We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent location for visiting the ruins at Uxmal, as it's just a 5 minute walk to get there. If you want to be really close however stay at The Lodge where you don't have to cross the highway to get to the park. The hotel is nicely styled and has a beautiful pool next to a patio and bar. We visited in Spring but it was still warm enough that a dip in the pool was very welcome. We were given a complimentary home made lemonade on check-in which was also appreciated. The room was spacious, including the bathroom. It had a big spa bath. The wifi is good and free and was available in (most of) our room as well as the public areas. We had dinner at the Lodge but they were happy for us to join the hotel buffet for dessert for 60 pesos each. The breakfast buffet was extensive. There were a few negatives. They insisted on taking cash in the bar, rather than charging our drinks to our room. One of the groups in the hotel was still being noisy after 10 pm and we could hear everything in our room. There was a slight damp odour coming from the bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here two nights and loved it! The beautifully groomed grounds, tiled hallways and Mexican furniture take you back to a different era. Our room (#204) had a huge bathroom and spacious bedroom with charming wooden furniture (that's cuter than it is comfortable.) Its location right across the street from the ruins was perfect--we were the first to enter the ruins in the morning, and were able to come back to rest before returning for the evening light/sound show.

We had dinner both nights at the hotel--the food was fine but not memorable. What did stand out was how slow the service was. The waiters were friendly but seemed to take forever to bring a menu or a cup of coffee, or the cream for the coffee, etc.(and not like all the other places we've eaten in Mexico.)

The location, the beautiful grounds, the old-style charm of the rooms and the price make this the perfect place to visit Uxmal and the rest of the Puuc Route ruins!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

For over 340 Years the Hacienda Uxmal has catered to the who is who in the world and we are delighted that you to have found our Hacienda to be a Lovely, soothing hotel! Muchas Gracias!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Review Hacienda Uxmal

It was much better than I expected given some bad reviews and I enjoyed my stay ( one night) The grounds are not anything like as magnificent as Mayaland in Chichen Itza. I could have stayed there for a week happily. Hacienda Uxmal was very good for a night to visit Uxmal
This is an excerpt from my journal when I was there.

Here I am in Uxmal. I read some of bad reviews about it, but decided to risk it because I wanted to be right beside Uxmal ruins and the Lodge which is only 300 yards closer was three times the price .The queen stayed here and princess Grace and Jackie Kennedy. It has seen better days, though. It is owned by Mayaland and I imagine people expect it to have the same standards and are drawn by the kudos of it's one time guests. The trouble is it wasn't a pretty building to start with and it hasn't aged gracefully. I can't see the queen dipping her royal toe over the threshold now.I like it though. Where I am sitting now is charming - on the first floor balcony outside my room with beautiful tiles on the floor, rocking chairs to sit on and vases of parrot flowers on every table, overlooking a lawn and trees. it is still early in the day and the cleaners are bustling about with armfuls of towels. Little yellow birds flit in and out of the arches. Check in isn't until three. I wandered around for a while. Many of the buildings are simply deserted. There was a games room - empty and another large gathering room - empty, though high season has just ended, so that might be why. they have a somewhat derelict feel, though. The central core of the hotel is still quite gracious, but outside the centre, it quickly runs to seed and the entrance is just a dusty coach park. it doesn't look inviting in the least. .wifi doesn't work in my room but it is very pleasant and private here one the balcony.The swimming pool doesn't look as inviting as other places I have stayed, too exposed and in need of refurbishment, but there are people using it and they seem happy.

The staff are all very pleasant and helpful, especially the receptionist.

I ate dinner in the hotel and It wasn't particularly fancy but I enjoyed it.

my only complaint is that I had to buy water from the minibar again, same as at Mayaland in Chichen Itzá, which I find mean - even though it's only a question of 70 pesos for a couple of bottles. It hasn't happened in any other hotel I have been in.

Value for money was very good. , I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We loved the Hacienda Uxmal!! Everything about it was perfect and large. Perfect location right across the street from the Uxmal Ruins (which are a must-see), perfect room (we are a family of 3 so it was a luxury for us to have a giant hotel room with gorgeous mexican furniture and a spa-like atrium bathroom), perfect, large pool to swim laps in or relax in the jungle atmosphere, perfect food (we had the bbq buffet), and perfect staff (kind and helpful).
We stayed 2 nights but wish we could have stayed longer, because there is so much to see in the area and this is a comfortable and centrally located place to site see.
We drove here from Celestun (another must see) which only took about 2 hours. We went to Grutas de Calcehtok one day (the experience of a lifetime that you could never do in the United States, {I will write a review of them too. The guides are unbelievable}), and the Uxmal ruins another day.
We have been to the Yucatan many times but had never been to this part of the area. We are definitely returning to see more of the area. Even if you don't site-see, this hotel is a truly lovely place in which to relax and get away from it all.
As other reviewers said, there are no phones or clocks in the rooms but why in the world does that matter? I am positive that if you really needed to get in touch with someone or needed help that one of the many kind workers would assist you. The nice people there even let me use their computer to make a reservation for elsewhere in Mexico!

Room Tip: We had the "Caroline Kennedy" superior room and loved it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you so much for your FANTASTIC review ! Coming from Hawaii to explore the Yucatan... Bravo ! You covered the grounds! Temples, caves... wow! We really enjoyed having you with us and we look forward to serving you again! Until then, safe and happy travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The hotel is more for catering to groups than the individual traveller. The tours come crashing in at dinner time and if you are eating on the terrace you can watch the big bus arrival, tourist and suitcase unloading. Not the best ambience. Food was OK, but the service was awful.
Room was great, same for the grounds and pool. Ruins were great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler667011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

No, Hacienda Uxmal traditionally caters to individuals. We do have small groups from time to time, after all, we only have 62 rooms and suites at the Hacienda! So yes, we are a beautiful, historic (1673) one of a kind place in this world, that as you can read from other comments makes our patrons truly happy. We are Sorry that you are not one of them. Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a tour of the Yucatan Peninsular. It was an upgrade as the hotel we were due to stay in was not open - so glad that we were upgraded as this was a superb place to stay - it sight of the Uxmal archaeological site, yet peaceful. Our room was superb, with a massive bed, a huge bathroom and all the little extras like a plate of little cakes left in our room. What luxury to be able to swing in a hammock after several hours of exploring! Food was second to none and we were treated like royalty. The pools were never busy and there were always sunbeds available. All the staff were charming and could not do enough to make sure our visit was to our satisfaction.

Room Tip: Just relax and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

What a great review ! Thank you so much ! We loved the fact that you had such a wonderful time !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We went to the ruins in Uxmal and I heard the the Hacienda Uxmal was outstanding....and it was better than that!!! I got the superior room with a huge patio overlooking the pool, jardins, dance floor, etc. And, the staff even served us dinner on the outdoor patio...food was superb!!!
I'll go back.
George Friedrich
Arkansas

Room Tip: Queen Elizabeth and Prince Phillip's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Yes, come back soon ! You'll experience a new cacao and chocolate museum that is being built next to our 1,000 acre grounds and the caves at Loltun, which are being re fitted with special lighting effects. WE LOOK FORWARD TO BEING YOUR HOST AGAIN ! Muchas Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uxmal
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
24.2 mi away
Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Temozon Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
57 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Puuc
Hotel Puuc
#1 of 1 in Oxkutzcab
35 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#2 of 2 in Ticul
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum

Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Uxmal | km 78 Antigua Carretera Mérida-Campeche, Santa Elena Yucatán, Uxmal 97890, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Uxmal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Price Range: £73 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Uxmal, Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum is the world's first hotel hacienda. Completely remodeled in 2002, and constantly up-dated,rooms overlook a central pool surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens and graceful palm trees, set in a working plantation with many kilometers of forest trails for walking, jogging, horseback and bicycle riding. All rooms have a terrace or a balcony. This delightful resort of contemporary colonial architecture is a favorite of royalty, world personalities and heads of state. The new Chocolate Museum neighbors our extensive gardens. Our location is ideal as a base from which to visit Yucatan's major attractions. Less than i hour driving time from Merida & only 40 minutes from Merida International Airport. Please contact us for transportation options & information. We have a money back guarantee that we are the best resort in the Uxmal area, Kindly contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Uxmal
Uxmal Hacienda Hotel
Hacienda Uxmal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing