We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very dark rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
hotel colonial la aurora
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We’ve stayed here for three nights. La Aurora Hotel is located in the heart of Valladolid and everything within the town is easy to reach. It rents bicycles for 10 pesos per hour if you don’t wanna walk through the town or reach one of the beautiful cenotes around 8km outside of Valladolid.
The reception is friendly and helpful. Although they only speak Spanish they’re trying their best to explain everything to you. We booked a Junior Suite which was occupied the first night so we stayed in a Standard room. It looked a bit old and could use some renovation but it was clean. However, the rooms are very dark and only have a little window. You have two choices: to leave the door open to have some daylight or turn on the lights, even during the day. The second day they moved us to the Junior Suite (only difference to the Standard room is the size of the room + you’ll find a fridge, an extra table and chair and a hairdryer). There is no restaurant in the hotel but they have a beautiful roof-deck where you can enjoy your breakfast. The pool is nice to refresh but you won’t find sunbeds around it. Try to get a room on the first floor away from the pool cause it can be very noisy downstairs. During our stay a group of around 20 teenagers spent two nights in the hotel and played in the pool until after midnight. I was a bit disappointed that the reception did not say anything to them as the pool usually closes at 9pm to ensure the peace of the other guests.
We enjoyed our stay but would probably choose something else next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyKitty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

The room was huge, actually - had two beds, and worked for our trip. the air conditioning worked and was necessary. They also had a mini-fridge and a big bathroom. The room and hotel itself were not spectacular but definitely a good stay and very cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This hotel is really nice, especially for the price. The internet was really fast (5mbs) and stable, though it did cut out very briefly a couple times.

The rooms are large, there was a brand new refrigerator, a safe, and the bathroom was really nice as well.

We took the bus from Cancun and it's only a few blocks from the bus station (or where you get off the bus when it's close), very close to the main square. As of this writing (April 2013) the map indicator on TripAdvisor is incorrect. It's on 42 & 35, two blocks north of the main square.

It is kind of loud given the layout with the pool in the middle, but just know that going in.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Valladolid.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My friends and I stayed at La Aurora for a weekend and it was love at first sight. The hotel has personality and the tiles and decoration give it a true Yucatan's flavor. The location couldn't be best, at only 2 blocks from the main square, and the pool, although it may seem a bit "public", feels great after a long hot day at Ek Balam, Chichén or any of the nearby archeological sites. It's a great place to stay for a few days while getting to know the roundabouts. Next time I'll ask for a room overlooking the pool, though. Our room, which overlooked the main road, was a bit noisy at night, so was our friend's. It looked like the roof terrace will be open soon and that will provide with a great resting place too. I'd just missed not having the option of having breakfast at the hotel but I will definitely go back, because of the location, parking space, cool spatious rooms, internet conexion, pool and so on.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the main road at weekends. Air conditioner is great, powerful in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ithacana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced and just a short walk to the town square. It has a beautiful pool and nice lounge on the roof. The rooms were clean and the Internet was fast. It would have been perfect except for the roosters that started making noise in the early hours of the morning. They woke us at 4am and we simply couldn’t get back to sleep. We went to the roof the next day and it turns out that you can see the rooster cages from the roof.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at "la Aurora" for 3-4 nights visit to Valladolid. This hotel is 2 blocks south of the main square and a 5 block walk to Cenote Zaci. The center courtyard has a ground level pool and 2 dipping pools can be found rooftop. The rooms are large with a large bathroom and tastefully decorated with period furniture. A pivate taxi took us to Ek Balam, ChitchenItza and 3 other cenotes for the day

Room Tip: room 6 is at the end of the hall and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSarahDelaware_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, perfect for my needs which were: quiet, close to bus station, clean. The staff was friendly, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean and came with AC, a fan, TV and a safe. Even tho' it overlooked the pool, it was quiet. I never heard any noise from the street, nor from the town square which was hosting a huge (and very loud) festival. They let me check in early, but even if my room hadn't been ready it looked like they had a place to store luggage.

I knew i wouldn't be spending much time at the hotel so i didn't care about extras like pools, courtyards, decor. That said, the pool and courtyard looked great- I would have been fine hanging out there for a few hours. Less so the room. It was perfectly fine, but basic and a bit dim due to just one window that overlooked a shaded courtyard.

i spent a long time deliberating between a place like the Colonial la Aura or a place like the Casa Tia Micha (more $$ but absolutely beautiful grounds- i didn't see any of the rooms, so can't comment on them). In the end, i decided on the budget option and was very happy. I spent some of the money saved on dinner at Taberna de los Frailes (yum!).

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor and a few rooms in from the street (interior). Very quiet despite the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGinPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#6 of 15 in Valladolid
1,479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zaci
Hotel Zaci
#11 of 15 in Valladolid
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hotel colonial la aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotel colonial la aurora

Address: 42 # 192 X 35 Y 37, Valladolid 97782, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range: £28 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — hotel colonial la aurora 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your hotel colonial la aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonial La Aurora Hotel Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing