We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Meson del Marques
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great location in front of the main plaza with a wonderful view of the Cathedral, very helpful staff, they let us have dinner in one of the viewing balconies (totally recomended), small rooms with old AC, but working. Close to the Zaci cenote. Nice restaurant with aunthentic mexican cousine. They have a very nice pool but closes early.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Be W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello,

Thanks for your comment and for having stayed in Hotel Meson del Marques, hope you enjoyed your holiday in Yucatan.

Definitely Valladolid is a colonial city with many tourist attractions to visit.

Best Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    583
    142
    56
    39
See reviews for
309
670
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel is located in the heart of the city. Where you have to be !!!! in a city like Valladolid.
Hotel: very small and expensive rooms, good restaurant but again...expensive, good swimming pool, good parking space, very good breakfast

Room Tip: Anyone since to me they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FIJAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment, and for visiting Valladolid for the opportunity to assist you.

Best Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in June and it was a wonderful hotel. A beautiful pool and restaurant and the staff were very friendly. The location could not have been better as it was right across from the main square. We loved the room, it was a clean room with a very large bed that was firm, but that is the case in almost every hotel in Mexico - it's good for you back and you get used to it! The hotel served the best included breakfast we had our entire two week trip (and there were a lot). I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we definitely will be back!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing the pool. It was quiet, large, and had the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing the Hotel Meson del Marques is a pleasure for us to have provided our services to hospitality and food to you.

We will be waiting on your next visit and thank you very much for the rate you gave us on Tripadvisor.

Best Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This was our fifth trip to lovely Valladolid and our second time staying at El Meson del Marques and it was even better the second time around. We compared other hotels in the area and this is, by far, our favorite. It has the best location, amazingly great service, beautiful and simple rooms (ours had fantastic views of the pool and the church in the square). The hotel itself is gorgeous, and has several balcony areas to take in the view of the square. The pool is wonderful and clean-great for a refreshing dip around siesta time. We enjoyed lounging by the pool and ordering delicious drinks from the bar during the hottest part of the day. The restaurant was also one of our top choices in Valladolid. In fact, on particular this trip, it was probably our number one favorite. The cochinita pibil, fresh guacamole and chile relleño are must try, among other things! Not to mention the delicious, fresh tortillas made onsite!
We did have one minor issue--we reserved a king sized bed for my husband and I (over 6 months in advance) and we still got two doubles. This did not greatly diminish our fun and we still prefer this hotel over any other--love it--but this was fairly uncomfortable since my husband and I are both too tall for double beds so we had to sleep diagonally (and in separate beds--not so romantic for our long-awaited vacation). I wish they would do better with reserving the rooms people request, as I know this has been a problem with other reservations. Still, we love this place and had so much fun and hope to go back again soon. Valladolid is one of our favorite places on earth and this is where we prefer to stay when we explore this fantastic little city.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KatrinBMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello,

I never use this word, but Wooooooow !!!

Thank you very much for your comment, thank you so much for sharing your experience and for your kind words.

All TripAdvisor comments are read by all the staff of Hotel and Restaurant, surely they'll be very happy when they read them work is recognized by you and your husband.

I will speak personally with the Reservations Manager, because the details are what make the difference and we like to have completely satisfied customers.

It is important for us to demonstrate that the service provided in Valladolid is tops.

Valladolid is a beautiful colonial city with many tourist attractions to visit.

Definitely we will be waiting on you third visit, this is your home in Valladolid.

Best Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Del Carmen- Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

If you are only for a day in Valladolid this Hotel is a great option. It offers great location, free parking, a nice pool. Right across from the main Square.
The Beds are very hard and not as comfortable, Also the Noise from the Hallways and Deliveries early in the morning can be in issue at least in our suite # 110.
The restaurant is good and offers a variety of dishes, international cuisine with local specials.
In the evening go to the view deck on level 4 for a great view to the Cathedral.

The direction to the hotel and the lobby should be changed as most likely you will pull in to the front of the restaurant first Calle 39 between 40 and 42. the Actual lobby is actually one block behind.

As stated if you are in town for a night or two this is a good option for you.

Room Tip: Would not stay in room 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjoern K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello,

We appreciate your comments and your words, all your comments help us to improve and promote the city of Valladolid.

I will speak personally speak the Housekeeper Manager and the Food And Beverage Managers to take care and preserve the comfort of all our guests.

Definitely the balcony on the 4th floor has a spectacular view of the zocalo. It is one of the favorite places of our guests.

Best regards and we hope you visit us again.

- Rodrigo Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We had to cancel due to travel complications, and arrived three days later. They waived the cancellation fee.
In addition, the entire staff, from parking attendant to waiters are very pleasant and professional.
Can't beat the location in Valladolid itself, and Valladolid is a perfect base for visits to Ek Balam, Chichen Itza, Dzit Nup, ...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JESegarraPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment and for your kind comments about the staff and the service we offer at Hotel Meson del Marques.

We hope you return soon.

Best Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We moved in for 2 nights at Spring Break, and loved this place. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms lovely. The pool restful. The off-street parking was appreciated. We loved dining in the restaurant, visiting the cathedral, the tequilla factory, the chocolate factory.

Close to Mayan ruins and cenotes. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo E, Director General at El Meson del Marques, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for your comment and for your preference, we hope to return again.

Best Regards,

- Rodrigo Escalante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson del Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson del Marques

Property: El Meson del Marques
Address: Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Meson del Marques 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Meson del Marques is located in the heart of historic Valladolid,a very peaceful and beautiful colonial city filled with history, just 40 kms away from Chichen Itza. The hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city constructed in the beginning of the XVII century, unique in its combination of historical atmosphere and contemporary acomodations and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Meson del Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson Del Marques Hotel Valladolid
El Meson Del Marques Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing