night stay at the Balamku Inn on the Beach and just had to share our experience! The Balamku property itself was so beautiful…right on the beach with tons of white sand and palm trees! Each morning we woke up to a breathtaking Caribbean Sunrise, and each night we fell asleep to the cooling Caribbean breezes. In fact, the breeze was so constant that we didn’t miss the air conditioning at all (and I was honestly a bit worried about that)! We also really loved that the Balamku is so eco-friendly…the power is wind and solar generated, and the non-drinking water comes from the rain! Don’t worry; purified bottled drinking water is always available too. The rooms were bright and open, with thatched roofs (!!), and the bathrooms nice and surprisingly large. After a long day at the beach, the balcony overlooking the sea was the perfect way to enjoy the peace and serenity of the property. It far exceeded our expectations!

From our first night there, Manny and Tere were the most amazing hosts. Each morning Tere made us breakfast, and I’m not talking a run-of-the-mill buffet with cereal and muffins…we had choices like chorizo and eggs with refried beans, fresh homemade salsa, and warm tortillas, omelets, ham and eggs, yogurt and granola, fresh fruit…the list goes on and on! We were even talking with Manny one morning about their favorite breakfast foods, and he mentioned that Tere made a wonderful Chicken Pepita Mole breakfast. My husband and I mentioned we had never had Pepita Mole before, so the next day Tere made it especially for us! It was soooooo good, and we were really touched that she chose to share one of her favorite dishes with us.

Manny went above and beyond our expectations and let us use their snorkeling and kayaking equipment for our entire stay, and he even lent us a book to read about early explorers to the area (“The Lost World of Quintana Roo”.) To cap everything off, Manny and Tere offered to cook us a special lobster dinner for our last night with them. I can’t say enough about this meal…it was easily one of the best meals I’ve ever eaten. No joke. They produced a tray of at least 4 locally caught lobsters (2 different kinds), fresh fish, along with fresh salad, homemade black beans, different salsas and sauces, rice, and homemade pita bread. Everything was incredibly fresh and cooked to perfection! It was a great way to end our stay!

We would definitely recommend the Balamku to anyone and everyone wanting a beautiful, tranquil place to stay in the Mahahual area, and we can’t wait to come back!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have better breezes at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We also appreciate the wonderful guests that come our way. Thank you for your glowing review and do look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family and I stayed here and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, delicious breakfasts, and comfortable accommodations. Our hosts, along with providing a great deal of activities on site, were very helpful directing us to local attractions and restaurants. They were also very friendly and kind to our children, which was very kind. A great place to get away from it all. I admire their comitment to being as green as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We appreciate your review and kind words for our hotel and our wonderful managers. Children love it at Balamku especially when their parents appreciate the natural environment and green practices.
Certainly a teaching point! thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

After traveling through Mexico for a while we found this great place.

This hotel is absolutely unforgetable and one of the greatest places on earth.

The location and the rooms are very romantic and individual and the beach is amazing.

The best thing is, that it is a very familar atmosphere and not one of those big resorts.

The owners are very helpful and the meals are fantastic. As mentioned, you just feel to be a guest at friends home.

Room Tip: they all have see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Wolf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We are fortunate that the folks who chose Balamku , for the most part, love it like you do. It is special and we thank you for your gracious and generous review. Hope we see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

After procrastinating for a while and after reading some of the latest reviews I have finally sat down to do mine; I met T & Manny a few years ago and was amazed at how they turned Schooners into one of the best places on the Mexican west coast so when they told me they were headed to the Yucatan peninsula to run an inn I just had to go and see what this was all about.
Balamku Inn on the Beach is a great place , green, off the beaten path but with all the amenities I look for when on holyday i.e. peaceful, clean, right on the beach with great service and big smiles from everyone that works there .
I never thought that breakfast would be such an event but the twins and T can do that and make it the meal of the day I just wish the feast could go on all day but sadly we had to go out for dinner as they don’t have a full restaurant on the premises .
Have to say that my friends have formed a great service team there, one that looks after guests as if they are family so we were spoiled rotten, have to admit they have done it once again and soon it will be a destination.
Every paradise has its flaws like the sea grass that tickles when swimming or the fact that sea currents deposit lots of garbage on the Mahahual beaches or that the vendors on the board walk pester you constantly or the fact that the ATMs are only replenished if the cruise ship docks so you are forced to carry and conceal a big wad of cash as very few places take credit cards but in the end this is Mexico and that’s what we love, so be prepared and enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Manager at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Many folks come to Balamku without knowing our team and leave feeling like you do...part of an extended group of friends! So thank you for these kind words. Luckily Balamku is on a private beach south of town so we can control the beach and of course, have no vendors. Complete privacy.
Hope you visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

i spent a few days in this heavenly hotel.
i live in chetumal so i can go more often.
Is relaxing and the host ( Many and T ) are very helpful and friendly.
Very attentive staff and superb breakfast.
i recommend it, and if you need some a recommendation from some places Many and T are always ready to help.
Thanks Balamku

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Giovana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Muchas gracias por este comentarios
We hope to see you and more folks from Chetumal QR as you have known Costa MAya for a very long time. This area has been your beach retreat for years!
Glad you found us and our team of bilingual managers
hasta luego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

What an awesome place! Natural, calm, relaxing and well run, all our expectations surpassed, we had a wonderful time and the personnal goes out of their way to make you feel at home, T and Manny are the fun warm couple that manages this awesome ocean front oasis.
Our beach was constantly cleaned by a couple of attentive and ever smiling guys who even got us a kayak for the day, how could we not stay an extra day.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Higher floor great ocean breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balamku, Owner at Balamku Inn on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We look forward to your return and thank you so much for your kind comments. The staff here is fabulous!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
3.2 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
329 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
166 reviews
3.5 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
33 reviews
4.7 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balamku Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balamku Inn on the Beach

Address: 5.7 kms. south of Majahual, Mahahual, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range: £62 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamku is a small ecological hotel that offers beautiful rooms all facing the Sea and directly on the beach. We guarantee privacy, tranquility and excellent service. Since we are 6 kms south of Mahahual, our hotel is never noisy or crowded. We do not work with cruise ship folks so privacy is never compromised. The newly improved beach road makes access to town easy in less than 10 minutes. Kayaks are free to explore the reef just metres from our beach for great snorkeling. Large breakfasts are included as well as taxes.Enjoy the Caribbean Sea away from the crowds and relax in our natural environment.Please join us for private YOGA here or in town. Exceptional experience! Look for our YOGA retreats on FB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Balamku Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balamku Inn On The Beach Hotel Mahahual
Balamku Inn On The Beach Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing