We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely high end restaurant at comfortable prices”

Taberna de los Frailes
Ranked #18 of 105 Restaurants in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Calzada de los Frailes y el Convento de San Bernardino de Siena
Description: Renown Gourmet Maya Cuisine. Large wine selection. Tequila and Mezcal. Specialty cocktails. Excellent service in a most unique location and ambiance.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely high end restaurant at comfortable prices”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I say "high end" considering that Valladolid seems to be a tiny little town with a small amount of tourism, and not much to attract the big spending crowd. The restaurant is lovely and elegant, food was terrific, a very varied menu that included traditional Mayan dishes, and some more trendy dishes as well. Beautiful atmosphere - it was the restaurant I enjoyed most in Valladolid.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flamencodancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    118
    36
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
257 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Very special”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The food was excellent and the menu featured a number of items I had not seen elsewhere. We tried the sausage made by the owner's mother - delicious. Another nice surprise was the selection of Mexican wines. We found a very good red. The setting and atmosphere are lovely. It's a bit of a walk from the town square but quite doable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, our expectations were high”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Perhaps our expectations were too high, maybe it was an off night. There were not many other diners at the 6-7pm dinner hour on Thursday night. First of all, it was the first and only very weak and overly sweet margarita that my girlfriend in all of her many experiences in Mexico. I had to take myself to the bar to the kids ("bartenders"?) standing around to get it fixed. The food was fine, but we really expected to be wowed, we found combinations to be strange and the dessert of banana pudding was too cloyingly sweet . The Mexican "fusion" didn't really work out that well for us.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fidel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place good food”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Its a very beautiful and nice place, the service is good. The food was good, and tasty. Very recommended...............

Helpful?
1 Thank Ortal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a wonderful relaxing dining experience at the Taberna de Los Frailes. All of our meals were well prepared with fresh tasting ingredients. The service was very professional, allowing us plenty of time to enjoy the lovely evening in their garden.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taberna de los Frailes also viewed

 
Valladolid, Yucatan
 

Been to Taberna de los Frailes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing