We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspoiled,unhurried... Unbelievable!”
Review of Hotel Maya Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Maya Luna
Ranked #3 of 23 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Merida, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unspoiled,unhurried... Unbelievable!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with friends and made more friends.
The down to earth mentality, combined with the stunning location surrounded by beach,mangroves and the beautifull reef a swim away.
If you want to feel, experience and taste nature: go here!
All ecological...you can see nature being thankfull ;)
Nice malecon just a small drive away if you like to see more people enjoying this part of the caribbean.
Carolien & Jan have been very acomodating, flexible and caring towards all our needs!
Thanks my friends... I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahahualmexio, Propietario at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Glad you liked it...and good to hear you made more friends ! that exactly how we meant our hotel restaurant to be....see you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    67
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
82
187
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent a week at Hotel Maya Luna -- and what a lovely week it was! Our little casita was comfy and clean and we especially enjoyed sitting on the roof and stretching out in the hammock on the front deck. This area of Mexico is not heavily touristed, so it's fun to walk on a quiet beach. Hosts Carolien and Jan are helpful, friendly and charming. Don't forget to try their shrimp-stuffed pineapple. Oh, yum!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahahualmexio, Propietario at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
It was great to have you two staying at our place. Lots of nice conversations. ! Hope to see you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to have found Maya Luna in October of 2013 after researching and reviewing many places to stay in Mahahual. Little did we know that booking our stay was just the start of a wonderful 8 day adventure!

Maya Luna is an eco friendly minimalist resort. I say this because they harness the sun for the majority of their energy used on site and even though they are just a few miles out of town, staying here has everything you need.

We stayed in the Mayan Village bungalow, which is furthest to the south. It's a simple room, a bed, closet, fan, separated WC and shower/washroom area. There is also another counter area to store your belongings. For us it was a cooler and some minor munchies. There is a table and chairs both inside and outside on your patio not to mention another set of table and chairs on your own private rooftop terrace. Another great place to watch the sun rise while enjoying some free morning coffee, tea or juice OR enjoying the sun set and moon rise while sipping your favorite adult beverage. ;) It is a room with two twin beds that were made into a king for us and is quite firm. Making up for the firmness of the bed is sleeping with the windows open and being able to smell and feel the ocean breezes all night, oh and waking up to watch the sun rise from your bed, priceless! In front of not only our villa, but all of them are 2 private hammocks for your enjoyment. Very quickly they became our favorite place to relax and read while taking in the beauty of the ocean.

Every morning Caroline was there to greet you with a smile and take your breakfast order. By the 3rd morning we had found our favs and stayed with them. The pancakes are huge and very good, however the Mexican breakfast with an order of cheese tortillias was my personal favorite. They do have a menu however there is a daily special depending on what you are interested in eating, Jan is a chef and will prepare just about anything you ask of him. I was lucky enough to be there over Valentines Day in which there was freshly caught king fish and snapper. Even though I had never had a whole fried fish and was nervous, Caroline assured me I would like it, and sure enough...I did. Sunday nights is Indonesian night in which you have a whole variety of food including peanut chicken, fried rice, shrimp and other things I can't remember. LOL Needless to say, again...absolutely amazing! Now as for the stuffed pineapple meal with shrimp or chicken...it is a lot of food, but it is fantastic and well worth the try! We are used to eating smaller meals, so we were able to share most of the dishes, but not to worry they are "American Sized". Both the meals and the drinks are reasonably priced, our bill for 8 days of meals and drinks was about $125. We did however go to town for lunches or made our own little snacks.

The ocean in front of the resort is not as "pretty" as it is in town. There is a reef that runs the length of the city that not only protects it but it allows for a different flow of currant. The seaweed is very prevalent in the area but at Maya Luna they keep their beach raked up and clean daily. If you want to go snorkeling, you can pretty much do that anywhere, but make sure to ask to see where the best places are. They let you use the kayaks free of charge, and it's the one thing we regret not doing while we were there, but lots of other people did. You can take them out to the reef and get out to swim or snorkel, we watched people of all ages do this with little to no effort.

You could walk to town, however it gets quite warm and it would be a long journey, we rented a car which to get down to Mahahual from Cancun and to get around is probably suggested, then again there were people staying there that just used the bus and then local taxi system. Once you are in town, there is everything you need, but an ATM. If you need money to pay Caroline, you must either stop in Bacular or Tulum, depending on which direction you are coming from. The 3-4 ATM's in town are either out of money or not working. Every place does take USD, but you'll get a better deal with Pesos.

We simply can not say enough about this hotel and the city of Mahahual. We are already planning our return trip! If you have any questions, please feel free to ask us about this paradise on earth! Don't forget to pet their dog Dinga, she's very friendly and loves attention!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, however we liked the end room for just a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahahualmexio, Propietario at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
The pleasure of meeting you and getting to know you during your stay at Maya Luna was completely on our side ! Thanks for the very nice conversations and we are looking forward to your future visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed 3 days at Maya Luna the beginning of February. Wish we could have stayed longer. The setting is gorgeous. The bungalows are about 50 feet from the ocean with your own shade, chairs and hammocks. The beach was maintained daily which made for enjoyable walks. The beds were firm (just how we like them) and with the breeze coming off the ocean, we slept like babies. The rooftops of the bungalows also come with chairs and shade--what a view!

The staff was friendly and the owners, Carolien and Jan, went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and pleasurable. We truly felt like we were treated as guests in their home. The food was excellent with the standouts being the stuffed shrimp pineapple and the fried fish plate. Yummy!

If you are looking for a small and intimate beach setting, this is it. Would love to go back someday. Thank you, Carolien and Jan, for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahahualmexio, Propietario at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks soo much for your nice words. It was really a pleasure to have you guys staying with us ! Please come back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Last two weeks we spent our holiday at Hotel Maya Luna, approximately 5km. south of Mahahual, Costa Maya, Mexico.
It's a gorgeous and romantic place to stay. The Dutch owners Jan and Carolien are great hosts. They and their crew give you an amazing time, make you feel at home and take care of the small details.
The Hotel with four lodges and a cozy restaurant is neat, beautiful and decorated with a lot of taste. Everything is situated as close as 21 meters from the sea, which makes this place a paradise. The beach-garden is lovely and elegant and provides the freshly served coconuts.
Not to mention the terraces on top of every lodge, where one can sit looking at the late sunset, hitting the reef and watching the pelican birds flying over.
The food is exquisite, ask for the signature dish, stuffed pineapple and the home made ceviche, delicious. Margarita's they serve are heavenly.
Breakfast is served with fresh juices, coffee and tea, and an outstanding Huevo Ranchero.
Last but not least, with full moon one sits down at the beach, the owners shut down all the lights, which makes this a dazzling experience. It feels like moon bathing.
We want to thank Jan and Carolien for our stay and we'll be back for sure!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahahualmexio, Propietario at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
It was great to have you as guests at Maya Luna. Thanks for all the nice conversations and interesting stories. Come back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just loved it: the rooftop balcony, where you see the fregats and pelicans diving into the sea, and the vultures just above your head. It's simple, but so quite, and such good food in the restaurant. Free canoes. PS make the cartrip to Xcalakk down south, the beachside road, we even saw a quetzal bird! Take time for a few days to relax, enjoy the delicious food from the restaurant. Good service and company from the owners. And do follow their advice for hotels. We all did them, to our great benefit (for Calakmul, Uxmal, Merida (the best hotel city centre, with free parking space).
simply topdestination for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harsch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We dropped into Costa Maya from our cruise. We were really disappointed with the crowded beaches with over zealous locals trying to sell goods, trash all over the place, boats zipping by etc. We wanted to go somewhere quiet, secluded and clean with good service and food. Hotel Maya Luna was exactly our medicine. 4 huts make up the hotel - secluded beach with ultra comfortable hammocks (seriously this stuff is something else), great food, our host was very pleasant, and a reef to snorkel 300-400 meters off the beach. it s a swim to get there - i didn t mind at all - the way to the reef is covered with marsh. keep your eyes open - there is a lot hidden in the grass - baby skates, lobsters etc. The reef was good - watch out for the waves though once you cross the wall. it s a unique curious mini-eco system over there. one thing though there is a lot of trash all over the costa maya coast - apparently currents carry the trash from all over south america is what we were told. the only place that seems to clean the beach front is this hotel to our observation. Locals just stare at trash build up right in front of their eyes. Mind boggling.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t-dev-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
1.9 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
161 reviews
2.9 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
202 reviews
3.1 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#10 of 12 in Mahahual
31 reviews
5.0 mi away
Almaplena Eco Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Luna

Property: Hotel Maya Luna
Address: Carretera Majahual | Xcalak km 5.2, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maya Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Luna is the place to go when you want to be away from the madness of daily life. The beach front studios have private bathroom, fresh drinking water, king-size bed, ceiling fan and hammocks. Each studio has its own private roof terrace and a parking lot. The restaurant-bar offers a selection of European & Mexican dishes. For its water supply Maya Luna uses rain water. Electricity is generated via solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Maya Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maya Luna Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing