We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could so easily be so much better”
Review of Margarita del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Margarita del Sol
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice but could so easily be so much better”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Rooms were nice. Location was great, right on the beach. A little far out of town, so a rental car was essential. Disappointed that no Restaurant facilities available, not even breakfast. Beach was unkept...not just seaweed. Gardens were lightly littered with rubbish and no apparent daily attempt was made to clean. Rubbish bins in the grounds should have been emptied daily but more likely were done weekly. Swimming Pool was constantly cloudy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    9
    3
    6
    0
See reviews for
10
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Just spent a week at Margarita and had a great time. 6 of us went for a week of diving ,got blown out a couple of days , but had a great time around the pool and touring the town area. also went diving a couple of days.We found some good resturants that we had to drive to in town , so rent a car. Resort is very laid back & relaxing great place to unwind,rooms open up directly to beach !! The staff took care of all our needs. Gardens are spectacular with allot of birds to watch. Rooms are clean with a full kitchen . We felt safe at all times around Mahahual. We'll be planning a return trip in the future! Steve

Room Tip: breeze off ocean get a second floor room with a view direct access to beach get a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed there from March 16 to March 25. The rooms were some off the nicest we have stayed in on our trips to Mexico. Their is a lot of room and they are relatively new. On the downside while we were there the beach was never cleaned and had not been cleaned for a while. The grounds were never cleaned and for the first 4 nights we emptied our own garbage. The room was finally swept after 5 days when I talked to the on site Manager. One garbage can on the way to the Manager's office was never emptied while we were there. For most of the 9 days we were there we were the only people there so the lack of maintainance was not from being to busy. If these problems could be fixed it would be a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBG0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toledo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

This hotel is a short drive from town. The units are right on the beach each with a great view. We thought the two managers at the hotel were very friendly and the rooms were comfortable. The beach was nice but would have been nicer if the seaweed was cleaned each day. The reef was beautiful and healthy you could borrow a kayak to get to the reef. Rick also offers dives. Some guests went on over 20 dives. The price was also inexpensive and got cheaper as we stayed longer.
The hotel offers only breakfast so if you like to eat out you have to drive to town at least once per day which was kind of a drag. I would also recommend that the hotel sell beer and soft drinks. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maep1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stayed four nights at Margarita del Sol and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We had a ground level suite that opened directly onto the beach. Our room was sparkling clean and the hotel was quiet. We spent our time swimming, kayaking, snorkeling, and reading. We really enjoyed the privacy at the hotel. The manager, Rick, and his partner, Getse, made us feel welcome. There are eight rooms, four upstairs and four down. Each room has a full kitchen with a gas stove, sink, and refrigerator. Electricity is made on site with solar panels and a wind turbine. Rainwater is used for the bathrooms and kitchens. Rick is a scuba instructor and is a good teacher. Mahahual is a strange area - it is a cruise ship port but when the ships are not in port, it is a sleepy little town.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2007

This is new, very clean and ecological (solar power, rainwater collection) 4 unit hotel right on the beach south of Majahual. They have TV and satelite internet service.

There is an onsite caretaker/maid (with daily cleaning) and free use of kayaks and snorkel gear. There is a healthy coral reef about 150 yards off shore with great snorkeling. Each unit has a queen bed, futon sofa, table and kitchenette with basic cookware. Also hammocks and balcony/patio. All are oceanview. They surround a central courtyard with huge palapa and chairs and tables.

Our family booked the whole place (I think 75$/Nite per room low season) and all ate together under the palapa each day. There are good restuarants within walking distance but you need a car to get into Majahual village. They plan to expand and build another 4 units.

This is a great place for peace and quiet. NO time shares, no crowds! We paid in advance via paypal. Check out the website: [--]
and webcam!

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank Bonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahahual hotels
1.3 mi away
Luna de Plata . Hotel
Luna de Plata . Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mahahual
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koox Quinto Sole Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
Koox Matan Ka'an Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mahahual
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Porto Coral
Porto Coral
#8 of 12 in Mahahual
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Pachamama
Posada Pachamama
#5 of 12 in Mahahual
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ko'ox El Hotelito Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarita del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita del Sol

Property: Margarita del Sol
Address: 7 km south Mahahual, Mahahual, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Costa Maya > Mahahual
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Mahahual
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Margarita del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Margarita del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita Del Sol Mahahual, Mexico - Costa Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing