We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little oasis..”
Review of Hotel Tunich Beh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tunich Beh
Reviewed 20 April 2012

So quaint and peaceful...located two blocks from the center and bus station on one of the prettiest streets in town...good price..superclean rooms with great water pressure..complimentary water....friendly staff..pretty little pool in a courtyard. We originally meant to stay just one night, but ended up staying two and would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgordonglassford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

This quiet and unassuming place is a gem in Valladolid. It has a perfect location just a couple blocks from the main square, with free and secure parking, too. We loved taking a dip in the pool after a long, hot day. The free continental breakfast was fine as well. The room was clean and relatively spacious. The staff was a bit young and their English wasn't perfect, but hey, it's Mexico. We will (hopefully) be back here someday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is a really peaceful and calm place right near the middle of town. The owners are very helpful and welcoming and it's really enjoyable to just chill out in their lovely courtyard.

The rooms are pretty basic and there can be a bit of noise from other rooms but there were no problems sleeping or anything. In the mornings there is a great buffet breakfast laid on with cereals, toast, fresh fruit, eggs, juices and tea and coffee whenever you want it. Wi-fi is also available.

The location is excellent. You can walk to everything easily. It's just two minutes to the bus station and the avenue of the friars, where hotel is located, is an great street to stroll along. There's a fantastic restaurant near the abbey at the other end of the street. A ten minute walk will take you there.

Valladolid itself is an excellent launching pad for Chichen Itza and you can there really early and beat the crowds - we did and almost had the place to ourselves for the first couple of hours. Also, the souvenirs are quite reasonable at the site itself surprisingly.

So if you don't mind the basic rooms (we didn't at all), then I would thoroughly recommend Tunich Beh.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My boyfriend and I just got home from Mexico and stayed at this hotel for one night. Originally we booked two nights at la Candelaria. Unfortunately, we found it to be a little too noisy. For the second night in Valladolid we asked one of our tour guides for another recommendation. I wish we had heard about this hotel in the first place because we really enjoyed our stay.

The room was very clean. The air conditioner worked well and wasn't noisy at all. The hotel was quiet and we had a great night's sleep before heading to Chichen Itza in the morning. The staff was so friendly and helpful. There was also a little parking lot in front.

In the morning they served a light breakfast that we enjoyed. We had hard boiled eggs, fruit and yogurt. There was also cereal, coffee and juice.

For what we paid (500 pesos) I think we got excellent value!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HTeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Great little place bang in the centre and very close to the bus station.
Set back from the road it's quiet and has a small garden, outside buffet breakfast area and a nice pool great for keeping your temperature down on a hot day.
Next to the pool are hammocks and chairs so you get a nice communal vibe with the other guests.

Rooms are very clean, spacious and have all the things you need.

It was great value for money with breakfast included.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stretcharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed at this small hotel just for a couple of nights in August, 2011. The location was perfect - within easy walking distance of the bus station and all the shops, restaurants, central square, etc. It was very quiet and tranquil. We had a big room with a nice bathroom and everything you needed for a comfortable stay. There is a small pool which we didn't try, but other people did and it seemed fine. There is a garden area with seating under cover - it was very hot. We only saw one member of staff, who was very pleasant. There was self-service breakfast provided within the price, which was fine. It was slightly spoiled, though, by the fact that we were provided with polystyrene bowls and plates. However, this did not detract from the overall lovely experience we had at this hotel. We would recommend this hotel, and will return if we go back to Valladolid.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaretjoe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Tunich Beh is a great value hotel in the heart of Valladolid. Large rooms, lovely pool, bright and colorful common spaces. Well located on the prettiest street in town, all the points of interest are within easy walking distance. Nice breakfast. Those with cars will appreciate the off-street parking. This place will appeal to the backpacker, families and older travelers.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalaloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tunich Beh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tunich Beh

Address: Calle 41a #204a Calzada de los Frailes, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Valladolid
Price Range: £48 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tunich Beh 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel, cosy, charming, comfortable, near downtown but quiet. Old house style, a place for people who want to relax and have resting nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Tunich Beh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing