We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balamku Inn on the Beach
Nearby Hotels
Posada Pachamama(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
US$43
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto Coral(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
US$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margarita del Sol(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna de Plata . Hotel(Mahahual)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
245
37
6
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
37
6
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolawind powerin townthe ownerpeaceful retreatbreakfast was deliciouspeace and tranquilitycharming placenew managerssea grasseco lodgefresh fruitoff the beaten pathmain buildingstayed two nightspalm treesocean front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My wife and I have travelled extensively and when winter approaches Mexico is our favourite destination. Discovering Balamku this year has to be the best find yet. Carol and Allan, a couple from Canada, have designed and built an inn on the beach several hours south of Tulum. It is a remote, peaceful paradise. Waves break offshore on a coral reef which is reachable for diving by kayak. Fishing both fly and deep sea is available. A short distance north is the small fishing village of Majahual with excellent seafood. Wildlife photography, sunrises, sunsets and pleasant breezes combine with Carol's great hospitality to make for an memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelsea766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

The hostess Carol and her assistant Fredricka are extremely helpful and charming. Best complimentary breakfast ever!!!
The round rooms are so well appointed--super comfortable beds, thick sheets, fluffy towels, big shower, writing/games desk.
Beautiful beach and beach foliage. Snorkeling close in. Selma is recommended for diving--she is fun and professional. Thanks for the lovely time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We have been at Balamku for 9 nights and enjoyed the full period. We have slept very well: early in bed and up when the sun rises, still 9-10 hours sleep per night! Beautiful view from the cabaña windows and balcony. Spacious and quiet room (#9) The connection to internet worked (only) well before 8:00. Breakfast consisted of a healthy start with fruits and a choice for a Mexican 2nd dish. The smoothies are recommended as a welcome refreshment on the beach. We were lucky to be able to enjoy a duo massage at the beach which was also well priced especially when compared to cities like Tulum or Playa del Carmen. Other pricing for dining, etc. are what you expect from Mexico and not yet upgraded to "normal" touristic levels seen North (towards Cancun). We were well advised by (the owner) Carol for activities, day trips and nice places to eat; one that you definitively should try is the restaurant 100% Agave! After this stay we moved to Tulum for 6 nights and then we realized even more how lucky we were having been at the scenic and beautiful place Balamku

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiRe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Balamku is wonderful. I pride myself on going to ecofriendly hotels and this place really lives up to that wonderfully. It did mean a few very minor inconveniences but to keep the world green, I was more than happy to deal with composting toilets and having to get my daily drinking water from water in the main hall each day. In exchange we had lovely, well presented food every morning and many lunches, good advice on dinner locations, our choice of music (and discussions on jazz and other types of music) at meals and cocktails, the beach less then a stone throw away from our front door, friendly staff all the way down to the maids, and much more. My son (age 14) enjoyed talking with the staff as well and didn't feel looked down on as some teens can feel in adult situations. He got to kayak almost daily. Both husband and son did a lot of scuba and we all snorkeled. You can snorkel right out front of your room and scuba is just 4 minutes away to the boats. (scuba is extra and can be arranged by Carol). We also loved the proximity to Mayan ruins that are not well known, and thus not well traveled. My only complaint would be the sun waking us each morning. I like sleeping in.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth_Moscov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Carol and Allen at the Balamku operate a beautiful facility directly on the beach where the buildings, grounds, service and scenery are amazing. We took our 13 and 16 year old children with us to this region for the first time. The staff made them feel special, smoothies every afternoon, snorkeling along the beach, hammocks to chill in and a complimentary cook-to-order breakfast. The units are unique in design, 8 buildings, most with two units per building, all virutally right on the beach. We could watch the sunrise over the ocean while sitting in bed - but most mornings we went to the beach to capture some amazing photos. The complimentary kayaks were a plus. For this region, The Balamku is a gem and we would highly recommend it. This was my 3rd stay with them over the past 5 years, our first with children and wouldn't hesitate to go back. Some of the best diving in Mexico is literally right in front of the facility where the Mesoamerican reef sits just a couple hundred yards out. There are two dining establishments within a short distance - we walked to one, the other we drove a few minutes to get to. Since there is no electrical grid serving the area, The Balamku is totally self contained and powered by wind and solar providing 24 hour electrical service, which all worked wonderfully. Wifi was a perk we didn't expect. The kids could check their Facebook account while sitting on the beach sipping their smoothies. They were impressed. Two thumbs up for The Balamku - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbhardy502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews