We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right place to stay”
Review of Hostel Candelaria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Candelaria
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The right place to stay”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Clean, has what you need, friendly and comfortable. Stay for two nights or two weeks. Couples, families of all ages & sizes & young travelers are all an easy part of the mix here - no-one is out of place.

I won't repeat the details of other reviews, but all the positive is accurate. Not to mention Valladolid has a variety of what makes the Yucatan itself.

Looking for a time to return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    103
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
188
173
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hostel had been recommended to me by a friend who stayed there a few years ago, and I was glad we selected it. However, my excellent rating reflects this place in comparison to other hostels I have stayed at; it does not mean there were no issues.

We had reserved a private room, but on the day we arrived the morning desk guy had overlooked our reservation and had rented out all the private rooms, so we spent the first night in the dorm, but they did give us that night for free. Wifi works in the lobby only, but it is kind of good to not be able to fall into the internet too easily. They gave us a map when we checked in, with groceries, beer, favorite restaurants, and location of transportation marked on it, which was very helpful. Having free purified water was very convenient, as was coffee and breakfast. Breakfast was mighty low on protein, however, the little bit of yogurt coating the fruit was it. And if you rent the bikes, check them out well before you leave. I got one with a slow tire leak that would have left me stranded 15 km from Valladolid, but for the helpful man with a bike pump in a little village. When I returned the bike and told him about the leak, the hostel guy said "Oh I am sorry" and hung the bike back up, ready to rent out again with the leaky tire.

These complaints are all typical hostel issues, though. Overall, the place was quiet, very well located, clean, and convenient. And very inexpensive. If I ever return to Valladolid, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Just a few blocks from the bus station and the main square, this little hostel cannot be beat for the quality, price, and location. We paid $25 for a lovely double occupancy room. The staff was very helpful in giving us a local map with times and prices for various local attractions. Wifi only really worked in the lobby area, and the small tv only got one infomercial channel, but who cares. Bolillos and yogurt included in the morning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This hostel was the best hostel we have ever walked into.

We were recommended La Candelaria by a local police man - and boy was it the best recommendation by far!
We were only meant to stay for 4 nights and ended up being there for 7 :) plus we also stopped in for a few more nights on the way back from Merida :)

It was clean, the layout was great - two kitchens make it easy when it comes to cook up time!
Whoever designed the hostel was definitely well travelled and knew exactly how to make this hostel perfect!

The workers there are great and super helpful!
And the breakfast is delicious :)

The only downside is that the bells from the nearby church go off at 630 in the morning - which is perfect if you need to be up early, but not so nice if you are wanting a sleep in :)

Also it would be nice if the wifi reached to the outdoor area, but other then that it was perfect!

We can not recommend this place highly enough - and of coure Valladolid as well :)

Thanks guys for your hospitality - we really appreciate it and can't wait to visit again :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

A great little hostel with great communal spaces, with inside and out. Sofa room and reception seating areas with wifi, indoor and outdoor kitchens, hammocks at the end of the garden, cushioned snugs and tables and chairs and benches under a leafy canopy. Great place to meet people. Mixed 8 bed dorm was a little stuffy and hot, despite the great attempt of many types of fans ! Showers had consistently hot water, and were pretty clean (some are outside-ish, under a big thatched roof with showers and loos with partition walls) Breakfasts was bread and spreads, fruit, yogurt and cereal as well as hot and cold drinks. Nice chilled vibe, and great base for exploring surrounding areas and meeting interesting people

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank WorldMoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed a way-too-brief four nights in this hostel during our eight day trek across Quintana Roo and the Yucatan.

The hostel is perfectly located, just steps from a large public square, a few minutes' walk from a super market, the bus station, and a host of other great places that made our stay in Valladolid one of the highlights of our trip. (Our wandering the side streets led us to great fresh tortilla shops, a cheap and super-tasty grilled chicken joint, tons of photo ops--the worn yet colorful buildings made for some beautiful backdrops, and ample shopping for gifts.)

Other highlights: the grounds are beautiful, well-maintained, and super clean; there are two well-appointed kitchens (four gas burners, two fridges, and ample pots and utensils between them) that make for great spots to meet fellow travelers (we made friends from the UK, Germany, Russia, and Taiwan); the rooms (the private ones, at least) are airy and spacious; ample common areas to relax and meet people; incredibly friendly and helpful staff; two shared showers and toilets on the ground floor; strong wi-fi in the lobby area; a pair of built-in washboards and taps for doing laundry; and ample coffee available in the a.m. to kick start the inevitable day trips.

TIPS: If you're staying in the high-traffic bottom floor, bring ear plugs. Breakfast is included, but it amounts to fresh bread and fruit, so if you require something more substantial, stock up on fresh tortillas, eggs, beans and vegetables from the local super market and prep your own meals in the interior kitchen.

Overall, this is a great place is a really wonderful city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

That was a very good value for money. The people who work there are really friendly and full of information for things to do and how to do it. Not really common in Mexico, especially budget places, as people barely speak English.
Great common space to chill and meet other people too. Centrally located too. Price was maybe around 28$ for a private room for two.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamious0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Guadalupe
Hotel Maria Guadalupe
#10 of 15 in Valladolid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Candelaria

Property: Hostel Candelaria
Address: Calle 35 | #201 F x 42 y 44, Parque de Candelaria, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Breakfast included *Wifi in common areas *Bikes for rent *Sheets, lockers, padlock and keys provided *Map of the town and complete touristic information *Ventilators in each room *Hot water 24 hours *Bbq area *Hammocks area *T.V room *Parking on the street *Amazing staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue La Candelaria Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing