We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average B&B but great service and great location”
Review of La Casa del Mago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa del Mago
Ranked #1 of 1 Uxmal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The room rate was great value and included a lovely breakfast which was served on the terrace plus use of both the small pool at Casa Del Mago and the main 'Hacienda Uxmal' pool which was adjacent. The staff member who checked us in and looked after us was excellent, really helpful and knowledgeable, even offered to get us drinks from the main hotel bar when we returned from a hot day at the Uxmal ruins. The house was quite unusual and had great old shutters with screens instead of glass windows which we loved, it was built for the archaeologists who worked at Uxmal and so that little bit of history made Casa Del Mago even more special for us. The location is perfect for an early morning visit to the ruins or for attending the evening light and sound show as it is less than 5 mins walk over to the entrance. The bus stop for the local bus (Oriente or Sur) back to Merida is right outside and there are shaded benches where you can wait so easy for travelling.
However there were a few bad points....the bed in our room was past its best and could have been more comfortable and there was occasional noise from the highway outside as our room faced the front but the location so close to the ruins made up for that for us. We went to the restaurant in the Lodge at Uxmal for some food after the evening show and we were really disappointed, it was expensive and not very tasty, flavours clearly catering to the less adventurous traveller. The prawn supreme had only four prawns and a bland marie-rose sauce while the Sopa de Lima tasted more like tomato soup than the tasty broth we'd eaten everywhere else in the Yucatan. We'd recommend eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at La Casa del Mago, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy you enjoyed our services !
Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

La Casa del Mago at Uxmal is sited right outside the ruins as part of the Hacienda. You can see that the hotel was a wonder in years past but has fallen into disrepair. Our first room had an overflowing toilet which had left the floor underwater and the whole section of the hotel stinking of sewage. The second room had no air conditioning, no electrical plugs, no chairs, no TV, and no working ceiling fan. Room did have a shower, hot water and towels. Wi-fi was free but did not work in the room, only in the lobby of the hacienda next door and it was slow. Free parking but not a lot of spaces. Extremely loud highway noise all night. Hotel charged us for 2 nights when we only stayed one and would not give us a refund.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Even though it is part of the bigger complex of Uxmal Lodge and Hacienda, the building of Casa del Mago looks completedly deserted. The ground floor is even still under construction. It is called a B&B but it is far from what one can expect from a B&B. it is noisy, unwelcoming and desolate. The rooms only have blinds, so all the noise from outside penetrates your room, even at night. It is like trucks drive through your room. At 6 am the staff started running up and down the stairs without paying attention that they had guests. They start working downstairs, so you can't sleep anymore.
You can make use of all the other facilities like the pools and restaurant of the lodge, and breakfast is nice, but i would wait until, they have finished the building before booking there.
The price we paid for this noisy room, is the same as what we paid for a much more comfortable room in the Chichen-Itza Hacienda without breakfast,yet the difference is soooo big. The Casa del Mago room is really overpriced compared to what you get in Chichen-Itza.

Staff in the Lodge's restaurant is very friendly and the food is good.

By the way, Uxmal is close to other cities, and you can see it in 2 hours so no need to book a night here. The light show is boring as well. So you can make it in a round trip from Merida or Campeche.

Room Tip: Wiat untill they have finished the works on the building before booking here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJandSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Right across the street from the ruins which made it very convenient to visit during the day and then go back for the sound and light show. The price was right. No a/c but it wasn't super hot. We were awakened pretty early by some crazy on the window. Oh, and they have a lot of pretty birds in their garden. We were on a motorcycle and the parking was fine. We had use of the fancy facility (pool, etc.). The grapefruit juice was the best that I have ever had and breakfast was included in the rate. The staff was very friendly. The bartender made great margaritas. Keep an eye out for the geckos at night. We had a lot of fun here. I can't say enough about this place.

Room Tip: They'll be happy to show you the available rooms if you want to choose. I'd find one with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleAsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at La Casa del Mago, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thanks so much for your visit and your PERFECT comment.
Hasta la vista!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

La Casa del Mago is a part of the "Hotel Hacienda Uxmal", which again is part of the Mayaland hotels. The building where you will find "your" room, is not in the "hotel area", but only 30 meters away, close to the road - and after check-in you are allowed to use all the facilities of the "hotel area" - GREAT.

OBS: It is hard to find, if you as we did booked online and only recieved the address, which also appear here on this site. IT IS WRONG....when you look at the signs at the road, for every km. you drive you will find it close to km. 160 give and take some and NOT km. 78...!! We only succeeded because we asked some locals, who could tell us where to go. And when arriving at the site we were very much in doubt, as it didn't look like a hostel, but like a fancy HOTEL. But when we asked for the direction to our hostel, at the reception of Hotel Haciende Uxmal, they replied: You are at the right spot.

The name: La Casa del Mago is actually on the building apart from the hotel, but when you arrive just after sundown, you can't tell anything - it is absolutely dark.

We were lead to our room in the big building at the road side, and found a nice room with the things that we expected when booked. It is not at the pool side or close to the bar, but to us it didn't matter. We changed to our swim gear, and walked to the nice pool area and used it until 11 pm. after our dinner at the hotel.

It is not a room with kitchen or fridge, so you have to eat in one of the small towns close before arriving, or else just go for the cheap pasta or salad in the restaurant. Bring your own drinks, like we did, and enjoy a lovely tequila at the pool. Cheap, cheap, cheap - in very nice surroundings.

The waiters were very friendly and gave us ice and lime for our own drinks.... Give a small tip and you will be treated like a hotel guest.

The hotel/hostel is only 5 minutes away from the main entrence to the Uxmal ruins - if you walk - and 2 minutes if you drive ! Great location and would love to go back.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vennekilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at La Casa del Mago, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

What a nice and truthful review. Thank You !
Great coverage for the first review ever of what is actually the original guesthouse near the temples of Uxmal, that open it's doors in the days of my great grand parents. It was used to house the archeologists that consolidated the temples at Uxmal & the Puuc Region throughout the first half of the XX century. Only the venerable, original Hacienda (1673) was open before what is now La casa del Mago. We just remodel the Casa and re opened it recently. Thanks again. Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uxmal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
0.9 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
58 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Pickled Onion B&B / Restaurant
8.5 mi away
The Flycatcher Inn B&B Boutique Hotel Uxmal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Mago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mago

Address: Main Street 2 | Km 78 Antigua Carretera Mérida-Campeche, Santa Elena Yucatán, Uxmal 97890, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Uxmal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Uxmal
Price Range: £45 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa del Mago 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa del Mago is an affordable hotel with a prime location, just 200 meters from the entrance to the archaeological site of Uxmal. Accommodations at La Casa del Mago come in the form of four comfortable guests rooms with single (King size bed), double and triple bed occupancy. Guests are welcome to enjoy continental breakfast that is served every morning from 7 to 9 am, beautiful gardens and outdoor activities. Bike rental, bird watching and horseback tours available on site. A bus stop is located next to the property that take guests to Merida or Campeche, a convenient and easy way for guests to travel around the Yucatan Peninsula. The B&B hotel was the home that hosted the archaeologists that reconstructed the archaeological site of Uxmal. It is located on the grounds of the Hotel Hacienda Uxmal and was completely remodeled in 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your La Casa del Mago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing