We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”
Review of Hotel Tunich Beh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tunich Beh
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just in the right place to be quiet but only a few blocks from the ADO bus station and the main square. Friendly staff and plenty of space in a young looking business that will probably add more and more to its current simple appeal. Very good as a first stop over from Cancun.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed in that hotel for three nights and chose it because of the good evaluations on tripadvisor and booking, but we were a bit disappointed of the high ratings that the hotel has. We travelled with four people so we booked two rooms. One of the rooms was stinking really really bad and even having the windows open all the time didn't help much and all our stuff had a specific stink on afterwards.
Also we happened to be there when the weather was quite cold, but in one of the rooms there was no blanket, just two plaids with really small size and which were also stinking, because they were in the closed wardrobe. But considering that there was one big bed with one big linen to cover yourself during the night, it was not really possible to use those paids as blankets because they would move around. When we asked to get a blanket (since the other room had one (in our opinion)), the reception said that what we thought was a blanket was actually just decorational:) and instead of bringing a decent blanket they brought two more small plaids. So in one room it was cold to sleep in and in the other room we were glad we had the "decoration" to use as a blanket. Also the water in the pool seemed to be a bit dirty, the chairs next to the pool were also a bit dirty, so it wasn't really invinting to sit there and go for a swim. The location of the hotel was good and the noise from the streets didn't really get to the hotel rooms so much. So considering the price, it's a good place to stay, but they really should do something about the blankets and the smell in some of the rooms

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We greatly enjoyed our two nights at Tunich Beh. Contrary to other reviews, we found the staff very helpful and friendly. The buildings are lovely, quiet and very well appointed, it seemed very peaceful compared to the coast. Town is within easy walking distance. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. We also hired bikes from the hotel and cycled to some nearby cenotes which was easy and definitely worth doing.

We stayed here to visit Chichen Itza and it is close but we couldn't get a collective so had to go in a shared taxi, got a bus back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankie033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Good place. has gated parking. Offered OK breakfast, but seemed skimpy. Felt like they were on a tight budget with the amenities. Charming place. very average. Only concern was mattress has very hard. Very safe. walked in early morning all over the entire city. Front desk was very nice and hospitable and understanding with confusion of reservation with priceline. Close to Ek Balam and Chichen Itza for those with car. The hotel was very clean !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puravida1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Tunich Beh for 1 night in December. It was a modest hotel, but perfectly adequate. The hotel was a last minute selection because the hotel we had booked did not honor our reservation. Tunich was in a good location, convenient to the town square and restaurants. It was also up the street from an interesting chocolate shop and down the street from a free flowing tequila shop. We walked back from a local restaurant at night because the area seemed fairly safe. The main attraction we visited in Valladolid was Casa de los Venados - which is a private home and Mexican folk and modern art museum. The museum was well worth the visit. We made advanced reservations for the museum tour. The next day we visited the amazing ruins at Ek Balam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank skippyallegheny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The front desk staff were unfriendly which is unusual for Mexico not sure why. This seemed to rub off on other guests too? The grounds seem a bit rundown as did our room. Our kids really enjoyed the pool though. It is only two blocks from the main plaza, in a quiet location with plenty of parking. They provide an excellent breakfast in a nice setting. In all, I bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyandirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed for only 1 night in late November 2013, as an overnight between flying into Cancun and visiting Chichen Itza the next morning. Valladolid has a nice central square and surrounding shops and restaurants, and the Tunich Beh was only a short couple of blocks walk from the square -- a very safe walk, even at night. The hotel is in the Mayan style, very pretty with a nice interior courtyard. And they provide free off-street parking in their paved courtyard out front. The reception staff were friendly and had a decent amount of English, so that made it easy. The rooms (we had 2 for our family of 4) were both very clean, extremely quiet, and nicely decorated. Breakfast in the morning was fine -- included cooked-to-order eggs. We liked this hotel and we liked Valladolid as a place to stay for an early morning quick drive to Chichen Itza (to beat the tour buses.)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottandelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.3 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,415 reviews
0.3 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Marlene
Casa Marlene
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tunich Beh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tunich Beh

Address: Calle 41a #204a Calzada de los Frailes, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Valladolid
Price Range: £50 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tunich Beh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel, cosy, charming, comfortable, near downtown but quiet. Old house style, a place for people who want to relax and have resting nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Tunich Beh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing