We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”

Xkeken Tourstation & Jungle Park
Ranked #2 of 7 Tours in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Great time here and the other cenote. We went at 930am and were the only ones in there which was great. Only word of caution is beware of some of the people selling outside. We got lifecycles from one and he didn't give change, then tred to tell us we had been longer than an hour after 20 minutes and finally wouldn't let us use the jacket for the second cenote nearby unless we left our passports or bank cards with him obviously we didn't do that! Other than the people selling outside the cenote s are lovely.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank C_Crane_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    248
    73
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
374 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This cenote is underground: a large pool with stalactites hanging from the overhead rocks and a hole in the rock 'ceiling' where sunlight shines down into the water. Many people were swimming when we visited and it was very peaceful & rather otherworldly. Caution: there's a steep and sometimes slippery stairway down to the pool, but it's well worth the descent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing but commercialized”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Lots of people in the afternoon so I recommend going first thing in the morning. We took a cab from town, it was cheap. Stop beside the train tracks on the way and get a picture of the jungle down the tracks - really cool.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rocklawnmower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

If your a traveller run for the hills this cenote has been transformed into a Disney attraction cables line the walls and a horrid array of lights change colour every few minutes. The formations are OK but the development of the cave really takes away from the experience. There are many other far superior cenotes in the region without then tour bus hordes. On then other hand if your a package tourist from Cancun or on cruise ship you will likely love the place for all it's tackiness

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Went late did it in 45 mins”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Ended up arriving at 3:30pm thinking we would have lots of time to go round until 5:30 but unfortunately site was due to close at 4:30. Good news was we were allowed in for free at 3:50pm.

We hired a guide for $400mx it worth every penny as he gave us a whistle stop tour of sites. I know many people would prefer to take a long time appreciating each aspect of the heritage site, and I definitely could have, but the lack of time really concentrated the experience and left us wanting even more.

There was only two of us and the guide and it meant we got a really private experience. He showed so many amazing things from the engravings to the amazing acoustics of the site. Make sure to stand in front of the steps of the castila (so your back is facing towards the cenote) then clap your hands! Amazingly the sound the echoes back is that of a bird call, truly amazing site.

Would love to go back, much more than a box ticking event but make sure you get a guide and go in a small group.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Berti_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xkeken Tourstation & Jungle Park also viewed

Valladolid, Yucatan
Valladolid, Yucatan
 
Valladolid, Yucatan
Valladolid, Yucatan
 

Been to Xkeken Tourstation & Jungle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing