We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Meson del Marques
Nearby Hotels
hotel colonial la aurora(Valladolid)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$43
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Marlene(Valladolid)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Candelaria(Valladolid)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Tia Micha(Valladolid)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zaci(Valladolid)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Clemente(Valladolid)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,511)
Filter reviews
1,511 results
Traveller rating
592
638
161
68
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
592
638
161
68
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarecourtyard restaurantin townguacamolestandard roombeautiful hoteljunior suitenice restaurantinner courtyardek balamnice poollovely courtyardcenote zacisecure parkingbreakfast was includedthe air conditioningcolonial city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
452 - 457 of 1,511 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was our first stop on a comprehensive tour of Central America (Mexico, Guartemala, Honduras & Belize). The staff at the hotel at the hotel are lovely, and the hotel has a quaint colonial style. It is centrally placed on the cathedral square in Vallaqdolid. The restaurant is situated around a central courtyard, with a fountain at the centre- very relaxing, but also quite dark, so a torch would be useful to read the menu, and to check your bill at the end! My wife had a tomato/spaghetti dish and I chose the fish with garlic-together with coffee. The meal was good and not expensive, and the service excellent. Rooms in the hotel were clean and spacious - a very good start to our "holiday"

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for your comments about the restaurant, the food and the rooms. We appreciate the time they took to write.

We hope your entire trip to Central America was pleasant.

Thank you for considering us as a good start to your holiday.

Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Really enjoyed the setting of this hotel , lovely pool area and communal areas. Rooms were decent (beds could be a little more comfy). The restaurant is not as good as its ratings though is a beautiful setting. The hotel is in prime location, could not get better , and the parking facilities are great. Breakfasts were the best we had in Mexico and included eggs and bacon etc. I would recommend this hotel and certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment, we really appreciate that you have chosen the Hotel Meson del Marques as your place to stay in Valladolid

We appreciate constructive criticism of the beds in the rooms and we are working to solve that detail.

Definitely we want all our guests to feel comfortable and pleasant stay.

Best regards and hope to return soon.

- Rodrigo Escalante
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed for one night while visiting lovely town of Valladolid in October 2013. Well worth the trip from Cancun and a great change of pace for a taste of authentic Mexico. Valladolid is the "anti-Cancun". The Hotel grounds are beautiful and the hotel occupies a historic building right on the main square in town-location, location, location. The staff was attentive to our needs and provided excellent service. Our room was a Master Suite. What a gorgeous room, bathroom and large patio overlooking the main square. We cant fault the hotel for anything. We truly enjoyed our stay and wished we had more time to stay longer. You cant miss with this hotel. If you travel to Valladolid, stay at the El Meson del Marques you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for your words, for your comment. We are grateful for having chosen the Hotel Meson del Marques as your place to stay in Valladolid.

Master Suites Rooms, are unique, very nice and spacious. Each is designed with a special touch.

The city of Valladolid, is totally Colonial, is a beautiful city to visit, as well as visit the various tourist destinations that are around it.

We hope you visit us again very soon.

Best regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights at el Meson del Marques and enjoyed everthing about this hotel. We had breakfast included in our room rate and really loved starting the day in their beautiful restaurant, which opens directly onto the main plaza, we thought the food and service were very good. The rooms aren't large, but were spacious enough for two adults. The beds are extremely hard. I have traveled throughout Yucatan and surrounding states and am accustomed to hard beds in Mexico, but these beds put all other hard beds to shame. Our room was very clean, all of the staff that we encountered were very friendly.The hotel grounds offer several comfortable places to sit outside, the pool was nice and clean. This hotel is perfectly located to explore Valladolid, we easily walked to cenote Zaci, Convent de San Bernardino de Siena. It was great to be right on the plaza, easy to go for a walk in the evening, or just sit in the park. We also walked each directon from the plaza, shopping in local stores and restaurants and never had difficulty finding our way back. We found a lavanderia across the street from cenote Zaci,with a price of $10 pesos per kilo of laundry, we saw others but they never seemed to be open. Right next to Meson del Marques is a loncheria, I recommend el Amigo Casiano - they have tacos, salbutes and panuchos for $8 pesos each, we ate there twice and it was always full of local people, which is the best recommendation when choosing a place to eat! I really enjoyed my stay in Valladolid, and would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie-a-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hello, thank you very much for your comments and for choosing the Hotel El Meson del Marques as your place of stay in Valladolid.

It's nice to know that you stayed several nights in Valladolid and had a good experience.

The convent of San Bernardino de Siena and the Cenote Zaci are two tourist attractions in the town.

We will consider your comments about the hard beds, personally supervise this problem and give an immediate solution.

Please visit us again the next time you return to Yucatan.

Best regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in October, and I can't really fault this hotel on anything.
Room was clean and functional... not an American-chain style of course, but that's part of the attraction: to experience a really good local hotel.

The building is very attractive, being a former private residence. The restaurant is situated around a pleasant open courtyard and was good both nights we ate there. The restaurant opens directly on to the main town square, but for check-in purposes, note that the hotel front desk is actually one block further north, on Calle 37.

There is ample attended parking accessible from that street.

There's a large pool. Staff were efficient and friendly; we had laundry done and it was completed very promptly.

All in all, a most enjoyable stay. We would like to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtenkfarpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Gerente at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate that you have chosen the Hotel Meson del Marques as your place of stay in Valladolid.

Thank you for your comments about the food, we hope to visit us again soon.

Greetings to Florida.

- Rodrigo Escalante
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews