We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, economical and friendly ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Candelaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Candelaria
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, economical and friendly ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

This place is everything you could want in a hostel. Right on a lovely square and near Cenote Zaci and buses etc, with helpful and friendly staff. Bunks were good, toilets were pretty clean, near the Chichen Itza and Ek Balam transport and they have bikes for hire at very good rates to visit the surrounding cenotes. Oh, and breakfast is included in the great jungle/garden out back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jachun87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    103
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
179
170
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I've stayed in Cancun, Tulum, Valladolid and Merida. This hostel is the best in my opinion. It's super clean and with a lovely garden you can relax during the hot afternoon. The breakfast is also fantasic. Staffs always smile and they're very willing to help. I stayed in Valladolid one more night because of it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hostel has pretty much everything a backpacker could ask for: it's super clean; there's decent water pressure with hot water; free breakfast, lockers in room.
The staff is friendly and they take the time to explain where things are in the city; they even give you a map on arrival and point the interesting landmarks. Ask them about the nearby hamburgesa (yes, that's hamburger) restaurant: excellent burger on charcoal + Mexican soft drink (that's with real sugar, none of that high-fructose corn syrup!)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YulLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

The hostel was great with two well equipped kitchens (one outside which was cool), awesome gardens with hammocks to relax in. Included breakfasts were really good too with fresh fruit with yoghurt, toast, cereal, coffee. They have bike hire too which is the perfect way to explore the area. When we arrived we spent half an hour chatting with the staff and they gave us plenty of great tips on what to do while we were there. The rooms were clean and you had a fan per person so it was never too hot.

Definitely recommend this hostel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gerad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Didn't really know what to expect, this place was really special, we had a room with the shared showers, the room had a massive fan, a MAN fan. I popped in the dorms to check them out and looked good also. The gardens where really nice, a long narrow garden and in the middle is the kitchen, out doors. They also have a kitchen inside. They had hammocks at the very bottom of the garden to chill out in. The travellers here where really nice and its a chilled hostel to explore the small city and the cenotes, they rent really well maintained bikes out, my gf is dutch so we did all the cenotes and city by bike which is really easy and the hostel has a good home drawn map. Well worth the stay, also the breakfast inc is good, simple and healthy with real coffee!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

La Candelaria has been our best hostel stay while backpacking Mexico's Caribbean Coast(ish) over the past 2weeks. We came planning one night and stayed for 4, just because there is such a nice relaxed vibe to the place. The garners were great to relax in. The fully equipped outdoor kitchen and fridge was great to prepare meals. Breakfast included. And a big tv and movies in the common lounge to relax when it was raining. Rodrigio provided great info for local Cenotes and places to eat. Would stay again whenever in the area

Room Tip: Upstairs private room #5 has best privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights, in the dorms, and we had a good stay. The hostel has a great garden with kitchen in it, and plenty of space to hang out and mingle. The inside of the hostel also has a really nice interior, and there are plenty of travel guides and books for you to read if you like. Breakfast was okay too - cereals and breads, and lots of coffee. The only downside was that the dorms got a bit warm during the night. But then again we also had really wanted to get private rooms, but they were all booked when we got there, so make sure you make a reservation!!

Finally: don't believe the guy at the reception. He told us that the collectivo goes to the Chichen Itza ruins cheaper and faster. Not true: same price and a LOT slower (twice the time, almost one hour). He told us at 4pm that there were still collectivos going to the cenotes. Not true: we had to take a cab. He told us that the restaurant Conato had some nice local food. Not true: it was a total gringo restaurant (menu in English and all), and the food was horrible. He also has his priorities wrong: he let four people wait for check-in while he had an amicable chat with the guest in front of us, basically telling her tourist information for the entire region. He could've done that after checking us in, and I think he should've. We also met the owner though and he was very friendly and gave us some great advice.

Room Tip: Make a reservation (especially if you want a private room)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wazoozaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 14 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 14 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 14 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 14 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Guadalupe
Hotel Maria Guadalupe
#10 of 14 in Valladolid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#4 of 14 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Candelaria

Property: Hostel Candelaria
Address: Calle 35 | #201 F x 42 y 44, Parque de Candelaria, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Breakfast included *Wifi in common areas *Bikes for rent *Sheets, lockers, padlock and keys provided *Map of the town and complete touristic information *Ventilators in each room *Hot water 24 hours *Bbq area *Hammocks area *T.V room *Parking on the street *Amazing staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue La Candelaria Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing