We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a fairy-tale or in the movie.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Certificate of Excellence
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Like a fairy-tale or in the movie.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is one of the two best hotels on Yucatan by my opinion. The time has stopped there in colonial period and only TV sets in rattan wardrobes, automobiles parked outside, guests' clothes and drinking bar contents wake you up and remind it's 21st Century yet.
Smashing Mexicam food served by hotel restaurant taste excellent and by accompanying Mexican music sung and played unplugged by local duo metabolism is much more smooth... and pleasant as well.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter, indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertSerafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Your gracious comments reflect upon the work of generations, both of family patrons and collaborators, some of whom we consider family as well, dedicated to the venerable Hacienda Uxmal you so much enjoyed. We all THANK YOU from our hearts. Souls that preceded us most be smiling at you as well !

We hope to have the honor of your visit again in the future.

Hasta la vista !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    222
    62
    11
    4
See reviews for
167
361
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

There is no doubt this hotel is beautiful and a huge welcome after a long drive from Merida but what makes it so special is it's staff. This was our second hotel from the same Mayaland brand and we were not disappointed. My only regret is that we were not able to stay longer.

From the moment we got there, everybody went out of their way to make us feel at home. We had been in Mexico for several days and everybody we met was wonderful but none could compare to the people in this hotel especially Luis Chan Herrara.

We met Luis at the Lodge Uxmal after our walk at Uxmal and he was our waiter. Since this is a sister hotel he was able to recommend things to do to the extent of arranging for a mexican sauna/steam experience. It is a definite to do. Luis was like our own personal guide during our short stay and it was fantastic! Thanks Luis for everything!

Side note: Plan to stay at minimum 2 days here, the ruins are especially spectacular and lack the crowd you see in Chichen. You can wander and not run into other people at times. Seeing the light show is great because of the stars in the sky at night but bring bug spray.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for staying at our resorts in both Chichen Itza and Fantastic UXMAL, and for your wonderful, objective and kind comments !

We hope that on your next visit, you stay with us at the Hacienda for an extended period. As you suggest, Uxmal needs at least two nights, but our surrounding area can easily occupy you for a week or more. Convents, the living villages of present day Maya people, Sayil, Labna, Kabah and other spectacular sites, and the not to be missed Caves of Loltun are but a few of the many wonders of this majestic area.

We look forward to having you with us again. Hasta la vista !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My daughter and I spent three nights at Hacienda Uxmal and frankly we shed a tear or two when it was time to leave. Not because of the lovely and spacious rooms or the mystical ruins of Uxmal, but because of the kindness and personal attention shown to us by the staff. On the evening we arrived, the host smiled broadly and said, “We’ve been waiting for you!” Then had us shown to our room which was tiled beautifully and featured a veranda fully half the size of the room surrounded by jungle foliage and flowered trees. The furniture is heavy wood and there are real plantation shutters which open onto the veranda. We overslept the next morning and missed breakfast. That evening at dinner, our host sought us out and said, “We missed you at breakfast. Did you have a nice day?” Later prior to going to the light and sound show we realized we had forgotten our insect spray and asked at the desk if they happened to have any. We were blown away by the response: “Sorry, we don’t have any here, but I can send someone to Muna to get some for you…” Muna is more than thirty minutes away! Of course we declined, but what an amazing offer. The food at the restaurant is delicious and we enjoyed the talented guitarists who played and sang each evening. The last day of our stay we discovered the still-warm, homemade Mexican pastries and wished we had thought to take some along with us when we left. If you want an excellent tour of the ruins, look for Jorge. He is warm and knowledgeable and sang for us at the ruins in the ancient Mayan tongue. Our tour with him was magical. We just can’t say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay- warm, genuinely friendly people and a room with taste, beauty and history.

Room Tip: Our room was the Princess of Monaco room it has a lovely veranda and view of the pool and grounds. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for your warm, kind.... simply and honestly beautiful review !
From our hearts... Muchas Gracias.

Jorge your guide and all of us at our historic Hacienda wish you safe travels and a prompt, happy return to your Casa in Yucatan. Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Progreso, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

The ruins at Uxmal are such a different experience from those at Chichen Itza - peaceful, uncrowded, with lots of trees that provide shade and house many different species of birds. The Hotel Hacienda Uxmal is a perfect base from which to explore Uxmal. We too had Jorge as a guide and were very pleased with his knowledge of Mayan mythology and his entertaining singing. The grounds at the hotel are wonderful - great pool perfect for relaxing and listening to the bird sounds. For a bit of extra luxury, request a room with a king-size bed (matrimonial). There are only a few of them and they each have different special features. Our room, 338, was on the 3rd floor and had two fabulous picture windows overlooking the fields. Our friends in room 106, had stained glass windows and a jacuzzi tub for two - a true "honeymoon suite"!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SperanzaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
True and kind comments than, like your visit, are greatly appreciated!

All of us at the Hacienda look forward to your return. Muchas gracias.

Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We ventured inland to see the ruins not over-run by tourists not knowing what we would find in the way of accommodations. This hacienda is beautiful. The staff was gracious and attentive. Thankfully the restaurant was excellent and is the only one for miles. The room was simple but well equipped with newly renovated bathroom. English is not the default language here (like so many of the resorts now) but everyone was friendly and helpful and our very limited Spanish was just fine.

Room Tip: Be prepared for bird noise - which I found wonderful but might be annoying to others. There are many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatMellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Coming from Beautiful Colorado your remarks have special meaning!

Thanks for your visit. We all look forward to seeing you again. Until then, may you always enjoy safe and happy travels and adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Progreso, Mexico
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just one night here to take some friend on their first visit to Uxmal and the Pu'uc Route the next day. An incredibly friendly and helpful staff, beautiful pool and grounds. Take time to wander around and read (in English or Spanish) about many of the explorers of Yucatan, as well as some of their more famous guests (Queen Elizabeth, Princess Grace and Jacqueline Kennedy to name a few).
We were in room 338 which has the widest plate glass window I have ever seen in ANY hotel room. When a violent wind/rainstorm swept thru the region it was like watching it in a wide-screen theater.
Restaurant food and service were excellent as well. All this for far less than a 5-star hotel should be. Enjoy!

Room Tip: There are very few king-bed rooms, and so these tend to be special ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sierradave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for visiting with us and for your kind, fair and exiting commentaries!

Your mention of the panoramic window is music to me. I designed it and had it installed for the very effect you mention. Muchas Gracias!

We all look forward to having the honor and pleasure of serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were two couples driving thru the Yucatan. We arrived in the afternoon and enjoyed cocktails on our spacious veranda. In the evening we arranged for an English speaking tour guide for following morning. Afterwards we enjoyed a delicious dinner. The fish stuffed with chaya (similar to spinach) with a lime sauce was the best fish I have tasted in my world travels. Early the next morning we had the most amazing experience. We were surprised by a traditional Mayan breakfast in a typical Mayan hut called "la choza". Hot chocolate was served, fresh local fruits and hand made tortillas with eggs cook inside and refried black beans on the side. We then went to the Uxmal ruins and was met by our guide Jorge. He speaks 7 languages including Maya and was one of the best tour guides we have ever had. He was very knowledgeable, entertaining and even sang for us. He made the tour outstanding. All staff members were helpful, polite and went beyond our expectations. This is the way to visit Uxmal!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichenuxmal, Owner at Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for your visit and your kind remarks!

We are delighted that you so highly rate your experience while with us. No greater reward for the efforts of our collaborators. You live in the Peninsula; we hope you will visit us often.
La Hacienda Uxmal es su casa.

Hasta la vista !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uxmal
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Uxmal
The Lodge at Uxmal
#2 of 3 in Uxmal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Uxmal Resort Maya
23.4 mi away
Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Posada el Jardin
Posada el Jardin
#1 of 2 in Ticul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Puuc
Hotel Puuc
#1 of 1 in Oxkutzcab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa del Mago
La Casa del Mago
#1 of 1 in Uxmal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum

Property: Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum
Address: In the heart of the archaeological park of Uxmal, Uxmal 97840, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Uxmal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Uxmal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Uxmal, Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum is the world's first hotel hacienda. Completely remodeled in 2002, and constantly up-dated,rooms overlook a central pool surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens and graceful palm trees, set in a working plantation with many kilometers of forest trails for walking, jogging, horseback and bicycle riding. All rooms have a terrace or a balcony. This delightful resort of contemporary colonial architecture is a favorite of royalty, world personalities and heads of state. The new Chocolate Museum neighbors our extensive gardens. Our location is ideal as a base from which to visit Yucatan's major attractions. Less than i hour driving time from Merida & only 40 minutes from Merida International Airport. Please contact us for transportation options & information. We have a money back guarantee that we are the best resort in the Uxmal area, Kindly contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Uxmal Plantation & Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Uxmal
Uxmal Hacienda Hotel
Hacienda Uxmal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing