We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's billed as a 3-star, but it's a 2 1/2 at best”
Review of Hotel San Clemente

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valladolid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel San Clemente
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“It's billed as a 3-star, but it's a 2 1/2 at best”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I really fail to understand why this hotel is rated as a 3-star accommodation...as in my opinion it's really only worth a 2-star, or 2 1/2-star at best. Granted, its location can't be beat as it's right off the main square, right next to the cathedral. Granted also, it has a fair-sized pool and outdoor patio....But...and there are lots of 'buts' here...the patio area is not very well kept-up, especially towards the back, where the secure parking lot is. BTW, you have to notify the reception each time you want to leave by car, as the lot is locked and an attendant has to come to unlock the door. When arriving, you have to ring the reception and they send out someone to open the door...This can get tiresome after a while. Back to the hotel....The rooms themselves are pretty stark, with really minimal furniture. There is AC (but it's pretty noisy!) and old-style TVs. Mattresses are quite worn out and so are the pillows. Drinking water is not provided. Lighting in the room is also pretty minimal. Breakfast is available on the patio but it is not included in the room-rate and prices are steeper than elsewhere in town. One last comment: this is probably the only hotel I've stayed at in Mexico where the staff never smiles...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    38
    41
    9
    7
See reviews for
22
51
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Really nice place to stay. At least, for one or two days. You'll not find here 5-star room, but the atmosphere is wonderful. It situated in the very center of the city, by San Climente church. Too loud air conditioning, not very good bathroom, but inspite of it, I love the place. Beautiful patio, huge parking lot, free wifi.

We stayed here twice - on way there and back to Puerto Progresso. Can't say anything about breakfast - we didn't taste it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaPrinsesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived by bicycle and found a spacious room in this comfortable hotel for a very reasonable price. It was lovely to sit in the courtyard by the pool for breakfast, and then walk straight out into the busy town square

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The room was clean, the pool was clean, the staff was very friendly. Very good parking area, free wifi and a spacious room. The beds were okay. This old building in the centre of the beautiful town of Vallodalid is ideally situated to discover the town on foot. It is a quiet place, despite in the heart of the centre of town. We did not have breakfast or dinner, so don't know about that. Overal we are very satified.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 364Jaap_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

The location of this place is wonderful, and you can use this as a great base to see the town. The rooms are comfy and clean, but the place as a feel as if it needs a bit of a refurbishment. The pool was also out of use the whole time we were there as it was being cleaned. Staff friendly but not as helpful as they could have been to make it really good. Generally good but needs some work.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OllieSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Really nice place to rest , centric position, good price , nice breakfast , colonial style this place is really worth the stay, i have been 3 times and each time was meeting my expectations , suggested to dine in the close restaurant Las Campanas, and try out the Longaniza is typical plate of this region hotel has a nice swimming pool to enjoy with the family and is in front of the cathedral so don’t be surprised if bell sound wake u up but that is part of the colonial experience also it has the central park of the town in front at 1 minute walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Django_unchained_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The rooms were a bit dark and the bed was very hard but the hotel is right in the square and opposite the most beautiful cathedral. The pool was clean and very enjoyable in a lovely courtyard. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galdancio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.1 mi away
El Meson del Marques
El Meson del Marques
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
1,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zaci
Hotel Zaci
#11 of 15 in Valladolid
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Clemente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Clemente

Property: Hotel San Clemente
Address: Calle 42 # 206, Valladolid, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Number of rooms: 102
Also Known As:
San Clemente Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing