We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Meson del Marques
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Tia Micha(Valladolid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Marlene(Valladolid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Clemente(Valladolid)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zaci(Valladolid)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Candelaria(Valladolid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Colonte(Valladolid)
View Hotel
Reviews (1,511)
Filter reviews
1,511 results
Traveller rating
592
638
161
68
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
592
638
161
68
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarecourtyard restaurantin townguacamolestandard roombeautiful hoteljunior suitenice restaurantinner courtyardek balamnice poollovely courtyardcenote zacisecure parkingbreakfast was includedthe air conditioningcolonial city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 1,511 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is THE place to stay in Valladolid…..located right on the town square. The amenities …valet parking, charming pool, reception area…are very nice. The room was lovely and clean. The restaurant is wrapped around a beautiful fountain/garden. Our breakfast and lunch were authentic, local and delicious. Perfection.

Room Tip: we had a nice room over looking the pool area….it was quiet and beautiful.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank needabreakasap101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment and we appreciate that you've stayed with us.

We appreciate your words and how you express yourself as the Hotel Meson del Marques.

Our work is paid with your satisfaction and your pleasant experience in Valladolid.

Best Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Meson del Marques is a cute hotel right on the main square in Valladolid. It was recently expanded (a couple years ago) to add another building of rooms and more parking. The checkin part of the building is on the back of the property and the restaurant is on the main zocalo facing Valladolid's cathedral.

We stayed here on a trip that took us from Merida to Cancun. We paid about twice what we paid for a room in a much smaller hotel in Merida and about half what we paid at the Marriott in Cancun (though food was 1/4 what it was in Cancun).

The rooms were well-appointed by US standards, with no real surprises. Water bottles were free as the tap water was city water. There was a room safe, TV, working AC, etc. The beds were very hard and I left with bruises. This was the case in both rooms we had. Both were in the new building in the middle of the property. There was no elevator in this building, but the staff were abundant and brought all our bags up for us.

The hotel itself is beautiful. It's a colonial era building, well maintained, very clean, nicely decorated. The courtyard provides secure off-street parking. The hotel is right downtown and it's easy to walk to other restaurants, stores and anything you need.

For a trip, Valladolid would be an ideal location to scout a lot of the Yucatan's best sights. It's only about 20 minutes drive to Chichen Itza. The cenotes of Dzitnup, Samula and others are only about 7 minutes from the city center and provide shady (and very cool) swimming underground. Izamal is a little further, but an easy ride. There's a town about 20 minutes outside Valladolid called Temocon, where they make a kind of smoked pork (carne ahumada) that's supposed to be awesome. The hotel will get some for you if you are there a couple days.

The restaurant is very inviting also. They don't make everything there, and it wasn't the best food we had in the Yucatan, but it's good and it's a good variety of Yucatecan and generic Mexican food. The breakfast that comes with the room in some packages is good and lets you choose a variety of eggs, fruit or just continental breakfast options.

I'd stay at this hotel when on business in Valladolid, as a place to venture out, as a good alternative to staying in Piste for a visit to Chichen, or just as a place to relax in a quaint little city.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building are newer but lack an elevator. 210 has a balcony overlooking the pool which was awesome.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hello,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your experience in Valladolid and in tourist destinations that exist in the region.

Also thanks for your words and suggestions about the facilities and / or amenities. Your comments help us to improve day by day.

The Yucatan Peninsula has many tourist spots to visit, we hope you have had a great vacation.

Best regards.

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I love these colonial hotels. Valladolid in general is a very quiet, sleepy town and the hotel too. People were nice and helpful. They have a very good restaurant. The pool is also good and the parking is inside the hotel with security.

Ideal to stay if you want to visit the Mayan town of Chichen Itza. It took us about 40 minutes with our rented car. The place in general is very safe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraLaViajera74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment, we are glad that you had a pleasant experience in Valladolid and in the Hotel Meson del Marques.

Best Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is more utilitarian than I usually like. But the service is so good, the layout so well done, and the restaurant so beautiful that I didn't mind. And the location is right on the main plaza so it's convenient to everything. Valladolid is an undiscovered treasure and this is a pretty good place to launch an exploration.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jolineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment, we are committed to customer service. We hope you enjoyed your holiday.

Best Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We found checking in a little confusing as the reception is out the back and we couldn't see any signs, although when asked the restaurant staff immediately showed us the way. The hotel is built in an old style with a comfortable but small pool area, and a picturesque courtyard that holds the restaurant. It is a really good location within Valladolid.
The food was nice although it was a little frustrating that we couldn't charge room service to the room as we were having trouble getting cash from the atms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hello,

Thanks for writing your review on Tripadvisor and for choosing the Hotel El Meson del Marques.

We are pleased to give our best service to all our guests, people who want to leave their details at the reception and decide to have open voucher can sign the accounts and pay at check out.

We hope you have had a nice holiday in Mexico.

Best Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews