We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Meson del Marques
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great value for a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

I could have written 2 reviews as I stayed here one night each about a week apart, but didn't want to make anyone suspect a fake review(s), so this is good for both separate stays. The hotel is in a beautiful setting, especially if you get one the older, further in the back "superior" rooms (a few dollars USD extra per night for the superior rooms, ask for the ones in back) around the pool (grounds, building and hotel lit up at night highlight it's setting). right ON a beautiful park with safe, well -lit casual sitting being done in the many little park bench double seat chairs around it. Nothing loud, no vendors, just locals (and us the only obvious tourists) enjoying the beautiful setting. A couple blocks from San Gervasio cathedral (well worth a look into in the day), and with several restaurants around the square the hotel is on. (I did not eat at the Meson's hotel). The room was spacious, clean, came with basic amenities of soap, shampoo, conditioner (a relative rarity in hotels in this price range in the Yucatan), soft towels,etc., and an over sized bathtub. Clearly better than the average good hotel I've stayed at in the Yucatan in this price range. This is now the top choice of hotels for me when in Valladolid.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citimowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    576
    140
    56
    39
See reviews for
304
664
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

The rooms are nothing special - clean, small, fine - no problems. The restaurant, couryard, pool area are lovely though. The location in the center of town on the square is great. You can walk to the market where women sell locally made clothing at great prices. Lovely town you shouldn't miss. If you don't stay at the hotel at least go there to eat as the restaurant is lovely and serves up great food. Get the "Guacamole at the table." They will mix it up fresh in front of you and it's wonderful!
The staff were very nice. We were late getting back from Chichen Iza for check out and they didn't say a word about it, nor did they charge us.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thirty1flvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

this was a nice place to stay for a few nights while in town. we just wanted someplace to visit for a few days before we headed off to spend the reat of our vacation in isla mujeres. it was perfect. got in the first day in the afternoon and had a great time. we had a full day the next day and just wander around town going to see the sites as pointed out on my map and when we wanted something to eat we would just pick a place and go. we did find a nice place to eat. it was Casa Itali. what a nice place with great food. only a few blocks away for the hotel and a nice walk. the room we had was #210 it was great. we had a balcony over looking the court yard and the pool. it was on the end of the building and had enough area on the balcony to be useful. i think we paid around $60 us dollars a night for our room anyway great little place to stay for a few days. we did eat breakfast at the hotel and it was good and the price was also inline. $5 or $6 for breakfast. it was 3 blocks away for bus station adn cost us the day we left about 20 pesos for a short cab ride. but i would tell anybody thats wants something a little different then the cancun thing , go see this nice little town for a day or so . stay here go out and explore some on your on. found it to be safe .

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nc-1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

From the outside the hotel doesn't look like anything special, but it has an amazing courtyard, which also is part of the restaurant. Colonial style architecture, beautiful paintings, the place really looks it's best at night when it's lit by candles and is filled with the sound of the fountain. You don't have to be a hotel guest to eat at the restaurant, but it's nice to be able to have a long dinner with drinks and know that your hotel room is just a few steps away. I don't think there are any other hotels like this in town, as most of the other hotels I passed by looked dingy and basic.
The location is also great. As soon as you step outside you are in the main plaza. The food bazaar is next door to your left and to your right are several open air stalls to buy Mayan huipiles and leather goods.
I'm also very grateful for the staff being willing to hold our bags while we visited the Ek Balam ruins after we had already checked out. Very satisfied overall.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayZeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

Stayed at Hotel Meson Del Marques as a base for a trip to Chichen Itza. It is located on the main plaza about a ten minute walk from the bus station. There's not much to see on the exterior however once you step inside the entrance you will find yourself in a beautiful colonial courtyard with a trickling fountain and relaxing background music.
We stayed in a standard room on the third floor which had an electronic safe, air-con, bath and shower with good water pressure. The room decor is colonial / Mexican with antique-style furniture. The balcony was tiny and impractical however other rooms have larger balconies. I suggest staying in a superior room if your budget allows.
The hotel has a lovely heated swimming pool surrounded by lush gardens and overlooked by a small bar.
There is a nice roof deck with sun loungers which has great views of the plaza and cathedral. It is accessed via the fourth floor lift (elevator) doors. The birdsong at sunset is magical.
The restaurant is situated around the courtyard and the atmosphere is very relaxing for diners. Some meals are cooked at your table with lots of flames and drama for entertainment. Food is good for the price and service however my Caribbean Chicken was average. The breakfast is very good. Staff are courteous and professional.
There is a food hall next door to the hotel for those wanting cheap Mexican dishes or take-away pizza. There is an ATM to the left as you exit the hotel and internet cafe to the right across the plaza. Cenote Zaci is about ten minutes walk from the hotel and has a very nice restaurant overlooking the cavern serving Yucatan dishes.
The collectivos for Chichen Itza are located one block before the bus station and can sometimes be hard to find as they are parked in a side alley accessed through an arch.
It is really worth getting to Chichen Itza as early as possible to avoid the crowds. When we were leaving around midday the entrance resembled opening night at the Olympics.
Liked - ambiance
Disliked - nothing

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goofygaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

El Meson del Marques was a wonderful hotel. The location is great - right on the north side of the main plaza and in walking distance to the Cenote in town. The hotel staff was very polite, and the rooms were an extremely good value for the money. For $50 USD per night, the hotel was clean, and there were various amenities, such as a very nice pool, parking, TV and air conditioning, shampoo, and bottled water. There is also a fabulous rooftop terrace (access from the fourth floor) overlooking the town. The hotel does cater to tourists (mostly those going to Chichen Itza), probably in large part because there is not a lot going on in Valladolid. The hotel restaurant (of the same name) was also fabulous. The atmosphere was very romantic, and the waitstaff was superb. It was a five star dinner for the equivalent of $10 USD. We would absolutely go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuaiChangCaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2009

Great hotel in the center of town located across the street from the town's park and only 2 1/2 blocks from the bus station.
The rooms are clean and quiet, decorated in local mexican decor, has a room safe, TV, AC, ceiling fan, soap and shampoo. There is also a nice private swimming pool in a garden setting towards the back of the hotel.
The restaurant is centered around a beautiful courtyard with fountain but the menu is one of the more pricier in town and the food is average. For more authentic mexican fare at great prices go next door to the Municiple Market to one of the many Luncherias available, open until 10:00pm.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valladolid hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada San Juan
Hotel Posada San Juan
#1 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel colonial la aurora
hotel colonial la aurora
#8 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Tia Micha
Casa Tia Micha
#5 of 15 in Valladolid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Candelaria
Hostel Candelaria
#2 of 15 in Valladolid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maria de la Luz Hotel
Maria de la Luz Hotel
#12 of 15 in Valladolid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ecotel Quinta Regia
Ecotel Quinta Regia
#9 of 15 in Valladolid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Meson del Marques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Meson del Marques

Property: El Meson del Marques
Address: Calle 39 No. 203 x 40 y 42 | Centro Historico, Valladolid 97780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Meson del Marques 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Meson del Marques is located in the heart of historic Valladolid,a very peaceful and beautiful colonial city filled with history, just 40 kms away from Chichen Itza. The hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city constructed in the beginning of the XVII century, unique in its combination of historical atmosphere and contemporary acomodations and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Meson del Marques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Meson Del Marques Hotel Valladolid
El Meson Del Marques Valladolid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing