We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the meat?”

La Cantina Restaurante y Bar
Ranked #49 of 107 Restaurants in Valladolid
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary, Cafe
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Where's the meat?”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This place is great for watching the goings on in the square while having a drink and perhaps ordering anything but a sandwich. Where is the meat? Our sandwich literally had such a thin slice of meat we had to go in search of it to ensure it was actually there.

Service was fast, but that could be because it wouldn't have taken long to make our sandwich.

Again the other food may have bee better but stay away from the sandwich.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ERDFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    47
    32
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheatley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Bad, pre-made, overpriced margaritas. Pushy, condescending, sneery waiters. Bill was added incorrectly and finally we put down the correct amount and left. Valladolid has too many nice places to eat to just put up with this for the great people-watching location.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Margo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarujaValladolid, Owner at La Cantina Restaurante y Bar, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
We do not pre-make anything at La Cantina, our Margaritas are made at time of ordering from good reposado tequila (Viuda de Romero, Xalisco or Mision) and the price is $55. Pesos or the equivalent of $4.40 US dollars.
If we made a mistake in adding your bill, we apologize.
Our staff is by no means pushy, nor condescending or sneery, because of their Maya background, they might have had a difficulty in communicating as their English is limited, but I know they try their best to be of service. Your comment in general is so far from reflecting the reality of our restaurant, that it hardly deserves an answer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good food next to the square”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This is a good place to eat and watch what is going on in town. The food and drinks were good and priced right. The ingredients were fresh and tasty so we ate there more then once.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YBIInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great spot to hang out”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

If you're looking for a cafe/restaurant/bar overlooking the main plaza, then this is the place - Drinks and food were good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bunyipBluegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valladolid, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clever Corner Cantina Calls!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The atmosphere created by the decor is just what one hopes to experience in a more upscale, modern, Mexican "cantina," where all are welcome! Happy, vibrant colors, along with the music from the resident birds, "Cantinero" and "Tweeter," await your arrival. Be sure to digest the amazing old photos portraying activities and events in the lives of the Maya. The beautiful tortilla holders and coasters, handmade by the Maya, along with other items that are for sale, will surely tempt you!
The palapa bar, set off by the red walls, is truly a focal point. The blue room is large and of full of fun energy! The seating is so comfortable! If you prefer people watching, right across from the park and municipal building, outside dining is available!
The colorful sombrero and cowboy hat lights, wrapped in henequin, will quickly put a smile on one's face as the the magical essence of Mexico attacks and the first tequila shot...or margarita must be ordered!!
The service is quick and the menu includes drinks, snacks, soups, salads, sandwiches, and more ...something for everyone!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina Restaurante y Bar also viewed

 
Valladolid, Yucatan
Valladolid, Yucatan
 

Been to La Cantina Restaurante y Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing