We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better.”
Review of Hotel San Clemente

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valladolid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel San Clemente
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Good but could be better.”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I really like the garden and the swimming pool area, there is definitelly some charm in this place. The price is very good (30 - 45 USD a night) and the location is excellent! Just few blocks from ADO bus station (you can walk) and right next to the Valladolid Cathedral! The rooms are spacious and clean, but the furniture is used, mattresses are older and lets just say that some things really deserve changing! I was here two times already, each time the ladies at the reception helped me with whatever I needed (but I can´t say they exuberate with friendliness) and the internet only works 20% of the time and only in the reception area. With some little changes I think this could be a great place to stay...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    39
    41
    9
    7
See reviews for
22
52
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

For an overnight this is okay, clean basic aircon rooms on a courtyard in the centre of town (with swimming pool). Staff were helpful (let us check in early), but the place was let down by noise from extractor unit at Domino's Pizza which backs on to the courtyard, and noise from late guests in the corridors carries around late at night. Dividing walls are not well soundproofed.

Room Tip: Far side of courtyard would be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Try to get an aircon room - not because you need the aircon, but because those rooms are much more quiet! The taps seem to be a little bit rotten, but the whole rooms with bathroom are very clean - a good bed in a clean room with your own shower. If you don't need more (and you won't if you are there for sightseeing) you are here right. We also liked the very good breakfast, that you can take in the nice flowered courtyard.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniHab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Nicely located near the cathedral. Secure parking. Good water pressure, hot water. Pleasant pool. Decent breafast. Curteous staff. Good value.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimotai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

It is a basic 2 or possibly 3 star hotel with a small pool and simple decoration. The room was clean, comfortable and reasonably large with a decent ceiling fan (my TV worked fine).

It is very centrally located for the church and the main square and restaurants (try the Hotel El Meson del Marques which has a great restaurant situated around a lovely courtyard - very romantic).

The hotel also has an enclosed car parking so your car is not left on the streets at night

As a solo traveller I paid 320 Mexican pesos (approx US$ 27) for a night without breakfast. Yes if I could afford at least 700 Mexican pesos a night I would have preferred to stay at the 4 Star Hotel El Meson del Marques.

You get what you pay for and the San Clemente is fine for a night on the way to or from Cancun but you probably would not want to spend a whole holiday here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebirdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

we weren't expecting a resort (we were driving there from Cancun) but what we found was severely under our expectations. the best thing about the hotel is it's location; it's almost right on top of the main square, so we were always very close to everything. But there was an AC unit that didn't work, a TV that didn't work, a pool that was currently off limits, and rooms that did not seem very secure, so we were afraid for our passports and valuables (I think we ending up just taking them with us when we went somewhere in Valladolid). It seemed like a pretty run down place, however, it was also pretty cheap, I think around $30/night, so we weren't expecting much. Still, we were expecting more than we got. There is also a breakfast, but it's not worth the money. Unfortunately we had to do it one morning because we were leaving really early, and nothing else was open. Anyway, if you're in Valladolid, unless you're on a really tight budget, I'd suggest staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iplish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Valladolid hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the pool which is a godsend in the Yucatan heat. The rooms themselves are nothing special but acceptable with firm beds and furnishings. The ceiling fan was quite low and I got a cut from it when I raised my hand too high.. The air con was very cold, too cold infact and it was not possible to adjust the temperature. The hot water bathroom could have done with a makeover - taps were limescale covered and rusting. There's a good wi fi connection. Overpriced breakfast is available. If it wasn't for the pool it would be overpriced but with it it's a good choice. There are nice views of the cathedral especially at night when it's lit up.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zaci
Hotel Zaci
#11 of 15 in Valladolid
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Clemente

Property: Hotel San Clemente
Address: Calle 42 # 206, Valladolid, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Number of rooms: 102
Also Known As:
San Clemente Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing