We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be faulted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Meson del Marques
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is a good hotel in Valladolid; there is a pool, terrace, bar, free parking and a great restaurant which serves lots of typical Mexican dishes and it is open all day long. It is located on the main square so all the sights can be easily reached on foot. There are several other bars and restaurants located on the square or just off it too, so if you fancy a change of scene you can find a place easily.
If you have come from a modern expensive resort in Cancún or Playa del Carmen then you may miss all the luxuries you had there; but we used the hotel as a base to explore Chichen Itza, Ek Balam, Rio Lagartos and Mérida and, as a result, the hotel was perfect for us. The location, price and service from staff were excellent and, if I were to return to Valladolid, I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rothesayUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

Everything at the Mesón was just perfect: the hotel is beautiful, the location awesome, and the food..... deliciosísimo! The room was very clean and the staff super friendly. At the end of our stay, we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a beautiful estate, well maintained spanish architecture. The restaurant around the tropical courtyard is absolutely exquisite, I have not see anything else like it. The food was delicious too, top notch Yucatan cuisine. Would highly recommend visiting the restaurant even if you're not staying here.

The rooms were good but standard, pretty impressive for the value. The back courtyard with a swimming pool is quite charming, I was suprised not more people hangout there. Great place to have a local drink and enjoy the environment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qian21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed one night at the end of March after touring the area and Chechen. We arrived early so our room wasn't quite ready but we were invited to enjoy the pool area which we did and then decided to have an early dinner in their restaurant which worked out well as we were tired and very hungry.The pool refreshed us and the early dinner (3:00 pm) was scrumptious. Our rooms were then ready to occupy and we had a nice little nap in their air conditioned room before heading out to the main square for some last minute shopping and a walk around the town. Later we decided to have dessert and coffees in their restaurant that looked so inviting with the lit candles and chandelier lighting. My husband ordered the Banana Foster and it was flambeed right at our table. What a show! The coffees were also excellent as well as their own in house desserts.(there were four of us) We ate only in the hotel restaurant because the food was excellently prepared and presented. Also the waiters were friendly but professional and made the restaurant an enjoyable experience, nothing was too much trouble. This is a lovely place for an overnight stay but because we were driving to Cancun for an early flight the next day we were unable to stay longer, but we certainly wanted to. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hethur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed one night in March. We had lunch and dinner there on 2 previous occasions, passing through, and thought it was charming, so decided to stay longer to visit the town. We booked a standard room. We arrived a bit early and were told told that the room was not ready. When we asked, we were also told that the hotel was not full. Once we saw the room, we immediately asked for a change, and were told it was not possible, that this is what a standard room is The room directly overlooked the courtyard dining area, meaning that we had to keep the curtains closed for privacy, also we had to put up with the noise from the diners late in the evening, and the breakfast set up early in the morning. Forget about an afternoon siesta! Also, although the room itself was not bad, the bathroom floor was dirty. While visiting the town, we had lunch had another courtyard restaurant, where the food was better and cheaper.
We noticed when we left a couple of tour buses in the parking, so I guess now they don't care about individual travelers. My advice: stop to take a picture of the courtyard, and then dine/stay elsewhere

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Spent only one night here but thought it was such a great place we attempted to extend our stay unfortunately it was booked up.

The location is excellent sitting on the main square and within walking distance of Cenote Zaci and a few bars/restaurants.

The room was really good, comfy bed with all necessary amenities. We were lucky enough to be located on the ground floor directly facing the pool which I'd highly recommend.

The restaurant was great one of the best meals we had during our entire stay in Mexico and it has a great atmosphere with cosy look and feel. A section of the bar faces out onto the pool area which is a great place to unwind at the day.

The staff were very friendly and helpful especially within the restaurant and parking area.

Great choice for Valladolid, which in turn is an excellent base when making your own way to Chichen Itza and intending on beating the crowds.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryBarnstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Been dining here for years, always great and getting better. A great choice is the "valliadolid sausage platter. Breakfast is fast and hot!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank temple1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#4 of 15 in Valladolid
417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zentik Boutique Hotel
Zentik Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valladolid
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta Marciala
Hotel Quinta Marciala
#7 of 15 in Valladolid
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson del Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson del Marques

Address: Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range: £41 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Meson del Marques 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Meson del Marques is located in the heart of historic Valladolid,a very peaceful and beautiful colonial city filled with history, just 40 kms away from Chichen Itza. The hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city constructed in the beginning of the XVII century, unique in its combination of historical atmosphere and contemporary acomodations and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Meson del Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson Del Marques Hotel Valladolid
El Meson Del Marques Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing