We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, relaxing eco-friendly Balumku Inn, top notch place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 23 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing eco-friendly Balumku Inn, top notch place to stay!”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Visiting Costa Maya again this summer to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversay reconfirmed how Lovely Balumku Inn was! The peaceful, eco-friendly hotel was wonderful. We filled most of the rooms with family and friends. Everyone enjoyed the delicious full breakfast Carol and her staff served each morning along with fresh coffee and fruit. The rooms, designed to maximize the cool ocean breezes were exceptionally clean and comfortable. One evening when weather was ?? we nestled into the main dining/library area and played scrabble by candle light. Our special event at Maya Chan Beach was conveniently located just minutes away from Balumku making a great choice in the Mahahual region. We will definitely return again... Balumku Inn.. Thanks for making our special 25th anniversary Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lugregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    36
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
61
172
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here with a group of friends for four days. Even from before we left the US, Carol was fantastic and went out of her way to make us feel at home. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms are large and beautiful, the breakfast delicious and the staff make you feel like family. Carol even made us popcorn as we played scrabble in the main lodge during a rainstorm!
We really appreciated the owners' committment to conservation, recycling and giving back to the community. My husband and I moved to Room 6 because it was the most private, had two hammocks in front and no one was above or below us. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idahoshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

If you care for the environment and are looking for an Eco-friendly place to stay - this is it!!

Lovely natural setting, georgous beachfront rooms, tasty breakfasts, helpful staff, lots of activities & quaint town!!

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed dinners at Travel In' (just 5min walk), and in town at Tropicante Ameri-Mexi Grill (Sooooo good).  Also tried Tapas Grill in town for lunch - amazing quesadillas & burritos!!  And Ki'i Taco makes some delicious fish tacos!!

We were there after tropical storm Alex (2010) for our honeymoon & love the quiet almost secluded nature of Balamku.  The wind was a bit strong though so it made for noisy nights and gusty days on the beach... Waves were strong and we were unable to snorkel :0(. But managed to lower down on the coast when we traveled to El Castillo for lobster lunch - YUM!!  Thanks to Peter and his daughter!!

Carol & Allen are wonderful hosts and clearly take pride in what they have built in Balamku!  The staff work hard at maintaining it's natural beauty and although the hurricane 2007 damaged the area, it is recovering and Mahahual will soon be back to the top of the list of ports to visit very soon!!

We can't wait to go back and visit again!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omgirrrlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Balamku is a must do, it is the most beautiful place ever. My husband and I did not get a chance to meet Carol but her husband Allen was wonderful breakfest was great everyday, Allen does a great job keeping the grounds in perfect condition. The locals are great and they are the best people in the world. You must go see Fernando at 100% Agave he serves and sells the best tequila and food in town, you must go see Jaime at Nohoch Kay, he makes the best fish Taco I have ever had in my life and one hell of a margarita and anything else you might want. You will not ever meet peole like Fernando and Jaime in just any town that is why you must go to Mahaual and see for yourself.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jantenucci4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
british columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Everything about Balamku has been well thought out and is efficient, clean and just plain great!! Full breakfast every day, will arrange trips in the area for fishing or sightseeing. We enjoyed our stay here the best out of 4 places we stayed!! 10 out of 10........hosts Carol and Alan make you want to come back soon!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinegirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Door County, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed at Balamku for 13 nights in March. We highly recommend Balamku as a real jewel away from the crowds. Based on the reviews we had read before our stay we had high expectations; we were not disappointed! Carol was available and willing to assist our stay in every way and we enjoyed our conversations with her. The upper unit we stayed in gave us extra privacy and a wonderful view.

The coral reef is a nice swim out to for a strong swimmer and worth the swim. Of course kayaks are also available to use. It was nice to be able to enjoy the reef environment without hiring onto a group boat trip. The only downside is Balamku does not have a drivers float with flag to alert approaching boats that you are swimming by the reef; however Carol is aware of this need and plans to purchase one soon.

The two resturants within walking distance (one north and one south within 5-10 minutes) were both good and we enjoy both. We recommend that you have dinner at both.

The cruise boat dockage north of Mahahual does not greatly impact Balamku but has had an impact on Mahahual. It is a real concern to us that the cruise boat industry may ruin this wonderful corner of the world in the future as it has elsewhere...we hope not. All of the local residents were pleasant and helpful and we wish them well!

We will return to Balamku in the future and for now our best wishes to all of the caring staff and owners. We miss the wonderful breakfasts!!! (Take care Carol and enjoy your trip to Europe.)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gliddenwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, MD
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

After staying several days at an "eco-lodge" in Tulum, we were definitely tired of brackish water and no electricity, so with mild concern, we made the trek down to Mahalhual for a three day stay at Balamku. We could not have left happier. Carol and Alan have made every effort make their resort relaxing, beautiful and faithful to their concerns for the environment. The cabanas are spotless with high end baths, effective composting toilets and plenty of electric power thanks to a pair of windmills and various solar displays. Decorating is tasteful and the photos on their website accurately portray the accomodations.
The small beach a few feet from your door is kept orderly by employees who keep the sea grass, which is also composted, under control. The complimentary breakfast is loaded with fruits, juices and a variety of Mexican breakfast dishes and the worker who helps Carol with breakfast and those who clean the rooms could not be more pleasant. At the end of a stressful day of doing nothing, Carol will make you a great Mojita or have a glass of wine with you. Walk up the road 100 meters or so and dine at the Travel In where creative Dutch expatriots prepare a variety of interesting entrees and Topas.
Of course, there is a downside to everyplace and Mahahual is no exception; recovery from Hurricane Dean has been slow, especially in the restoration of the Mangroves near the downtown area. The arrival of cruise ships has created the kind of carnival and aggressive shopping atmosphere on the Malacon which many people would like to avoid when in Mexico. None the less, Balamku is quite removed from everything and very pristine. Just to veg out, snorkel or take advantage of the many diving and touring opportunities in the Lower Yucatan, this can't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baysidebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
3.2 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
161 reviews
2.7 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
3.5 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maya Luna
Hotel Maya Luna
#3 of 23 in Mahahual
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balamku Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balamku Inn on the Beach

Property: Balamku Inn on the Beach
Address: 5.7 kms. south of Majahual, Mahahual, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamku is a small ecological hotel that offers beautiful rooms all facing the Sea and directly on the beach. We guarantee privacy, tranquility and excellent service. Since we are 6 kms south of Mahahual, our hotel is never noisy or crowded. We do not work with cruise ship folks so privacy is never compromised. The newly improved beach road makes access to town easy in less than 10 minutes. Kayaks are free to explore the reef just metres from our beach for great snorkeling. Large breakfasts are included as well as taxes.Enjoy the Caribbean Sea away from the crowds and relax in our natural environment.Please join us for private YOGA here or in town. Exceptional experience! Look for our YOGA retreats on FB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Balamku Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balamku Inn On The Beach Hotel Mahahual
Balamku Inn On The Beach Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing