We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Of The Best Meals During A Month Stay In The Yucatan”
Review of Casa Italia

Casa Italia
Ranked #9 of 105 Restaurants in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$12
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Casa Italia was planned to be a welcoming place to have an small experience of Italy, managed and served by Italian owners with an authentic Italian food, wine, ice cream, coffee and wood-fire oven for hand made pizza. Located in the lovely park of Candelaria three blocks from city center is a real peaceful place to enjoy life. Info corner and free wireless internet.Monday-Saturday 6:30-11:30pm
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
461 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“One Of The Best Meals During A Month Stay In The Yucatan”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I am still catching up on reviews of our self guided bus tour through out the Yucatan, Feb 2011. I feel this review is still valid as the restaurant is still there & according to many reviews still serving wonderful Italian food.

I read the reviews on TA about this Italian restaurant tucked away on a back street in Valladolid.
So, after traipsing around the main square, we went in search of this restaurant. It was a bit difficult to find. All the while, my appetite for some delicious Italian food was growing. Finally, we found it! Wouldn't you know it? It was Monday & the restaurant was closed. How crushing! LOL

The next evening, we reappeared at their door.We were warm greeted & seated. We ordered some lovely Italian red wine to sip while waiting for our meals. I had focaccia. and Insalata Calabrese. My husband had pasta with mushrooms, prosciutto, & cream sauce.

The Casa Italia. It is reputed to have the best Italian food out side of Italy. It lived up to its reputation. It was one of the best meals that we had during our month stay in the Yucatan.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank condu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    58
    13
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Closed on Mondays”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Found the restaurant by a super cute park in a very non touristic part of town. Unfortunately we had not idea they are closed. Beware! They are closed on Mondays.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hghilzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Authentic Pizza in Mexico”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Wow, this is an Oasis in Mexico if you want a place to eat that takes you out of Mexico for a break, and we all have felt that sometime while in Mexico. While traveling a week around the Yucatan Peninsula, we were stopped waiting for a bus in this city and went out looking for a place to eat. Found this Authentic Italian Pizzeria within the park near the bus and a well known Hostel.

Wood fired pizza so good I thought I was in Italy, but the owner, who is Italian and married to a local, has such a charming place that you don't want to leave. Out door patio is just gorgeous with fountains, vines and a pool. They have amazing taste in music too. The detail is so refreshing down to the TV which is modern but incased in an antique gold frame. Owner hates TV but had to give in to the demand but only play black and white movies. Don't miss this jewel!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We were trully delighted to have found this place (thanks to TripAdvisor, of course). The setting is beautiful (a bit hard to find, but don't give up, it is worth it... it is not "on the street", the entrance is in the middle of the park), and the pizza was amazing. Some of the kids had pasta and it was also great. So, great wine, great pizza, great pasta, beautiful city... what more can you ask for?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious stop on the trip”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We sat outside and loved this place!! Great pasta and pizzas and very friendly staff! We were taken there by the owners of Casa Axis Mundi (great B & B in town) and had a very relaxing, easy going night of conversation. Beautifully decorated and delicious food!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Italia also viewed

 

Been to Casa Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing