We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We spent one night here and wished we could stay longer. Our large room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. We had trouble with the shower system and the problem was rectifed within minutes of our complaint even though it was 11pm. We had diiner at the hotel and found the service good. Unfortunately we didn't get around to using the pool but it did look appealing. We were with a small tour group otherwise we would have stayed longer. Only a short walk to the archaeological site.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

You made a common mistake.... staying for just a couple of nights... THERE IS SO MUCH TO DO AND LEARN in this central part of Yucatan: Convents, Grottos, Mayan villages with great shopping for hand made artifacts, clothing ... I could write a book on the subject.. all at unbelievable prices !

So yes, next time you come.... we look forward to having you with us for about a week.

Until then, Safe and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

Hotel Hacienda Uxmal is at an unbeatable location. It is literally across the street from the Uxmal ruins. Park your car, check into the hotel, and walk across the street to tour an awesome, fantastic Mayan site.
We booked our room well in advance on the Internet, and prepaid. Perhaps because we booked so early, we got a big discount on the price - just $173 US dollars for two nights. I thought that was a bargain price for such a nice hotel.
We ate two breakfasts in their restaurant, just 248 pesos for the two of us to enjoy their hearty breakfast buffet. We also ate one dinner there for 291 pesos (we didn't order any alcohol).
Everyone working at the hotel was friendly, even if not every one spoke English. The grounds of the hotel are nicely manicured, the pool is nice, our room (Room 208) was large with a working air conditioner.
We used this hotel as a base for checking out the Puuc Route - to see the Mayan ruins of Kabah, Sayil, Labnah and Mayapan - it was a long day, but definitely worth doing.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Nice Indeed! Your fantastic review highlights some key points, price/quality ratio among them. Thank you for mentioning it! Rare is our guest that makes a point of this true fact. I, like you, believe we are one of the great travel bargains in the world today.
One reason is that we have been a family owned and operated hotel for 340 years. Another is that the property is fully paid for. With Mexico's extremely high interest rates our fellow hoteliers are struggling and have to charge much higher rates just to get by.
We look forward to being your host again !
Until then, safe and happy travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of the Yucatan Explorer tour ( Tomson) The tour is amazing and this stop over was very much an important part of it. The hotel was beautiful, peaceful and relaxing but what made it most enjoyable was the staff.We were treated like royality ( especially difficult as vegetarians since a lot of the food is meat based) They prepared us some fantastic meals. I cannot speak highly enough of this oasis in the sun.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

What a nice, beautiful review !
You were smart to take the Yucatan Explorer tour. It is a marvelous experience, as you mention, for it allows for a thorough visit to the most significant places in Yucatan.
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review !
We look forward to your next visit. Safe and Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stay in this hotel for one night during my Yucatan trip. The hotel was located in the woodland and just beside the road. It is not inside the Uxmal site, but It is still walkable to the ruins site. Uxmal ruins site was just across the road (inside The Lodge Uxmal). As this hotel is in a remote area then you won't find any convenience shop or café surrounding the resort. You are staying in the middle of nowhere. You depend all your meals inside the hotel. Rooms were spacious but the furniture was quite old and the bathroom need immediate renovation. Water power was really weak. The rooms do not have coffee and tea making facility. No complimentary water provided but you can get water from the refrigerator for a fee. WIFI is free but just at lobby area. The restaurant was good and they have the opened dining area facing the main road. The swimming pool was small and not really tempting. This hotel is suitable for honeymoon couple or old couple who look for nice environment. The hotel has just two floor and for safety reason,it is better to ask for second floor.

Room Tip: Choose a room at second floor and facing the woodland (at the back of hotel). First floor rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HARTONO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My husband and I have just returned from the Hotel Hacienda Uxmal and I cannot tell you how wonderful it was. It was so peaceful. Our room was amazing with a 2 person jacuzzi. The view from our room was perfect. We looked over the gardens and flowers. We could hear birds singing each morning. We spent the days around the pool and eating at the hotel restaurant as well as nearby restaurants. The food we ate was delicious! We stayed for 3 nights and the manager was telling us most people only stay for 1 night. That would be a mistake. The calm you experience during this stay is something you will want to enjoy for more than a day or two. I really recommend this hotel and the ruins are great! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nova Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

You live in the neighborhood. We really would love to pamper you again!
Come back soon!! Thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at the Hacienda for 4 nights as part of a Thompsons Mayaland Tour - what a beautiful hotel. The rooms are built around a central pool and the atmosphere can only be described as "colonial". If this hotel was in India, one could imagine a Raj staying here. What with the dawn chorus and a wookpecker outside our bedroom window - perfect. We struck up a relationship with William, the restaurant manager who made us feel so welcome at meal times always coming to say hello and asking about our day. The food here was excellent. As part of our tour we ate at lunchtimes at the Lodge and were quite surprised when Michael stopped at our table for our usual chat. I don't think we realised the hotels were actually connected and William was manager at both restaurants. I think the icing on the cake was our last night at the hotel. When William realised it was our last night, he said he would do a special meal for us, even asking where we would like to eat - the Lodge or the Hacienda. As we had eaten all our evening meals at the Hacienda, we opted for the Lodge. WHAT A MEAL!! When we arrived, a table had been set up outside for us and we were presented with what can only be described as a banquet. Without doubt this was a perfect end to our time in the hotel and the memory will last forever. Thank you William.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelJ353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

What a lovely series of comments! THANK YOU !
The Hacienda Uxmal has been the focus of the love and dedication of generations of Barbachano family members who treasure this noble land and lovely building. It has been in the family for 340 years. Your observations fill our hearts and nurture our minds to continue to polish this gem.
MUCHAS GRACIAS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here so that our tour party was close to the Mayan site for a visit the following day. Because of the location there is nothing else around, which for 1 night was fine, and it did mean a peaceful and quiet stay. The rooms were excellent with the blocks built around a central garden and pool, with a bar that stayed open at night. Free use of a computer and wifi was available. The food in the restaurant was good and the buffet breakfast excellent.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Visaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

Thanks for your visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uxmal
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
24.2 mi away
Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Temozon Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
57 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Puuc
Hotel Puuc
#1 of 1 in Oxkutzcab
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Mago
La Casa del Mago
#1 of 1 in Uxmal
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum

Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Uxmal, Uxmal 97840, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Uxmal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Price Range: £74 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Uxmal, Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum is the world's first hotel hacienda. Completely remodeled in 2002, and constantly up-dated,rooms overlook a central pool surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens and graceful palm trees, set in a working plantation with many kilometers of forest trails for walking, jogging, horseback and bicycle riding. All rooms have a terrace or a balcony. This delightful resort of contemporary colonial architecture is a favorite of royalty, world personalities and heads of state. The new Chocolate Museum neighbors our extensive gardens. Our location is ideal as a base from which to visit Yucatan's major attractions. Less than i hour driving time from Merida & only 40 minutes from Merida International Airport. Please contact us for transportation options & information. We have a money back guarantee that we are the best resort in the Uxmal area, Kindly contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Uxmal
Uxmal Hacienda Hotel
Hacienda Uxmal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing