We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay at Balamku and surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 23 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Europe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Balamku and surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

A lot has already been said in other reviews. To summarize our great experience:
Quiet, spacious room, great breakfast, nice beach, wifi internet and very friendly staff and owner Carol is also very friendly and helpful. If you arrive by bus, take a taxi to the hotel (about 10-15 minutes). You can't pay the hotel with credit card, so bring enough cash (ATM's are available in town).

There are two good restaurant (Maya Luna and Travel In) within walking distance (5-10 minutes). Try the excellent pineapple dish at Maya Luna and the tapas at Travel In!

We did our diving with Selma from Nomad Divers (http://www.nomaddivers.com/). Selma is a great instructor and fun to dive with. We can highly recommend her!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I&P-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    35
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
60
169
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

We went to Balamku for a pre-Christmas vacation. We had 10 days of beautiful sunshine! If you like to rest and relax, this is the place for you!
The white sand beach is beautiful and stretches for miles! Balamku has a small private cove, perfect for sun-tanning, swimming and relaxing. (No need to 'fight' other guests for sun-umbrella's & lounge chairs!)
Just a short paddle from the resort is some of the best snorkeling in the world. Use their kayaks (free) and tie up at a buoy. (We have previously paid a lot of money on other trips to snorkel at reefs...all pale in comparison to the free, close, safe snorkeling at Balamku.)
The staff (Carol) are amazing! Friendly, courteous and genuinely interested in helping to make your vacation the best!
Breakfast is awesome!
Excellent restaurants are walking distance from the resort or drive into town (5km) and enjoy the people and resturants. (You must go to 100% Agave...delicious!)
Highly recommend this eco friendly resort!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonorth2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

The first thing we love about Balamku is that it has a great website that allows you to make reservations online, which is important to us as we plan travel. Balamku exceeded our expectations with quality, friendly, and attentive service. Carol and Federica made us feel at home with friendly conversation and recommendations for activities and restaurants in Mahahaul. The breakfast at Balamku is included with your room and its marvelous. The rooms are very comfortable and cleaned everyday. We would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Mahahual. Make sure you visit Don Fernando at his restaurant 100% Agave in town for an AMAZING dinner, great prices, and delicious tequila. I would also recommend the Travel In for dinner. Albert and Justa are great hosts. And you can rent bikes from them too.

Thank you Carol and Federica for being excellent hosts!
Happy New Year!
Brad and Jaime

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

We did stay in November for 10 nights at Balamku, planed were 3. This already tells you a lot. If you are looking for a peaceful place with love to all details, real ecofrindly, very clean Hotel with great breakfast – here you are. From our point of view Balamku is a proven example for a combination of highly service and comfort driven orientation with sustainability and environmental orientation. Carol and Alan are really taking care about your needs, wishes while respecting your privacy. We were travelling in most areas of the world but Balamku is a unique place, so we really can strongly recommend this Hotel.

@Carol and Alan, Thanks a lot for the great time we had at Balamku and all the great support we got during our stay.

Sandra and Matthias

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoebema1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

Carol, the owner, is the ultimate hostess at what has to be the best lodging imaginable if you are looking for a beautiful, peaceful, and secluded caribbean getaway. If you are interested in seeing the beauty of Mexico, but avoiding the over-developed tourist destinations, this is the place! A small private resort, with just 10 rooms - clean and cute - spread over 6 modern buildings right on the beach! Seriously, my girlfriend and I stayed at 4 different places over a week touring the Yucatan - from cancun to tulum to majahual - and this was the cleanest, most modern, just straight-up nicest place in the country! The breakfasts are incredible (not to mention the possibility to strike up a great conversation with Carol) and served in an airy modern dining room right off the water. There is a great little place to eat for dinner just a minute walk away, and the town of majahual is what Mexico is really all about (and full of nice, welcoming people!). My girlfriend and I are in our twenties, and of all our travels through the Yucatan this is definitely the place we will remember the most. I would recommend the Balamku Inn to anyone of any age...just check out their website and see for yourself! Any future trips to Mexico will be sure to start there!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattMlyniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuernavaca, Mex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

Hotel Balamku inn is just lovely. We had a great time, excellent place for diving, for snorkeling, for kayaking or just for relax. It is a small hotel runned by owners with special attention to your comfort and stay, lovely people! Excellent breakfast estilo mexicano included. I just can't imagine a more beautiful place at the beach.

Avelino

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avelinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

the reviews prior to this say it all. Normally if something seems too good to be true it usually is but Balamku breaks the rule- the only rule it does break. I couldn't beleive we were staying in an eco hotel with no comprmise on sustainability and no compromise in human needs. You don't get this good without hard work and attention to detail and this is due to Carol, Alan and the team.
The tour boats didn't bother us at all, we just felt sorry for them

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pca26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
3.2 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balamku Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balamku Inn on the Beach

Property: Balamku Inn on the Beach
Address: 5.7 kms. south of Majahual, Mahahual, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balamku is a small ecological hotel that offers beautiful rooms all facing the Sea and directly on the beach. We guarantee privacy, tranquility and excellent service. Since we are 6 kms south of Mahahual, our hotel is never noisy or crowded. We do not work with cruise ship folks so privacy is never compromised. The newly improved beach road makes access to town easy in less than 10 minutes. Kayaks are free to explore the reef just metres from our beach for great snorkeling. Large breakfasts are included as well as taxes.Enjoy the Caribbean Sea away from the crowds and relax in our natural environment.Please join us for private YOGA here or in town. Exceptional experience! Look for our YOGA retreats on FB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Balamku Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balamku Inn On The Beach Hotel Mahahual
Balamku Inn On The Beach Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing