We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Tour, Friendly Staff & Tasty Chocolate”
Review of Cacao

Cacao
Ranked #3 of 7 Tours in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: We are the only chocolate factory in the entire state of yucatan who rescue the mayan traditions of the cacao is for us an effort to be show to the people who visit us, and we are glad to share with them how cacao is convert in chocolate in a natural organic way. we give a free tour and free degustation.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Free Tour, Friendly Staff & Tasty Chocolate”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The staff give a short free tour on the history of Mayan chocolate making which includes information, artefacts, & a demonstration on how the chocolate is made. There are approximately 10 unique flavours to choose from as well as bath & body products made from cacao. The prices are reasonable too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank physio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    38
    7
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Tiny little 2 room place, with wonderful enthusiastic staff and a great little "tour" and tasting.”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Our guide recommended this little storefront. A pair of quite young, but very enthusiastic and knowledgeable staff were meeting people on the street, engaging them in conversation about chocolate and welcoming them to the storefront. They begin with a short introduction and history to the cacao tree and seeds. Unfortunately it was late when we went, so the ladies who grind the cacao and make the chocolate were no longer working – it would have been special to see that. Then they take you to another room and give you a flight of little nibbles of different flavors of chocolate that they have made. The cinnamon and pepper chocolates were surprisingly good. As were the ginger and “Xtabentun” chocolates. Good chocolate for sale, with a nice little café attached at which you can get hot cocoa and cookies and brownies. Exceptionally enthusiastic and well informed staff.
Recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JolietJakeBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Discovering the original maya chocolate”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Warmly welcome to a tour around the factory and museum of the traditional maya chocolate! It has been really interesting and Daniel, who gave us the tour, transmitted us all his passion and enthusiasm for cacao & cocoa. Strongly recommended if you are in Valladolid

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cristina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Have you ever tasted Mayan organic chocolate?”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just a couple blocks away from the restaurant La Casona de Valladolid is where you will find the Mayan Chocolate factory.

We came here with only a very limited amount of time to spare and they were so friendly and accommodating to offer us a quick 5 minute tour. There was no fee for the tour, but purchases afterwards are always appreciated. The tour itself takes place on one floor and in three different rooms. The lady who gave the tour spoke perfect English. It was so interesting to learn about the history of their chocolate making process.

All of their Mayan chocolate is natural and organic. At the end of your tour, they will let you sample all of their different varieties (milk, vanilla, tequila, unsweetened, honey, stevia, cinnamon, chili, etc). It was a lot of fun to sample all of the different varieties.

They sell chocolate shampoos and soaps, but we came for the edible chocolate! All three of us purchased a box from them to take home with us.

I will always remember their small little shop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank timbuk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice chocolate!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This place was just down the street from our hotel (Tunich Beh) and unfortunately we happened to arrive between tour groups; this meant we had a very short tour indeed = basically 2 mins of 'this is how the chocolate is made' followed immediately by 'now, what would you like to buy?'. Not worth going out of your way for, but if it happens to be virtually next door to your hotel . . .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PinkNosedPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cacao also viewed

 
Valladolid, Yucatan
 

Been to Cacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing