We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, super ecologist,”
Review of Hotel Maya Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Maya Luna
Ranked #3 of 22 Mahahual B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It had a great view, the food was good, the service given by the owner was good, if you are not used to mosquitoes, no internet or no tv is not the place for you. The town is beautiful and with the recomendation of the owner we ate one of the most delicious fish that i ever eaten!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dani V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We came back again and again to enjoy their great food. Although we did not stay at Mayaluna (did not know about it), we ate there once and then asked ourselves the next day where shall we have dinner? And both opted for Mayaluna and we came back again and again.

Especially wonderful was the shrimp dish in a pineapple boat and the Indonesian dinner that the chef prepared. The drinks were wonderful too.

Lovely atmosphere at the hotel, would like to stay there next time.

Room Tip: did not stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank a1b2c3d4traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahahualmexio, Propietario at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Great to have you as guests in our restaurant ! and thanks for your return visits and enjoying our stuffed pineapple over and over again. Looking forward to your next visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This comfortable, relaxing hotel is in a beautiful unspoiled area of the costa maya....it is how I picture Cancun and Playa must have been 30+ years ago before all of the tourists descended. With pure white sandy beaches and roads, a reef for snorkeling and diving within easy swimming distance, this is a little slice of heaven. And for those looking for a little more action, the town with your pick of restaurants, bars, clubs (even a Senor Frogs!) is a nice walk (or 5 minute drive) down the road. Owners Jan and Carolien will take care of you with plenty of excellent food and a well stocked bar; be sure to try Jan's pineapple shrimp! Great spot for biking, kayaking, or just a leisurely walk on the beach.....hope to return soon with our son!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Californina_Quincey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with friends and made more friends.
The down to earth mentality, combined with the stunning location surrounded by beach,mangroves and the beautifull reef a swim away.
If you want to feel, experience and taste nature: go here!
All ecological...you can see nature being thankfull ;)
Nice malecon just a small drive away if you like to see more people enjoying this part of the caribbean.
Carolien & Jan have been very acomodating, flexible and caring towards all our needs!
Thanks my friends... I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahahualmexio, Propietario at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Glad you liked it...and good to hear you made more friends ! that exactly how we meant our hotel restaurant to be....see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We spent a week at Hotel Maya Luna -- and what a lovely week it was! Our little casita was comfy and clean and we especially enjoyed sitting on the roof and stretching out in the hammock on the front deck. This area of Mexico is not heavily touristed, so it's fun to walk on a quiet beach. Hosts Carolien and Jan are helpful, friendly and charming. Don't forget to try their shrimp-stuffed pineapple. Oh, yum!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahahualmexio, Propietario at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

It was great to have you two staying at our place. Lots of nice conversations. ! Hope to see you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to have found Maya Luna in October of 2013 after researching and reviewing many places to stay in Mahahual. Little did we know that booking our stay was just the start of a wonderful 8 day adventure!

Maya Luna is an eco friendly minimalist resort. I say this because they harness the sun for the majority of their energy used on site and even though they are just a few miles out of town, staying here has everything you need.

We stayed in the Mayan Village bungalow, which is furthest to the south. It's a simple room, a bed, closet, fan, separated WC and shower/washroom area. There is also another counter area to store your belongings. For us it was a cooler and some minor munchies. There is a table and chairs both inside and outside on your patio not to mention another set of table and chairs on your own private rooftop terrace. Another great place to watch the sun rise while enjoying some free morning coffee, tea or juice OR enjoying the sun set and moon rise while sipping your favorite adult beverage. ;) It is a room with two twin beds that were made into a king for us and is quite firm. Making up for the firmness of the bed is sleeping with the windows open and being able to smell and feel the ocean breezes all night, oh and waking up to watch the sun rise from your bed, priceless! In front of not only our villa, but all of them are 2 private hammocks for your enjoyment. Very quickly they became our favorite place to relax and read while taking in the beauty of the ocean.

Every morning Caroline was there to greet you with a smile and take your breakfast order. By the 3rd morning we had found our favs and stayed with them. The pancakes are huge and very good, however the Mexican breakfast with an order of cheese tortillias was my personal favorite. They do have a menu however there is a daily special depending on what you are interested in eating, Jan is a chef and will prepare just about anything you ask of him. I was lucky enough to be there over Valentines Day in which there was freshly caught king fish and snapper. Even though I had never had a whole fried fish and was nervous, Caroline assured me I would like it, and sure enough...I did. Sunday nights is Indonesian night in which you have a whole variety of food including peanut chicken, fried rice, shrimp and other things I can't remember. LOL Needless to say, again...absolutely amazing! Now as for the stuffed pineapple meal with shrimp or chicken...it is a lot of food, but it is fantastic and well worth the try! We are used to eating smaller meals, so we were able to share most of the dishes, but not to worry they are "American Sized". Both the meals and the drinks are reasonably priced, our bill for 8 days of meals and drinks was about $125. We did however go to town for lunches or made our own little snacks.

The ocean in front of the resort is not as "pretty" as it is in town. There is a reef that runs the length of the city that not only protects it but it allows for a different flow of currant. The seaweed is very prevalent in the area but at Maya Luna they keep their beach raked up and clean daily. If you want to go snorkeling, you can pretty much do that anywhere, but make sure to ask to see where the best places are. They let you use the kayaks free of charge, and it's the one thing we regret not doing while we were there, but lots of other people did. You can take them out to the reef and get out to swim or snorkel, we watched people of all ages do this with little to no effort.

You could walk to town, however it gets quite warm and it would be a long journey, we rented a car which to get down to Mahahual from Cancun and to get around is probably suggested, then again there were people staying there that just used the bus and then local taxi system. Once you are in town, there is everything you need, but an ATM. If you need money to pay Caroline, you must either stop in Bacular or Tulum, depending on which direction you are coming from. The 3-4 ATM's in town are either out of money or not working. Every place does take USD, but you'll get a better deal with Pesos.

We simply can not say enough about this hotel and the city of Mahahual. We are already planning our return trip! If you have any questions, please feel free to ask us about this paradise on earth! Don't forget to pet their dog Dinga, she's very friendly and loves attention!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, however we liked the end room for just a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Savannah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahahualmexio, Propietario at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

The pleasure of meeting you and getting to know you during your stay at Maya Luna was completely on our side ! Thanks for the very nice conversations and we are looking forward to your future visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed 3 days at Maya Luna the beginning of February. Wish we could have stayed longer. The setting is gorgeous. The bungalows are about 50 feet from the ocean with your own shade, chairs and hammocks. The beach was maintained daily which made for enjoyable walks. The beds were firm (just how we like them) and with the breeze coming off the ocean, we slept like babies. The rooftops of the bungalows also come with chairs and shade--what a view!

The staff was friendly and the owners, Carolien and Jan, went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and pleasurable. We truly felt like we were treated as guests in their home. The food was excellent with the standouts being the stuffed shrimp pineapple and the fried fish plate. Yummy!

If you are looking for a small and intimate beach setting, this is it. Would love to go back someday. Thank you, Carolien and Jan, for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahahualmexio, Propietario at Hotel Maya Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks soo much for your nice words. It was really a pleasure to have you guys staying with us ! Please come back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
2.4 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
339 reviews
2.9 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Margarita del Sol
Margarita del Sol
#9 of 12 in Mahahual
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mahahual
174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
2.3 mi away
La Posada de los 40 Canones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Luna

Address: Carretera Majahual | Xcalak km 5.2, Mahahual 77940, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mahahual
Price Range: £52 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maya Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Luna is the place to go when you want to be away from the madness of daily life. The beach front studios have private bathroom, fresh drinking water, king-size bed, ceiling fan and hammocks. Each studio has its own private roof terrace and a parking lot. The restaurant-bar offers a selection of European & Mexican dishes. For its water supply Maya Luna uses rain water. Electricity is generated via solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Maya Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maya Luna Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing